ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-11-07 ... 4:15 p.m.

previous - next

Lunch with Poolie, and security issues

I had a most enjoyable day off today. I was pretty tired after all my shopping yesterday, so I went to bed early. Which meant I got up early today. That was not a problem though, because it worked well for what I had planned.

The first thing on my list was the laundry. I took my shower, got everything together, stopped at Rebecca's for a triple hammerhead, and then on to the laundromat. I think I was there before 7. Woot! It was amazing how empty the place was that early in the morning! Heh. I might just make it a habit to go that early.

When I came home, I read Dland and my emails, backed up my last few files onto discs, and then turned off my computer. Art graciously allowed me to bring his computer home from Rosie's house, so I hooked that up today.

I didn't think it took me that long, but all of a sudden it was 11:30. I was supposed to meet Poolagirl for lunch at 11:45, and that was cutting it pretty close. Until I saw the clock in my bedroom that said 10:30. Right. Art's computer was still on Arizona time, so I still had another hour to play around.

The hardest part of this switch is getting all the passwords loaded onto this computer. I took screenshots of all the saved passwords I had, so when I run across the ones I don't know, I can at least look them up, and then save them. Phew!

By the time I felt comfortable with te new computer, it was time to go meet Poolie. Lunch with Poolie is always enjoyable, whether we are talking about something fun, or having a serious conversation. Yes, even serious chats can be enjoyable. We kind of hovered between the two today, but watching Poolie eat her PB&J and get J all over her hands was kind of entertaining. Heh.

But work intruded on our lunch, and as much as I would have loved to stay and chat, Poolie did have to go back to work. I came home and spent some more time adjusting things on the computer. I also bought a version of Kaspersky virus protection, which I loaded onto the computer with no problem.

I tried putting it on my laptop, which didn't work. I uninstalled McAfee, but apparently the uninstall didn't work correctly, because Kaspersky gave me an error message when I tried installing it, that it was incompatible with McAfee and I had to remove McAfee first.

I already had removed it, and when I checked in the uninstall screeen, it's nowhere to be found. I tried rebooting, and reinstalling Kaspersky, but I still get the same error message. GRRRRR. Just one of the reasons I don't like McAfee.

So I sent a tech support question in to Kaspersky, and hopefully I will get some kind of answer back. A helpful answer, preferably. I might just end up contacting McAfee to see how to get their shit product off my computer so I can have something that actually works. That would be nice.

I spent some time playing Pogo, just to make sure it worked, you know, and some time writing on my NaNoWriMo project. I think I'm up to about 5,000 words, a mere tenth of the project, and I should be at about a quarter of it by now. I am still thinking of where I should be heading, and I'm sure I will be busy with it the rest of the month. I just need to concentrate....

So I probably should get back to that now. Yeah. Maybe I'll get something to eat first.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

bluesleepy - 2008-11-08 01:45:09
Ugh... I've got no advice concerning getting McAfee off the computer. Getting Norton's off the desktop was hard enough!
-------------------------------
Rebekah - 2008-11-08 02:41:27
i read that you were getting pb&j on the computer - missed a paragraph!

i use the uninstall portion of Crap Cleaner. (download the freeware which goes by CCleaner - http://www.ccleaner.com uninstall is under Tools - third down on the left sidebar. got rid of mcafee for my mom - ask her)
-------------------------------
Sherry - 2008-11-08 04:43:13
As a PC professional, I can tell you with certainty that Mcafee and Norton are monsters to remove. They're almost viral themselves!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-11-08 14:28:31
You thought all that grape jelly on my hands was FUNNY? Oh you! LOL!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-11-08 18:17:34
Soooo.... all I want to know is if Poolie did her chubby bunny face while she was eating PB&J and that is why she got it all over her hands? LOL
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group