ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-31 ... 10:49 p.m.

previous - next

The new place and work


NerdTests.com says I'm a Cool Nerd.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get geeky images and jokes, and talk to others on the nerd forum!

May never came over last night to see my place. Oh well. I waited up for her, too. But I got up bright and early this morning, and after coffee and breakfast, I took my bookshelves (without the bricks), my bedframe, and my bathtub shelf thingie over to my new place to try to �arrange� things. I think I have a good idea of where I will have things going, so that�s always a plus.

I met one of the people who lives there, shortly after I opened my door. He was bitching that I was in his parking spot. Sheesh! First of all, they told me there isn�t assigned parking, and I told him that, but he insisted it was his spot. I said I was just getting a few things inside, and I would be leaving soon, so I wouldn�t be in HIS spot any more. What ever! I went back out to get the stuff out of my car, and he had parked behind me so I couldn�t leave. I�m thinking the guy is a jerk, but I guess I�ll reserve judgement until after I live there for a while and stay out of HIS spot.

I did meet another guy who lives there, who was pretty cool. So I guess it shouldn�t be too bad!

I went to Target to get some stuff I needed, like a shower curtain and I picked up a few other things. Man, I�m only about 5 minutes from the mall! I really like that! I went back and put up the curtain so that�s done for now.

I even decided where to put my plants, but the biggest problem I can forsee in this place is the locked gate, that locks when you leave, and I�m sure I will be forgetting my key and locking myself out. I need to get a key holder that I can leave hidden somewhere. I know the Depot sells them, so I�ve put that on my list of necessities!

I have to get the cable people over (for an additional fee) to put in another outlet where I want it. There�s only one cable in the living room, and I wanted to put my computer by the window, and the cable is on the other side of the room, where I want the TV to be. There is cable in the bedroom, but I never watch TV in bed, and I don�t want my computer in there, so there�s just no other option. I suppose I could get a splitter and some extra cable and do it myself, but by the time I get all that, and the little tack thingies to tack the cable down so I don�t trip on it or walk over it, I may as well just pay the cable people to come and do it. There always are extra expenses when one moves, and I kind of figured one of the utility companies would get me! Oh well.

I worked until about 9:45 tonight. There just wasn't anything left for me to do, so I punched out early and left. I worked in returns the entire afternoon and evening. Most of my customers didn't have any type of receipt for what they were returning, so I didn't give out a lot of cash, but I did scan quite a few store credit cards.

One man brought in a bunch of brass fittings, which are just as expensive as copper, and no receipt. Jason (my Head Cashier) would not give him any credit, and logged his attempt to return them. That puts a flag on his driver's license number in the computer, and if he tries to return them again, at any Depot of Home, it will show up, and he won't be able to return them unless he comes up with a receipt.

Jason also refused credit to a man who had over $90 worth of drill bits and anchor bolts. That's only 4 drill bits! Again, no receipt, and again, Jason logged his return attempt.

Why? These things are small, and expensive and are easily slipped into a pocket and stolen. They also don't have security tags on them, so they don't set off the alarms when someone walks out with them. Hopefully, the computer system will not allow them to return them at any Depots. Heh. I wonder which store they stole them from!!

And the lizard lady was in tonight, with new, little lizards! No, she is not a lizard, but she brings lizards in a little cage to the Depot and she walks around the store for an hour or so for exercise. She tells me the lizards enjoy getting out and seeing people, and that they know and respond to their names. OK.......

I'm falling asleep here... I guess it's time for bed!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

Rattus Regina - 2009-02-01 08:05:17
I've heard of taking a dog for a walk - but walking a lizard??
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2009-02-01 14:19:06
Ohhhh, I hope you don't have grumpy neighbors to deal with! Yikes!
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2009-02-01 15:17:10
I love hearing the "return" stories. I just can't believe that people are so dishonest! Also, when my Hub and I first got married, we moved into an apartment complex with "no assigned" parking. One day the downstairs tenant hammered on my apt. door to tell me that I was parked in his space. When I told him that I didn't know that we had assigned parking, he told me that he was a special case - that he knew the owners of the building. I ws only 20 years old and he really creeped me out. I told him that I would tell my husband. Hub (also 20 yrs old) got all macho and said no one was going to tell him where to park and so he parked in the spot again. Well.....the next day Hub's car wouldn't start and we discovered that the guy had poured sugar in my husband's gas tank. So, my advice is to steer clear of this jerk - just his parking behind you shows that he's got a mean ass attitude.
-------------------------------
Crystal Balls - 2009-02-01 15:59:03
It takes all kinds, I guess. I don't get the double-dishonesty thing though, of people stealing then bringing back. You'd think they'd be afraid to come back into the store with what they took.
-------------------------------
Paula - 2009-02-01 17:06:44
My neighbor was kind of a pain in the ass when we first moved in until I learned all of HIS ground rules...actually his ground rules were pretty sensible...he just had this attitude that he was going to nip us in the bud before we had a chance to piss him off....he has turned out to be a wonderful wonderful neighbor who helps us with anything and everything and now that he knows we are not assholes...he loves us. I'm hoping that if you just let this guy have his spot that he will turn out to be an asset as a neighbor in the long run....here's hoping.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-02-01 17:24:02
I have to agree with other comments about the jerk who OWNS his parking space. It isn't worth arguing with him because he might do something to your car or your apt. Hopefully he will come around...maybe he just doesn't like women....or thinks he has to set everyone straight upfront.....
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-02-01 17:52:33
Make him a pan of your famous chocolate treats and tell him you are sorry - that you didn't know. He will love you. But then again, maybe you don't want him to love you.
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-02-02 02:28:10
I like Poolie's idea--no sense in trying to argue, since he is there longer than you are--at least you did meet someone nice in the complex.
-------------------------------
Wyndspirit - 2009-02-05 04:23:37
My immediate thought was, "What KIND of lizards? Anoles? Geckos?" I think I've been working at the pet store too long... Seriously, we have a guy who brings in his iguana when the weather's not too cold, and another guy brings in this huge pure white macaw. (Is it weird that I remember the macaw's name is Peanut, but I don't know the man's?)
-------------------------------
mz em - 2009-02-19 02:09:16
We've run into a few rude neighbors. He had a problem of our tuning up Michael's motorcycle. This is in the middle of the afternoon. So, I went down and introduced myself and asked about his sleeping habits (he said we were disturbing his sleep) that if he could leave me a list we would make an attempt to work with him. Guess who never gave me a list. I love walking the lizards! What a picture that brings to my mind.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group