ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-19 ... 8:54 p.m.

previous - next

Working for a short time in garden

It was nice having most of the morning off today and sort of ease back into working after my two consecutive days off. I didn't have to go in until 11:30 so I really didn't need to wake up with the alarm.

I got a few things done, did the dishes again to prepare for people being here doing the floor. They are also replacing the bathroom floor, which has cracked (vinyl) tiles which are also discolored from the heat of the pipes underneath. Woot! Two new floors!!

I knew I would end up closing garden today, but I expected I would be out there for my whole shift. Instead, I worked on the front end most of the day, going out to garden at about 6:20. Just in time to sweep and empty the garbage. Yay. Not.

So I called and told the HC I had a cash strip, and she came out to get it, amazingly enough, and at 7:10, the ASM told her to take me inside and close up garden. So I was out there a total of about 45 minutes. Sheesh! They could have saved a lot of hassle by just closing garden at 6:30 when the other cashier left.

It was busy inside today, and I really wanted to stay there, but I don't make a big deal out of it. I do what they want, as long as they are paying me.

I stopped to get my mail after I got into the gate for my building, and as I turned around, I saw this on the fence:
Photobucket

What a surprise that was, for both of us. He just stayed there, and didn't move till I walked past him. I suppose he figured I wouldn't notice him if he didn't move. But he was on top of the fence, at eye level!

I work early tomorrow (7-3:30) so I am going to post this and make my lunch and get to bed.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

14 comments so far

Miss Hiss - 2009-03-20 04:20:35
What is that creature? Is it a rat? (Ours have MUCH longer tails, if it is!) Or is it some cute protected native non-rodenty animal, like maybe the US equivalent of a bandicoot or a bilby? Love, R xxx
-------------------------------
Miss Hiss again - 2009-03-20 04:27:36
Oooh! I'm just a-googling here, and I rather suspect it's a San Diego Roof Rat aka Rattus rattus (which is just a little different from a Rattus Regina, which, I presume, is just as cute but doesn't spend quite as much time sitting about on fences). Am I right? x
-------------------------------
Judith - 2009-03-20 04:34:51
That looks like a possum to me! Weird roadkill animals.
-------------------------------
Miss Hiss againagain - 2009-03-20 04:45:59
An opossum! How interesting. I always imagined opossums had big furry curly prehensile tails, like our Brushtail and Ringtail possums. x
-------------------------------
Miss Hiss againagainagain - 2009-03-20 04:51:07
Okay, wikipedia tells me that opossums' tails ARE prehensile and that they like to use them to carry nesting material. Now I need to know if they hang onto trees with them, too... x
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2009-03-20 07:12:08
Opossums can be very cute, especially when they have all their babies riding on their back. But, they have razor sharp teeth and they can be deadly too. My friend came home to find that an opossum had come into her backyard and tore her huge rotweiller's face up so badly that she had to have the dog put to sleep. Mean, mean, mean!
-------------------------------
DSis - 2009-03-20 10:59:16
Opossums are supposed to play "dead" but this one must not have read the rules or didn't know what to do when you caught him with his eyes wide open. They do have razor sharp teeth--I had to shoot one when my Beagle was squared off with it. Not pretty.
-------------------------------
margie - 2009-03-20 12:59:45
Oh, that would have scared me to death.
-------------------------------
Erianne - 2009-03-20 14:24:37
It's usually the mother possums that are dangerous when defending their babies. We have one that lives under our shed and she has a new litter every year. We like having them because they keep away snakes, mice, rats and any other small icky things that you don't want to find when walking in your yard.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-03-20 14:46:11
Possum possum - who's got the possum?
-------------------------------
Y-N - 2009-03-20 16:50:04
Eww, an opossum! One of those found its way into our garage once, but it was much more mangy (since it was winter in Nebraska after all). It tried to eat my cat, then tried to bite my mom so my dad ended up spearing it with a broken broom. Ghastly. Glad your encounter was much less violent!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-03-20 18:04:11
Yep,I would say that is a possum. We had one run into our garage one time...it took us awhile to get it out too.. I expect it is checking out the garbage area looking for food....or maybe it likes old discolored tile flooring?
-------------------------------
words-4-less - 2009-03-20 19:44:12
I did get a pink Katana. But it's an Eclipse, which did not come in BLUE, which is MY COLOR!!!! So, it was either Pink or Black. The choice was easy!!!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-03-20 20:56:52
Yeppirs! That there is an 'possum! They are pretty common out there in San Diego. One time back in about 1968, we had an almost-Mama 'Possum who decided to to take up residence in our broken washing machine on the back porch. When my Daddy figured out that she was in there, he put on some heavy-duty gloves, and reached in to pull her out.

I remember standing there watching him carry her by the tail to the other side of the street, where there was a cactus ranch. My Mom was saying, "Oh Wyatt, please don't hurt the poor thing" and my Daddy reassured her that it was used to hanging my its tail.

Fortunately, my Daddy was a Southern boy who had grown up around 'possums and such, and he knew how lethal those little razor sharp teeth could be! He sorta flung the Mama possum away from him so he wouldn't get attacked, and she kinda scurried away thinking that one human encounter for the day was quite enough.

As my Rattus about her Possum encounters, she wrote about them a while back. I've had other encounters too, like finding two babies in my bedroom under my dresser. What fun!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group