ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-08-10 ... 8:26 p.m.

previous - next

Sunday workday

Not much happening around here today except for work. I did find out though, that the reason the phonograph on my "new" stereo isn't working is because it is missing some plugs. The wire is there, but the plugs were somehow cut off or something. The guy who gave it to me claims to remember unplugging them, but somewhere along the way they went missing. Oh well. A trip to Radio Shack ought to fix that. The Depot of Home doesn't have what I need.

So I was busy working today, ringing up a complicated order... some things on the cart, a little lumber, a little of everything.. when some of the lights in the store went out, and all the fans stopped blowing. I just kept on working, saying that it was "mood lighting" when all the computers went out. That stopped the work cold. It was a few minutes before we could reboot the computers, and then another few before they were back to working condition. I was wondering if there had been another earthquake, but I didn't feel anything. (The computers went out when LA had their quake, and we had tremors from it.)

So there were a few customers who weren't real happy after that, and I really felt sorry for the guy who was in line behind the smart-aleck customer whose purchases I had been working on when the outage occurred. And then the idiot grabbed the only lawn spray gun without a UPC.. so I charged him for 4 cement blocks. They are about the same price. And I gave the guy next in line a small discount on one of his items to make up for waiting so long.

It was really busy all day. I took my second break, and when I came back, they wanted to move me to garden to give someone else a break, and then "you may as well just stay out there and close". So I got everything swept up, and cleaned the countertops, and it was all spiffy when Norma came to help me close up.

And then I came home. There was a lot of traffic tonight, I'm not sure why. Maybe it was from the circus, which was being held across the street from the Depot of Home. I'm not sure... whatever, the freeway was packed.

Now it's time to relax a bit, and pick out a new book. I finished the one I was reading last night. Surprise ending! Woot!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

wordy - 2008-08-11 04:30:52
i feel for you. why do people always act as though it's YOUR fault the lights failed?! i remember that clearly from my years in retail. ugh. it happens, people, sheesh, get a grip. i mean do they blame their spouses when the lights go out at home? or their boss when it happens at work? at least it was only a few minutes!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-08-11 04:39:11
Gah to the power outage. I know how people act at times like those and it's really ridiculous. Here's hoping tomorrow goes a little more smoothly - AND that you're able to get the stereo fixed and working.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-08-11 05:37:53
Was most likely a rolling blackout because of the heat. WOOT!
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2008-08-11 05:53:50
Gotta love those rolling blackouts! We had them at Borders all the time. Only problem was, our main computer support was in Ann Arbor, MI...so everytime the computers went down it took at least 10 minutes to call to have them brought back up.
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-08-11 05:57:28
Hmmmm, we had a power glitch way up and over here today too! Was chatting with poolie when it happened. Maybe we had some sympathy outage for all of ya. Bah!
-------------------------------
momonroof - 2008-08-11 11:15:43
I admire that in you, I swear you never get rattled, girl! I'm a freaker outter. You just call it "mood lighting" and keep on workin'...
-------------------------------
DSis - 2008-08-11 11:52:41
OK, I'll make you feel better about rolling blackouts cause of the heat: yesterday and this morning we have tied for all time lows in northern Wisconsin. It is now (at almost 7 am on Monday) only 45 degrees! Even the mosquitos don't like that temp, but you don't have those either, do you?
-------------------------------
scotvalkyrie - 2008-08-11 15:53:07
Man, I remember those days of retail! I figured I only had to deal with those people for a couple of minutes, but they had to live with themselves all the got-danged day!
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-08-11 17:49:26
missing plugs on the stereo system makes me think it could have been "found" in someone's apt and taken???? Hope you can fix whatever it was so you can enjoy the unit.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-08-12 01:10:24
Gahhh I hate it when customers get pissy because of something that just can't be controlled. The power goes out -- go call the power company and yell at THEM! Don't take it out on the poor customer service person who is trying to get you out the door as quickly as possible. I used to work retail; this is why I try my darnedest to be as patient and kind to them as possible.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group