ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-11-23 ... 6:04 p.m.

previous - next

Lost money and work stuff

I was tired last night, so I went to bed at 8:30, and slept until 5:30 this morning. Guess I needed the sleep.

I worked from 8:30-5. The first thing Norma told me this morning was that I couldn't wear my crocs any more because they have no backs on the shoes. I always wear the strap down, but she said it doesn't matter, the shoe has to have a back on it. Cripes. Well, I was planning on buying a new pair of crocs, and now I'm glad I waited. I know Crocs makes some with backs on them, so I will get me a pair of those! Heh. I can still wear crocs!

And so I was sent over to the contractor's checkout area, when the lady in the back office called to tell me that she was missing my last cash strip from last night, of $300. She asked who took the strip, and damned if I could remember, although I knew it was one of the head cashiers!

I didn't remember sending it up in the tube, so I told her I would check it out. I asked the HC from last night, and she mentioned that I was out in garden (DUH) and she told me to send it up with my till. But I don't remember her doing that, I remembered thinking last night it was odd that she didn't give it to me to do. But I know it wasn't just lying there, or I would have done SOMETHING with it.

So I turned my light off and went over to garden. I looked in one of the drawers, and there were a whole bunch of strip bags in the drawer, and one of them was zipped shut... because inside it was my $300!!! PHEW!

I called the back office and sent it up right away. I was so glad I found it! I went back over to my checkout and kept working. Relieved as I could be!!

Then Norma called me into the office. Oops I was kind of worried she would be mad at me, but all she did was ask what had happened. Apparently one of the ASMs (Asst. Store Mgrs) had heard about this and told her to check it out. I explained that Molly said she had told me to send it with my till, but I must not have heard her or paid attention, and one of us stuck it in the drawer.. etc....

She said that once Molly signed for that money, it was her responsibility to make sure it got sent to the vault, not mine. I didn't want to get Molly in trouble, and I could feel tears in my eyes. Well, that made Norma ask me if I was ok, so I just said that I was glad the money was there, and that I didn't want to make trouble for Molly...

She said that it was the tip of the iceberg for her, and I really didn't want to hear more so I just said ok, as long as I'm not in trouble. Even when I'm not trying, I can still get people in trouble! Sheesh!

At least the rest of the day went pretty smooth after that. I did see a kid that I thought was shoplifting, he kept watching me watching him which is never a good sign, but then he disappeared in the aisles. I told someone else about him who couldn't find him, so it's hard to say what happened to him. I tried calling LP but apparently I don't have the right phone numbers for them, cause one is always busy and no one ever answers the other one.

Anyway, I didn't have much longer to go, and I sure was glad to get out of there today. But now I'm home making pizza, so everything is much better! Ha! Plus Norma added three more hours on tomorrow, so with my holiday pay I will get 44 hours for this week! Woot! I can live with that!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

8 comments so far

boxx9000 - 2008-11-24 02:30:03
44? That's Obama's number. hehehe.
-------------------------------
iidlyyckma - 2008-11-24 02:57:27
hugs sweet pea, you didn't do a thing wrong. She signed for the cash, not you. It was her responsibility.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-11-24 03:01:19
If Molly made it as high as HC, then she should know the rules by now. It may have been an honest mistake, and if that's so, then maybe since the money was found, everything will be hunky-dory. It isn't your fault it happened, though; you didn't get her in trouble. I feel for you, though!
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2008-11-24 12:14:25
I hate it when I do something wrong or am told I've done something wrong and have no memory of it. My guess is that you put the strip bag aside because you were waiting for Molly, who never appeared. You're way too responsible to have done anything else! I hope your work day today is much easier.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-11-24 17:38:53
It sounds like an honest mistake was made and thank goodness, you found the bag. I don't think anyone was upset with you at all. You are so very responsible and do your best and they know it. Anyway, it ended fine for you and you found the money and turned it in. Congratulations on the extra hours too.
-------------------------------
Sherry - 2008-11-25 01:39:33
Yikes! So glad the $300 was found! I'm so glad I'm not in any way responsible for cash at work.
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2008-11-25 02:06:36
I must agree with Sherry! I am so thrilled not to be responsible for cash anymore. I had a boss who was convicted of stealing from our school district and he tried to blame it on his secretary. Thank God I was his secretary before that and there was no way he could have blamed me!! I hope you're feeling better now.
-------------------------------
cosmic - 2008-11-25 05:54:08
Don't dwell on it. Not your responsibility and I am sure that if it is just the tip of the iceberg, it porbably won't bother Molly too much either. So as my sister, Carol, would say, "Put it a bubble and blow it away." Or the new saying "fagaedaboudit!!"
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group