ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-10-01 ... 8:34 p.m.

previous - next

Getting punchy!

I was sitting here playing Pogo this morning when I heard the "crunch crunch" of someone walking through the brush in the back yard. Well, it's more the side of the canyon than a back yard, and when I looked out I saw a bunch of workmen with a chain saw cutting down branches and small trees.

Photobucket
It seemed like they were laying a cable or something... Anyway, they were down the hill far enough that they weren't really bothering me.

Photobucket
Notice the big bunny-ear cactus that's just as tall as that man!

I'm just glad I wasn't trying to sleep late!

So when I got to work, and I had been there for two hours, and had already taken my break, I realized I never punched in at the start of my shift! I went back and double checked, and sure enough, there was no data for today. Crap. I got the form filled out and signed, and got that all straightened out, and just punched out for my lunch. It wasn't until later, when I was waiting to punch out before I left, that I saw my name by the time clock, because I hadn't punched out last night when I left! Sheesh! What's up with that??!?!?!?

It was really warm today and since I was working 11:30-8, I assumed I would be out in garden. No such luck. I was inside, and it was really warm. I spent most of my break time drinking water, because it was so warm. Maybe I can use that as my reason for forgetting to punch in and out.. I was dehydrated. heh.

Today was pretty busy. I was only supposed to work for four hours, but I got an increase on that. I can honestly say that they needed me, as I was pretty busy for most of the day! I'm sure glad they are letting me work more.

One customer sticks out in my mind today.. the one who was talking quite loudly on his cell phone, and using quite choice words, too. He was offensive and the other customers around him were not real happy. He talked on his phone the entire time I was ringing up his items, but stopped long enough to ask if he could just leave his stuff at the checkout until his friend came to get them. I told him no. I can't be responsible for his stuff. So he took it all and went out to the parking lot to wait for his friend.

Well, he took MOST of his stuff. He left a big piece of ductwork sitting on the counter. The other customers were laughing because I TRIED to get his attention, but he was still talking on his phone. Oh well.

He came back about a half hour later to get it, still talking on his phone. People, pay attention! He was lucky someone else didn't just walk off with his big piece of square whatever it was. Sheesh!

I'm off tomorrow, so I will have to try to get this mispunch stuff figured out on Friday morning. I can't believe I spaced out two punches in a row!!

Only 20 days until TOMBSTONE!! Woot!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

michele - 2008-10-02 11:21:45
20 days till Tombstone? Holy cracky lacky! Where did that time go???? Anyway, that's interesting that you guys have to 'punch' in and out. Is it like an old-fashioned green machine thingy or is it just an expression for signing in on a computer? I just ask because those time clocks (while i think they're cool cuz they're vintage) are a little antiquated.
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-10-02 11:27:24
We have the same time clock issues. I didn't punch out last Fri PM and because it was the last day of the pay period, I didn't get paid for Fri. Guess I won't let that happen again. We have to fill out a slip, have it signed by a CSM, the Mgr and then take it to personnel and THEN log on to the computer in their office to enter the data after it's approved! And there is no forgetting it. When you slide your badge, it comes up on the screen "SEE PERSONNEL". I will certainly not be forgetting again! It was less work to get the job that it is to make up for a forgotten punch! LOL So far I haven't been 'spoken to' about any minutes over or short from my punches, but I always have to wade through a bunch of people to get to the time clock, that are waiting for the exact moment to clock in.
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-10-02 17:22:07
Good Gravy!! twenty days til Tomby??? Cripes I can't believe it's already coming up!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-10-02 18:26:46
maybe you need a little card to look at....DID YOU REMEMBER TO PUNCH IN OR OUT TODAY? lol Even though you have to go through a lot to get the time recorded, hopefully you will get paid ok.
-------------------------------
Joan - 2008-10-02 20:03:50
You should have used your two missed punches on the guy on the cell phone. That would have got his attention!
-------------------------------
mz. em - 2008-10-04 19:13:18
I remember the days of using the time clock. Some times I never thought about it other than getting in the building on time. You would get a talking to if you left too early or arrived too late (2 minutes). Use a sticky note to remind yourself, lol. People on cell phones in public places is a public nuisance just as they are in cars. Though California government passed a bill into law that you have to be hands free or no talkee. I still see some folks using hand-held phones. However, having a person using cuss words while they are talking on their phones need a good kick in the shins.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group