ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-04 ... 3:34 p.m.

previous - next

Happy 4th!

Happy Fourth of July!!

I had to work this morning, four hours on the computer, doing training things. I am getting close to the end though, and I'm guessing by Monday I might actually be at one of the checkouts. Woot! I talked to my manager this morning, and expressed my concern that there was so much to remember, and like I kind of expected, she said it will be easier once I actually start doing it. I sure hope so!

One of the assistant managers who gave me my first interview was in the training room, reading two guys the riot act about punching in and out on time. One of them didn't take a long enough break for lunch. I don't think he quite understood what the problem was, but by taking too short of a lunch break, he broke one of the California labor laws, and the Depot of Home has to pay him an extra hour's pay for time he didn't work. Ouch!

The law that both of them were in violation of states that you can NOT work more than five hours without at least a 30 minute break. The lunch breaks are scheduled after you are there for 4.5 hours so that should never happen. They also schedule your break for 35 minutes, so you don't make the mistake of punching back in a minute (or even a few seconds) too soon. Then the Depot has to pay you another hour.

The second guy didn't punch out early enough, and was 2 minutes over his five hours before he took his break. He got paid for an extra hour. With as many employees as they have, if everyone did that, it would seriously cause a problem.

Anyway, this Assistant Manager (Joan) was really forceful about making sure they knew what the problem was, and why they had to avoid it in the future. Each employee also received a "point" for it, and after 10 points in a 12-month period, you are OUT. (A no-call, no-show is 5 points)

There is a guy training (Tenn) who started the same day that I did. We talked a bit during orientation, and kind of have a bond since we are the two "new guys". Even though I'm not a guy. Anyway, when Joan's voice kept getting louder and louder we kind of looked at each other with surprise that it was THAT big of a deal. After she explained it to both of them, I understood why it was a big deal, but Tenn and I just kept working and trying to stay under her radar.

Then someone came in and announced that they were having a 4th of July BBQ outside, and we were welcome to come and get some food. They had sodas (no beer) and hotdogs and burgers with all the fixings, peach cobbler and chocolate cake. Woot! Free lunch!! So Tenn and I stopped and had lunch, and then went back to work.

Before I left today, I stopped and looked at some of their bookshelves, and just shelves, and I also looked at some of the boards they have. I think I might just make my own shelving with bricks or some kind of stone they have in the garden area, and this really nice planking they sell. With some stain and/or urethane coating, it could look pretty cool. I'm not too keen on the shelving because it's a big waste of space. The books are small enough to put two rows tall and two rows deep on each shelf, which makes them hard to find.

I just need to investigate it a little further, and do some measuring, and then I'll figure out what to buy. I also want to keep the shelving low, and what I'm planning I think will look pretty cool. Heh. Anyway, the stuff is cheap enough that even if it doesn't work out, I haven't wasted much money. And I can return everything too.

I came home and made some FRESH caramel corn for Poolie's party. It's not a huge party, but I know Poolie likes the corn, and it's just too good when it's fresh. It's just about time to finish the dishes and get my dessert out of the freezer, pack everything in the car and go. The weather here has been beautiful, and not really all that hot the past few days, plus there is a great breeze in Poolie's back yard. It should be a good time.

And Sis, tequila and chocolate are not a good match at first.... but the more tequila one has, the better everything tastes. Even burnt marshmallows! (click on the word "marshmallows" for an explanation!)

Well, I'm off to par-tay!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

Paula - 2008-07-05 00:12:07
How I envy you having a party to go to. I'm so happy for you. Mike and I have no friends as a couple...he only wants to be alone with me. We had fun at the parade this morning then went out for lunch then he came home and went to sleep. Tonight we will go "alone" again and try to find some fireworks as he refuses to go to the city celebration and sit with people and listen to music. No one I know is having a party or I'd go alone but the people behind me have a band (Mexican band with lots of cool drumming) so I'll pretend I'm at one and think of you and Poolie having fun. Maybe some day I'll fly away from here and join you all.
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-07-05 02:40:24
check your craig's list under free stuff for shelving material--we just got rid of our entertainment center by ripping it apart, but would have given it away if we had found a taker. California laws sound really tough--alot tougher than in Wisconsin. Sounds like you'll have a great Fourth!
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-07-05 04:15:44
Board and brick shelves are an excellent solution. Bricks, pavers, garden blocks, whatever. Very versitile and customizable and a great way to shelve paperbacks. Good thinking, hon! ~LA
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-07-05 04:27:33
Well yeah, EVERYTHING tastes better with enough tequila, lol. (Or in my case, wine, since I don't have any tequila.) And we get whined at over the punch-in punch-out thing up to a point, but I've never gotten into trouble for punching in early. But woe be anyone who punches in on time and takes the two minutes or so it takes to walk to your desk and get logged into everything.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-07-05 14:22:15
The party was fun and the corn was a HIT! Thanks so much for bringing that AND the banana creme pie!
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-07-05 22:51:40
mmmm! Everything sounds like it tasted great. Wish I had smellovision on my computer so I could smell the caramel corn. Good luck next week when you start on the checkout...
-------------------------------
Rowie - 2008-07-06 13:03:29
I'm so glad everything is falling into place. You've really got it together! Good luck at check out this week.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group