ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-20 ... 9:35 p.m.

previous - next

Sunday workday

I sure like working later in the day... at least I like it in the morning when I can get up and have a couple of hours to clean and get other chores and errands done.. but I'm not real fond of getting home at 9pm. But, I do like my job, so I won't complain about it. Besides, I think eventually they will be hiring more cashiers, and then I can work up into mostly day hours. But really, it doesn't matter that much, because I'm liking this job.

Today at work was a challenge from the word go. The first three customers of mine all had odd things going on. One wanted to make a payment on his bill. One had some things that the price needed changing on.. and the third one.. well, I just can't remember. But I do remember thinking that it was going to be a tough day.

I was right. I cashiered for a while in the main part of the store, and then ended up in garden again. I didn't need change or any money, so I didn't have issues with that like the past few times I've worked there. I just feel kind of isolated there, and there's no one else ever around for customers to ask questions of.

I might just bring that up to the head cashier next time I work out there, and ask for the phone number of someone I can call when a customer needs something off a high shelf. Or has questions about gravel. Or whatever.

Otherwise, everything went fine except for one lady who bought a "never flat" wheelbarrow wheel. It was stocked in the wrong place, so she thought it was a lower price than it actually was. I showed her the mistake, and she said she would take it. She gave me a gift card to pay for half of it, and THEN decided she didn't want it. AARRRGGGGGHHHHH!! I have to call a manager to do a void, and the gift card she used was also a problem.

I suggested to her that it might take a while for a manager to get there, so it would probably be quicker for her to just buy it, and then take it in to the returns section and return it. Heh. That's what she did.

The store closes at 8. I really wondered what I would be doing until 9, when I was scheduled to leave. I found out. The cashiers that are there late have to clean all the countertops and floors in the cashier areas. So I did the sweeping while the other ladies cleaned the counter tops and did whatever. The manager said to go punch out, which I did. The others were talking and goofing around, and I heard the manager tell them a couple of times that if they were done, they should go punch out. They were just walking toward the back when I was walking out the door. I just wanted to come home and rest!

I got everything cleaned this morning, Mr Fix-It just about finished the kitchen floor, so the kitchen looks really nice. My chair? I will have to bring it in and sit on it, but it's made a lot of progress in the past couple of days. It's even possible poolagirl could sit in it some day when she visits.

And YAY!!! Kid comes tomorrow. How exciting! It will be so fun to show her around this little part of San Diego!

Oh, and I almost forgot. Dude passed his AP Calculus test with a score of 4 (it's graded from 1-5) but only could pull out a 2 on AP Chemistry. That's OK though, it will give him that much more of a head start on college Chemistry, which I am sure he will have to take. Woot!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

9 comments so far

Poolie - 2008-07-21 04:44:35
I was almost ready to send out the Mounties to find you! And then I remembered you worked late. Kid comes tomorrow! YAY and WOOT!
-------------------------------
Miss Hiss - 2008-07-21 04:46:16
Right now, beanieboots, I'm trying to think of as many questions about gravel as I possibly can, to stump you! (So far I haven't come up with a single one, sadly. Well, other than, "Is that gravel?") Hope you have a ball with Kid and her partner-in-crime! Love, R xxx
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-07-21 04:56:56
I'm glad your job's working out - and hope when the kid arrives that she'll appreciate what it's like to see her mom in a more peaceful environment. I suspect it might be a nice wake up call for her. I'm sure whatever else is true, her time there will be an adventure!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-07-21 06:43:06
How exciting to have kid visiting! And just remember, TheRatQueen is just up the road if she wants to check out the young crowd! And good for Dude, maybe not having you there is actually a good thing for him, because now he has to grow up a bit.
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-07-21 11:18:20
glad that lady took your advice and returned it properly. and even cooler is that you get to see Kid and show her around. yay for you!!!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-07-21 11:54:52
everything is falling into place!! woot!!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-07-21 14:08:01
There are some definite advantages to working the late shift (like sleeping in, for me -- ha ha), but when I was working at the computer store, I much preferred working days. That way I could do things at night, instead of getting home close to 11pm. I hope you have such a wonderful time with Kid!! And congrats to Dude for getting a 4 on his calculus test. That is really something to be proud of!!
-------------------------------
mpeacock - 2008-07-21 18:11:30
Have fun with kid! I love Home Depot!
-------------------------------
capitolady - 2008-07-21 20:06:37
Enjoy your time with Kid! Lots of fun things happen at the depot of home no?
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group