ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-11 ... 6:16 p.m.

previous - next

A surprise at work

Long day at work today! I was scheduled to work 8-12, as I was all week. But when I took my break, my normal manager was there (ok, I am not sure she's NORMAL, but whatever... we can call her Norma!) So Norma was there, and asked how long I worked today. I told her till noon, and she asked if I could stay until 4:30! Dude! I said YES!! I told her I worked the rest of the weekend from 8-12, and she changed that to 8-4:30. I sure can use the pay from those hours!!

AND I took the "accuracy test" today that every cashier does every month, and I scored a perfect score on it. Woot! That made me feel pretty good. I even got my spiffy orange apron to wear, and tomorrow I will be working a register by myself! I know I don't know everything, but I will be working at a register that is next to someone else, so I have quick advice when I need it. Yay!

I told Norma I thought I was ready, as long as they didn't put me on the Contractor's lines.... she said no, that that's for the more experienced people, and I wouldn't be soloing there for a while. Phew! I also mentioned to her that I would be appreciative of as many hours as I could get and she just winked at me and said, "I have plans for you!" Cool! I may have to work evenings, but the only way to get the day hours is to put in your time in the evenings. I am willing to do that.

I was glad I put the third coat of polyurethane on my boards this morning before I left for work, because I wanted to do nothing but sit when I finally got home from work. Oooooo my feet were sore! Tomorrow I think I will wear my boots, two days of new shoes are enough to start out with.

I do have to make myself something for lunch tomorrow, since it's too long of a time to not have anything to eat, and it's too expensive to buy food out all the time, even though there's a grocery store right next door. Plus by the time I walk to the store and buy my food and get back, I only have 20 minutes to eat. It's much nicer to just go to the back and relax for almost all of my 31 minute break. 31 minutes? They would rather have us punch in a minute late than a minute early. I can live with that.

So no work for me in the house tonight, other than making lunch. There is a fridge at the Depot that I can use for food, but I also have cold packs to keep things cold, and I can just stick it in my locker. One can tell that this isn't a cold weather state, since the lockers are nowhere big enough for boots and coats. Heh. I don't even think my old winter coat would fit in my locker!

Anyway... must get going on the lunch issue... and tomorrow night is fun night! Woot!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

13 comments so far

Sis - 2008-07-12 02:07:27
Wow, sounds like you are a "star pupil" Way to go! Work your way up! I talked to Kid tonight, she is so fired up about coming out to see you. I'm sure you will have a great time when she is out there. Keep up the good work at the Depot!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-07-12 03:43:39
Congratulations to you!! You are really moving up there quickly, and I am sure the Depot realizes what a fantastic employee they have in you. I am so excited that you are in a place where you are rewarded for all your hard work. It must feel so good to be recognized that you are GOOD at this.
-------------------------------
Kathy - 2008-07-12 04:08:52
I have nothing but good feelings about the depot. Did I ever tell you that Thor's sister's best friend worked at the depot back in the beginning. And has since retired to a home on lots of acreage in Alaska? And still has her home in Atlanta? And is looking for a cabin around here? Maybe you'll be next!
-------------------------------
Paula G from Indiana - 2008-07-12 05:33:45
Everybody knew whoever in California was lucky enough to get you for an employee would be thrilled! Your hardworking ethics seem to be paying off already!!! Woot!
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2008-07-12 07:12:31
Yay! Sounds like the Depot of Home is working out as a great place for you. I'm glad that your manager appreciates you. Sounds like with someone like her in your corner you should get the hours you want. =D
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-07-12 07:37:08
Yay for more hours! If they keep this up you might stay there long enough to make store manager :D
-------------------------------
kim - 2008-07-12 08:39:11
Good for you! And congrats on the perfect score although I knew you'd pass with flying colors. HD is probably counting their blessings to have an employee like you! *hugs*
-------------------------------
art on the dial up - 2008-07-12 11:25:59
since you have your spiffy orange smock now,you are oh-fish-shall!! yay!! once you get to know all the ins-an outs there, you will be running the joint!! woot!!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-07-12 14:00:39
Perfect score! YAY! That doesn't surprise me!
-------------------------------
Paula - 2008-07-12 15:02:13
So glad to hear your new job is working out so well...they're lucky to have you and you will be working full time days before you know it...I'll bet some day they even make you a manager. I'm so happy that your new life in San Diego is taking shape...you sound so happy. (woot for the perfect score too)
-------------------------------
Joan - 2008-07-12 18:23:23
Way to go!! I was at the Depot last weekend and somehow I got mixed up and tried to walk in the Contractors exit door, and dern near got beaned by a load of lumber.
-------------------------------
Doug Franklin - 2008-07-12 20:45:36
Hi! New reader here... I tried signing up for your notify, and it told me that it was for a non-existent site... tried to send you an email and got an error... I will be a regular reader if I can notified... I've got the CRS, y'know? Thanx for being here!
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-07-12 22:39:47
Great job--your are a smart person, plus you have a lot of retail experience--I'm sure your boss picks up on that very easily--when we get a new person in the lab, you can tell right away how bright they are.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group