ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-12-09 ... 7:34 p.m.

previous - next

Kid is gone, back to work

Well Kid is gone back home, and I'm reasonably certain she got there in one piece. I wasn't too sure, since she was flying into Minneapolis before going on to Milwaukee, which was expecting SIX to TEN inches of snow. I sure don't miss that!

In fact, she texted me after she left the airport on her way home, that six minutes after they landed, the airport closed for several hours! See why I made her check in with me after she got there??

So anyway, I had to work this morning. I saw not only a butt-ugly Christmas sweater, but the guy who was wearing it had a long braid down his back, and he was bald! Plus he was wearing shorts and flip-flops with his sweater. He must be one of Poolie's readers....

And I had quite a variety of customers. I had several who just couldn't make up their minds, and would bring their cart up to the register, have me ring everything up, and then leave, saying they thought of something else they needed. So I would suspend the transaction, and move on to the next customer in line. Sometimes it would take a half hour before the original customer would come back. Indecision is such an awful thing.

The Bamboo Boys were in today. No, they aren't made out of bamboo, but I will always think of them that way. They bought a couple of plants of bamboo last summer, just after I started. They were big plants, and were about $125 each. Just after I started working in returns, they brought them back in because they were dead. The plants, not the guys. (The Depot of Home guarantees their plants for a year, provided you bring in the dead plant and a receipt.)

Now if you get a big plant that's already pot bound, and it's a plant that's supposed to be planted in the ground, wouldn't you think it would be logical to plant it in the ground and water it now and then? These bamboo plants were DRY. You could tell they had been neglected. And they wanted their money back, but they didn't have their receipt.

They purchased them with a credit card, but they didn't have the card with them, either, so they just hung around the Depot until their neighbor got home to get into their place and find the card, and read the numbers to us over the phone (which normally isn't allowed, but these guys were an exception).

They finally got their money back (I think it was in store credit) but forever after that, there are several of us who refer to them as the "Bamboo Boys".

I also sold a man 45 wall blocks. He asked for help with them, and I called someone, and then he just disappeared. When the help came, I told them I didn't know where the guy had gone. I found out a couple minutes later when the guy came in to complain no one had come to help him. He was outside, waiting by his truck. So I paged for help again, and finally I got someone over to help him. Sheesh!

The store managers are frantically trying to get everything together for the "walk" that the corporate bigwigs are doing through our store on Friday. That means that I'm glad I have Thursday off, so I won't have to participate in the extra cleaning things. Heh. It also means we all have to be on our toes on Friday, so I will need to make sure I've had my coffee first.

We are having high winds here today. Even though it was pleasantly warm, it was too windy to do much of anything but fly a kite, and it might even have been too windy for that. I'm sure Kid wouldn't have been out on the beach today, or she would have had sand in more than just her camera.

I think it's time to head off to bed. I know it's early, but I'm falling asleep. I need my energy... it will probably take me a week to get my house back in shape after the tornado Kid left.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

bluesleepy - 2008-12-10 04:20:24
I am glad Kid got home safely!! It must be such a change for her going from sunny SD back to wintery Wisconsin. I can't understand why people don't just pay for what they've got and go back in to get whatever else they need. I've done that many times. It's not like it's going to cost any more doing it in two transactions.
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-12-10 04:48:29
Wow - I miss a couple of weeks and I miss EVERYTHING. Glad to know kid made it home safely. Now I am going to have to read back to find out what happened while she was THERE!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-12-10 13:54:04
Thanks for the birthday wishes if I hadn't thanked you already. And, like Karyl said on my blog... dontcha with you had hardhats for those hard-headed people. I will say though that everytime you say "Bamboo Boys" i just have to giggle!!!
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-12-10 14:16:56
People do that "I forgot something" thing to me all the time. We can Suspend transactions, but have to wait for a CSM to come and approve it before we can proceed with the next customer. By that time, the customer MIGHT be back with their forgotten items, heh. I usually suggest that they finish this transaction and they can leave their cart with me and go get what they need. IF they speak English, it usually works. If not, they just run off and we all wait. Jeebus.....and the whole time, my IPH is going in the toilet. I'm so glad you & Kid had such a great time! The pictures have been great. Too bad you couldn't have gotten a shot of "Sweater Man" at work! Heh.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-12-10 15:19:51
Bald-braid guy sure makes the rounds!
-------------------------------
Terri T - 2008-12-10 20:32:14
Glad to hear that Kid got home safely. We once returned from a week's cruise in the land of high temps and sunshine to a airport filled with snow and ice. Not fun.... Good luck with the shoppers; it sounds like they are going crazier as Christmas approaches.
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2008-12-11 22:50:58
Every time I go to Home Depot, I buy myself another house plant. I just bought a pink Christmas cactus!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group