ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-30 ... 7:11 p.m.

previous - next

Abusy day with lots of change

It was quite a peaceful, quiet day in garden today, since Blue had the day off. She is off tomorrow, too, and is on jury duty all week, so I'm not sure if she will be at work at all. I was all set to have a talk with her if she started her bossy stuff again, but it's probably a good thing she is gone. Then I won't say something I regret.

Anyway, it was busy today! The sun was shining, and that makes people come in and buy plants. It was chilly inside, where I was standing, because the sun doesn't shine at the registers. When I got cold, I would just go outside and stand in the sun for a minute or two and warm up.

It was "get rid of your change" day. I had a lady give me $20 worth of quarters, and a man who gave me $47 in one dollar bills. Cripes! There was another kid who was a short less than a dollar, so I gave him a ten percent discount (customer satisfaction) so he actually had money left when he was done. He paid me with several dollars worth of quarters, too. In his case though, it was out of necessity. The others were just dumping their change on me, not that it matters. Money is money.

There were also several couples who came in who were arguing between themselves. I wondered if it was a Monday thing, a money thing, or if they just all happened to come in today by pure chance.

When the person I was working with this afternoon went on a break, it got really busy, and the line to check out was pretty long. The department head for garden asked if I'd called for help (which is what we're supposed to do) and I said no. (I didn't think Norma had anyone to send out to help me.) So he called Norma, then hung up and told me that she had no one to send. I just had to laugh. They want us to call for help when we get a line, but then there is never anyone extra to send out, or by the time they get there, the line is gone. Besides, I don't mind working fast when I know I'm going home in an hour.

I did my dishes when I got home, and I have a few things to do yet before I can call it a day. I might be working inside tomorrow, but even if I'm not, I know it will be quiet again out in garden. Woot!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

4 comments so far

Judith - 2009-03-31 02:59:05
Nothing like knowing a troublesome co-worker isn't there for several days. Makes the day so much easier.
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2009-03-31 07:03:40
Unfortunately for you, in San Diego, you only serve for one day unless you are put on a jury. With her mouth, it's unlikely they'll want her, so she could be back as soon as Tuesday.
-------------------------------
Fifi - 2009-03-31 10:15:19
Beanie, you are so funny! "unless it is considered a food..." That set a good tone for my morning! XOFifi
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-03-31 23:51:19
That was so nice of you to give that kid a 10% discount! See, it's lovely people like you that keep the world going 'round.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group