ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-10-15 ... 9:02 p.m.

previous - next

A returns day, and more hours!

Another late night getting home from work, but this time it was because Poolagirl's Roomie made eggplant parmesan, and invited me over to eat! Yummy!! It was delicious! We watched the debate while it was cooking, and just sat and chatted afterwards. A totally enjoyable evening.

And I had a great day at work too. I was in returns again. The days there go really fast, because there's always something to do, and the customers just keep coming in. Plus then we have to make sure the stuff they return either goes back to the vendor for repackaging or credit (RTV) or it has to go back out to the store to be sold again.

The hard part about that is making the departments come to get their stuff, since it's beyond my responsibility to put it away for them.

Today I had a customer who was... not happy. He brought in a ladder that looked quite well used, and a receipt for a ladder that said he paid $44. The ladder on the receipt and the ladder he brought in were not the same. The one he brought back was $29. So right there, he wasn't happy. He wanted me to "honor the receipt" but I told him I couldn't because he didn't bring in the correct ladder. "But this one isn't sturdy" he told me...

I explained to him that I wasn't going to give him credit for more than he paid for the ladder, and I showed him the different UPC numbers, and made him understand what I was telling him. Then, because the ladder wasn't on the receipt, I could only give him store credit, and not cash. Another strike against me, apparently. Then, because it was store credit, I had to get his driver's license number. He didn't have it with him.

OK, who among us goes driving around all day without their driver's license?? NOT ME!!! He said he knew the number on it, but we need to have the license to ID the person who is getting money returned to them. He was angry about that, so I called Jason, my head cashier, because I thought he would have to void out the transaction. Jason came to do that, and the guy started questioning him about our policy of returning store credit only with an ID. Jason showed him where it was posted after the guy challenged him on that.

At this point, the guy started pulling crap out of his wallet, showing us his credit cards, insurance cards, and all this other shit, until he finally pulled out a Costco card with his picture on it. By this time he had raised his voice, and had started swearing at Jason. Jason kept his cool and I was pretty impressed. He also wasn't giving in. Once a manager makes a stand on something though, he can't just give in, or the customer knows all he has to do is create a scene and he will get his way.

It just so happened that THREE of the assistant store managers were standing by the front door while this was going on. Finally, once the guy started swearing, they jumped in and defused the situation. The one manager, Gerry, just let the guy rant, and then asked, "Are we going to have a civil conversation here so you can get your credit?" and the guy calmed down. I explained the situation to Gerry, and he took the guy's ID number, and gave him his refund.

He also told him that he didn't care how much money he spent in the store, but that he was never to come in again and use abusive language like he had been to his employees, or he wouldn't be coming back again, ever. It sure was nice to know that the lessons we learn in theory do come out the same in practice. I just stood back through all of this and watched, and let it all proceed without me. I was truly impressed.

And things are getting much easier there. One customer even told me I shouldn't have so much fun at work. I just laughed, and told him if it was fun, they wouldn't call it work. It's nice to get paid to enjoy my time.

What made my work day even better was Norma asking me if I would like to work returns all the time, to which I said, YES. Only thing is, I will have the closing hours, which means I will end up staying until 10PM. But I work a lot of nights until 8, and generally don't do anything after work but go home. I figured, what's another 2 hours? That way I have every morning off. And getting up for these past two days to be at work by 9 just sucked. I had to set the alarm, and I really didn't like getting up before 7.

Yes, before 7, because even though it normally takes me 17 minutes or so to get to work, today it took me 32. That's because of the increased traffic, and also today there was an accident, and all the traffic lanes had just opened by the time I got up to it. When there are 5 lanes, and three of them are closed, it causes a bit of congestion. Just think, a year ago I used to get up at 4:15 every day!

I asked if I would be full time, and she said I would be getting 40 hours a week, just not full time benefits. I guess I can live with that. And provided I work out well enough there, I think it will move me into full time benefits earlier than being anywhere else. Woot!

I have the next two days off. The lady who was going to do my hair was at work today, but left early. She called in sick all weekend last weekend, so I think she just isn't feeling well yet. I want to have my hair done by Tombstone time, so I just made an appointment with Poolie's hairdresser.... she does a great job, so I'm sure it will look great! That's set for Friday at 1:45. Woot! The girl at work who was going to do it just didn't sound real excited about it... I don't think she will care that I'm getting someone else to do it. And if she does, oh well.

Time to get my jammies on. I'm back to having open windows all night, because it warmed up a bit here. It's lovely sleeping at night....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

Blue Opal - 2008-10-16 06:43:15
Woot for the full time hours if not yet the full time benefits! It may not be perfect but it's a definite step in the right direction :)
-------------------------------
Erianne - 2008-10-16 08:06:36
Yay for the guarantee of 40 hours! Hopefully you'll get your full time slot quickly.
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-10-16 11:08:30
I never understood how someone could become so hostile when a store tries to help them with a return and especially when technically, you guys had every right to NOT do any kind of refund or store credit. And, even more so when the guy didn't have his DL and your store STILL gave him the credit. I swear, people suck sometimes! I'm sorry you had to deal with that yesterday.
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-10-16 11:37:25
At our store, the returns are gathered and sorted into bins in a room behind Cust Svc. It included things that people give the cashiers that they have changed their minds about buying or whatever. Monday when I came back from my lunch break Karla asked me to go see if they had any returns to be restocked. Ewww. I went and they asked me to do the "Infant" bucket. Got a cart, and it was full! Put it all back, which I HATED doing then went back to Karla and asked if she was done punishing me yet?! Oh, how she laughed. The younger kids LIKE to do returns and get a break from the registers.....not me! Hopefully I won't get stuck doing that again! Yuck!!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-10-16 12:04:03
Dinner was so much fun! And I can't wait to see your hair on Friday! Be bold, grasshopper!
-------------------------------
Joan - 2008-10-16 18:52:35
Congratulations on 40 hrs. a week! I'm betting your hair will look great too.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group