ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-04-25 ... 6:51 p.m.

previous - next

I was mean today

Back to work after my two days off. It would have been nice to just stay home, but I don't call in sick on Saturdays just on principle. Plus I wasn't sick.

It was a beautiful sunshiny day, just a touch too cool to go without a jacket out in garden. It wasn't really that busy, either, probably because it was so cool.

One of the first people I saw was Norma. I talked to her about the interviews, and whether or not she got my application. She did get it the second time I applied, which was Thursday afternoon. She hadn't started interviewing though, because once she starts, she's not allowed to accept any more applicants. So nice, she held it open until she talked to me. Woot!

That gives me hope. Blue was working out in garden, and being the "boss" again, but she was told to "take it easy" on Etta, who complained that she doesn't like being hurried or pushed by Blue. Norma heard this via the grapevine. Sheesh. So no one pushed her at all today, although she and I get along pretty well together.

One of the other cashiers came in while I was working and congratulated me. I thanked her, and then it occurred to me that I had no clue WHY she congratulated me. Hmmm. It seems that one of the comments left for me from the receipt feedback was chosen to be published in the district newsletter. Double woot!!

So that sure put a smile on my face for the rest of the day!

I had to go to lunch a little early just to keep the schedule working, but once I got to the break room, I didn't mind. Dork boy was in there, and of course, hey yelled out my name, just to be an irritating little prick. So I said, "Hello, Dork... errr... (then I said his real name)". I heard a lot of muffled laughs and snorts, and someone was laughing when they said to him "she called you DORK!!" which really made me chuckle. Heh.

I didn't look at him or acknowledge in any way that I heard anything or said what I did on purpose. And you know what? He hasn't said anything to me since. And he didn't come to hide out in garden so he could talk on his cell phone, either. Heh. That was just perfect! And I know it was kind of mean to embarrass him in front of his friends at work, but he is a real pain in the butt to me when he interrupts customer service to call my name for NO reason. And that can be embarrassing too. If he learned a lesson, it is worth it.

The rest of the day wasn't a whole lot of fun. It got busier, and we started losing people because it was time for them to go home. Then one of the computers crashed with a cash drawer inside, so the HC had to manually release the drawer and then we were short one computer. I consider myself lucky to have managed to get a break today, so I was really glad to come home.

But on the whole, a pretty decent day. I am interested to see who gets hired to be a Head Cashier, and what the interview will be like.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

4 comments so far

Rebekah - 2009-04-26 03:03:50
You sound so happy at the Depoh (I did that on purpose)!

i'm not comfortable - is it just me? - that Blue would call you about management hiring stuff. She knows more than she should unless she's Norma's parallel in the food chain.

I'm assuming that your job is going to be really safe this year; people who can't afford home repairs from the pros will be going to you, right? Especially since your store has such GREAT customer service! :D
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-04-26 03:07:07
Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do to get results. Congrats on getting on of your comments published!!!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2009-04-26 03:27:41
Between Blue and Dork, it sounds like some days your title should include "Official Home Depot Day Care Manager", geeezzzz...they need to grow up! I think you're wise to get along with Blue. You know the old saying, Keep your friends close, enemies closer. I had the same feeling Rebekah had about her calling you.
-------------------------------
Crystal Balls - 2009-04-26 05:52:43
I hope things work out for you on the head cashier's job. It's a step in the right direction anyway!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group