ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-23 ... 5:19 p.m.

previous - next

On board the Midway

Oh my word, these kids are wearing me out. Today we went to see the seals at La Jolla cove, but there were none on the beach. I spotted some on a rock though, and so we were all happy with that. We did some exploring on the beach, which meant that we had to go up and down the steps...

Photobucket

Photobucket

The kids explored the cove, Winnie on the left, Kid on the right:

Photobucket

Photobucket

It is a beautiful place, and I was glad to be able to show it to them. They appreciated the beauty of it, too...

Photobucket

We stopped at Mission Beach too, just to see what it looked like. The kids enjoyed seeing that, and they want to go back tomorrow and spend the day in the sun, the surf and the sand. I can't say I blame them. Except for the sun, I would love to spend a day on the beach. I AM going with them, but I'm just not sure where I will be spending most of my time.

Then we stopped at Lenny's for lunch and after that, back to the waterfront. We toured the Midway today, which was awesome. But it had a lot of stairs up and down, and Winnie has the energy of six teens, I'm sure, and ran Kid and I ragged up and down the stairs of the ship.

There were plenty of planes...

Photobucket

Photobucket

Good thing the keys weren't in this one!

Photobucket

And plenty of stairs. They are just downright steep!

Photobucket

Photobucket

It was a great history lesson, and interesting to see how the men on the ship actually lived...

Photobucket

The links in this chain weigh about 130 pounds apiece..

Photobucket

And when you are bad, you end up in the brig.

Photobucket

Winnie would have taken the ship out for a spin if she could have...

Photobucket

We learned about navy officers:

Photobucket

Photobucket

We even got to go in the "island" where all the controls are!

Photobucket

There were pirates out today, too!

Photobucket

The planes, with a background of the city, was awesome.

Photobucket

I took 61 pictures today, the rest are in photobucket in the July 2008 folder. Enjoy!

We came back to the house for a rest before we start working on tomorrow's things. I am taking the kids shopping for our picnic food...

We are all pretty tired out and can use a day of rest at the beach. At least we can nap there if we need to.....


previous - next

Kiss Me!

8 comments so far

mpeacock - 2008-07-24 01:14:36
:) :) :)
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-07-24 01:26:45
*Whines* I wanna go to the beach! I haven't been in forever. Seriously - I'm glad you and the kid are having fun. I still wanna see your pics (checking out the Photobucket stuff soon as I can find the link.)
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-07-24 02:38:17
Hehehe... actually stairs on a ship are called "ladders." And it's why Kurt has such bad knees. Also the photo you took of the naval officers are actually Chiefs, which are non-commissioned officers. That's what Kurt is!! I think he'll be excited to see those photos you took. I would LOVE to see the Midway. Will you take me if I come to visit too??? PS -- Could you get your hands on a beach umbrella for tomorrow?? I'm not a fan of the sun either.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-07-24 04:35:54
Oh how fun! What a day!
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-07-24 10:23:55
Oh great that you guys are having such a terrific time! Today, relaxing at the beach , sounds like just what you need. Enjoy!
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2008-07-24 11:20:54
I realized this morning that I had a huge grin on my face as I read your entry. You sound so happy and the girls looks like they're having a blast. Enjoy your day at the beach!
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-07-24 15:58:26
Sounds like you're all having a grande time!! So very happy for you!
-------------------------------
For-Tart - 2008-07-24 16:28:50
Beats the heck out of cutting roasts, doesn't it?
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group