ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-09-29 ... 3:43 p.m.

previous - next

Lunch with Poolie and wet streets

It might have rained at Poolagirl's house this morning, because she heard thunder, but there was no rain on my street. I didn't even notice the streets were wet until I got up to about 30th street, and once I drove a bit farther, I could see water running in the gutters. I must be in a no-rain zone. Heh.

I still have to wonder why I wake up so early on my days off. I fell asleep about 10:30 last night, and woke up at 6. I guess that's almost 8 hours of sleep, and that might be why I was so wide awake so early. I guess I would rather have the habit of getting up early so it isn't so hard on the few days I work at 8 or earlier. 11:30 is the earliest I work this week, so I guess I'll be getting lots of stuff done in the mornings!

I went to Henry's this morning since I had absolutely NO fruit in the house. Peaches and nectarines were 4 pounds for 5 dollars, and they were big juicy ones, too. I found some Italian plums that were $1.19 a pound, so I bought a bunch of those. That's my favorite kind of plum. Yummie!

I went to Albertson's to get the essentials, and ended up buying a bunch more stuff than I really needed for this week, but it was all on sale, and it's nothing perishable, so I guess I just won't shop next week. Yeah, right. When I'm out of milk and bagels, I'll go back, and get sucked into the specials again. Sheesh!

Then I got all the stuff home and in the fridge, and played Pogo until it was almost time for lunch. I went to my favorite Mexican restaurant, and picked up some mashed potato rolled tacos for me and Poolie for our weekly lunch. Delicious! We sat in the small break room and ate because it was wet outside.

Most of the museum floor was empty, since they took all the motocross bikes out, and are busy setting it up to put Ferraris in. I called dibs on the car with the #81 on it. I'm sure I could get it to about 185 if the freeway was empty... but my chances of getting to drive it are mightly slim. Bummer!

Then it was time to come home. Poolie had a class to teach, and I decided to organize the books on my bookshelves. What a mess! But they are a bit more orderly now, and it shouldn't be hard to find the ones I want.

I am going to a book signing tonight. Brian Herbert, the son of Frank Herbert, who wrote the Dune series, and several other books, has been continuing the Dune saga, and he is signing books tonight at the bookstore I went to with Big Sister yesterday. I haven't actually read any of his books, (Brian's, not Frank's) but I still think it would be fun to go. I would love to tell him how much I enjoyed his father's writing. He might just appreciate it.

So that's what I'm doing tonight. I'm not sure how long it will last, but I will likely buy at least one book, just to get his signature. I don't plan on buying the hardcover copy of his new book, since they tend to be pricey and big and heavy.. and I have so many books on my "to read" pile that I'm not sure when I'll get to it. Besides, I will have to re read all of the Dune series just to get back into it before I start on all of his. I can get them all cheaper at half.com.

Back to the books.....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

princesscee - 2008-09-30 00:09:34
What an awesome thing to do! I still haven't finished the first Dune yet. Hope you have fun!
-------------------------------
Joan - 2008-09-30 00:23:50
I envy your new life...but in a nice way. Do what you want - go to bed and eat when you want to. I am very happy for you
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-09-30 02:29:57
WOW! The son of Frank Herbert! That's way cool. I went to a book signing once, but for Julia Quinn. She writes humorous historical light romance.
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-09-30 02:34:53
Ooooh, a book signing! You go, girl! I think that's a terrific opportunity. I haven't read any of the younger Herbert's editions but loved the original two or three by his dad. Such extraordinary imagination, so beautifully and intricately laid out...
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2008-09-30 04:10:33
We got a tiny bit of rain over here. Weird to be so sunny and warm out with the rain coming down and drying up right away. Let me know when you and Poolie can do lunch or dinner. Hubby and I are in town this week and would love to share a meal and some good laughs with you two. BIG hug to you!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-09-30 11:16:08
awwww! as soon as you mentioned bagels, i was reminded of the days when you'd play pogo on your days off back in cow-town, happily munching on a bagel. (the cool part is not so much cow-town as the memory of how much you love bagels) Speaking of book signing, my sister got a book signed for me when she went to that Julia Quinn thing. How cool is that?
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2008-09-30 11:32:41
I don't miss very many things from my life in California. Family, friends, decent restaurants. And fruit. I live in a fresh fruit wasteland. Oh! And tomatoes. How I miss a good tomato sandwich. Even the homegrown ones from the local farmer's market are mealy and tasteless because our growning time is so short. :o(
-------------------------------
Joan M - 2008-09-30 16:23:40
I was thinking about you this weekend when I was shopping in the Depot of Home. I half expected to see you in the Garden Centre :). It's pretty well closed down for the winter now, but I needed some potting soil for my some of my houseplants that have been neglected for sometime now.
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-09-30 16:58:11
that sounded like a great way to spend your day. I envy you all that fresh fruit and produce. Back here, it's almost tasteless. that was interesting about the son carrying on with his father's Dune series. I recall my son loved those books. I will have to ask him if he has read the son's stories.
-------------------------------
ladybug-red - 2008-10-01 01:04:09
A book signing - how fun! The other day I was in a big conference room with windows on both sides of the building. It was dark and raining on one side and it was clear with the sun slightly shining on the other.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group