ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-13 ... 10:11 p.m.

previous - next

A box in the mail!!!

Sleepyjane said today that it was "delurker" day. I think I am going to post that for a week. It's time to leave a comment if you are not a regular commenter, so I can read you, or at least have an idea of who is reading me. You don't need an account to comment, just click on the kiss at the bottom of the page. Thanks!

And now for our regular programming....

It was another beautiful day here in sunny San Diego. It was about 70.. it would be a good time for my sisters who want to visit to come.. although I'm afraid by the time they get here it will be rainy and cooler. But hey, it would still be warmer than Wisconsin!

Anyway, I got my dishes done, and the carpet all vacuumed, and I was just playing Pogo when the doorbell rang. It was the postman, you know he only rings once. Heh. Anyway, he delivered a big box for me from DSis, and this was in it.

Photobucket

Sorry, but I doubt I will ever wear the pin that says "believe" but I can keep it where I will see it. The ornaments were new the year I was born, and if you look close you can see bears and baby things on them. DSis said she always thought of those as mine, since they were bought the Christmas I was an infant.

The pillow is made out of Dad's old ties. What a clever thing to do with them. He had so many of them, too! There was also a cute little snowman ornament, and a picture that I'm not sure DSis would want online, but it's laying there on the arm of the couch. Thanks, DSis!

Then I packed my lunch and went off to work. I was glad to work all afternoon, and most of the time it was busy enough to warrant me getting extra hours. It certainly was busy enough after about 4:30! I don't know how they would have managed with one less cashier, although working with the younger kids, there is usually a bunch of messing around that doesn't happen when the older cashiers or head cashiers are there. But I did get two more full days for next week! Woot!! I'm so glad people like taking time off, although I wish they would just give up their full time status if they don't want it!

Whatever. I was totally bummed when my phone died this afternoon. It ran out of charge, from the two phone calls I made this morning when I had to be on hold forever. Sheesh! I never thought to check the charge, and when I got to work, I realized I had NO bars in my battery icon. Ooops! I feel so lost without my phone!

And I have a dog-sitting job with Ruger and Zoe the shepherds in February. Every time I see a shepherd in the Depot of Home, I think of them. I can't wait, they were fun dogs to be around.

Don't forget to leave your comment!!! Even if it's just to say hi!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

30 comments so far

Erianne - 2009-01-14 07:29:14
Hi! I don't comment often, but I do read here daily. :)
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-01-14 07:54:43
I love what they did with your Dad's ties! It looks so chocolaty and yummy! And those ornaments don't even look that old! How nice of your sis to send them to you.
-------------------------------
wordy - 2009-01-14 08:42:20
I haven't commented in a while, but you know me. HI, anyway =)
-------------------------------
wordy - 2009-01-14 08:43:05
Hey! The captcha thing was "feeble-minded" How'd it know it was me?! ;)
-------------------------------
kayla - 2009-01-14 08:48:52
Hi
-------------------------------
momonroof - 2009-01-14 10:12:06
Dad's ties are so cool!
-------------------------------
Patty - 2009-01-14 11:31:13
Hi - Patty from PA here. Regular reader but no blog. Love the pillow - I swear my Dad had a tie just like that striped one in the middle.
-------------------------------
OrneryPest - 2009-01-14 11:35:42
Ahoy, mate! Delurking from the starboard side of the continent!
-------------------------------
michele - 2009-01-14 13:26:51
WOW! Until I read further, I thougt that pillow was something from like Pier One Imports. It's gorgeous! I can't believe it's made out of old ties. That is so darned cool! I love the ornaments, too.
-------------------------------
Ruth from SC - 2009-01-14 14:18:21
Hi....I've been reading you since your struggles in Wisconsin(?) and your story has kept me captivated. I'm so proud of you and impressed with how successfully you have re-written your life - go you!! Now you are the first blog I read every morning (don't tell K-Lo that she's #2...) I hope that my lurking didn't creep you out. I rarely comment, but always enjoy! Thanks for being one of the reasons I get up in the morning...well that an a IRS audit that is making me totally crazy! That's never happened to me before and it's nuts trying to find all the old receipts and get further "documentation" for the jerks! Give me a break..........
-------------------------------
scotvalkyrie - 2009-01-14 14:27:21
I never thought of using old ties to make a pillow, or any other quilting project. My grandfather had lots of magnificent ties, and I wonder if I could ask my MIL to quilt something wonderful out of them . . .
-------------------------------
gbw - 2009-01-14 14:36:47
That tie pillow is very cool... I may have to try that.
-------------------------------
Cindy - 2009-01-14 14:57:26
Hi from Mississippi!
-------------------------------
golfwidow - 2009-01-14 15:32:26
Shh. Don't tell Andrew I'm here. He told everyone I was a dirty spammer.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-01-14 15:52:43
What excellent gifties!
-------------------------------
margie - 2009-01-14 16:41:40
Hi. I rarely comment, but I, too, have followed you from WI and am glad you are happy in your new life. Oh, and I read every day too.
-------------------------------
blaze - 2009-01-14 16:50:16
Hi, I'm here! Happy Wednesday!
-------------------------------
Joan - 2009-01-14 16:52:07
I love the tie pillow idea. Gord wears ties with his uniform, usually black, with mustard and ketchup stains on them most of the time. I think I will just buy mine ... :)
-------------------------------
nccountry - 2009-01-14 16:59:35
hi. i read here everyday, pretty much but never comment, i don't really update my diary anymore but i wana try to start. i like reading all your stories, they are interesting! glad to read everythings goin' good!
-------------------------------
zucchini breath - 2009-01-14 17:34:57
I refuse to de-lurkify myself :) However, I do appreciate you updating every day all these years. I've been reading you since before the dude started high school or just when he started. Things have changed a lot for all of us but one thing stayed the same: You were awesome then and you're awesome now. Cheers! JJ
-------------------------------
sdg - 2009-01-14 17:53:29
Just visiting! :D
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-14 19:01:39
You know who I am and where I live by now! LOL Loved the package you received. The pillow is gorg-E-ous!!!!
-------------------------------
J in Indiana - 2009-01-14 20:01:18
Love reading about sunshine and warm days. We have lots of snow falling and it's so pretty!! Keep up the good work gal!
-------------------------------
reddwhine - 2009-01-14 21:20:18
Officially de-lurking.
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-01-14 22:32:20
That Dsis sure knows how to make good presents! It's 6 degrees here and I shoveled 1 inch of snow and it didn't even feel very cold--everything is relative especially the weather!
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-01-14 22:34:40
Dsis sure knows how to give sentamental presents! It's 6 degrees here and doesn't even feel that bad--everything is relative
-------------------------------
Paula G from Indiana - 2009-01-15 00:57:32
Hi Cocoabean! Love the ornaments. I have one from my childhood that is pink and says Silent Night on it..but the last time I saw it it looked rather old. (we haven't gotten Christmas stuff out in several years) I'm still sentimental about it though, as it brings back such good memories.
-------------------------------
DSis - 2009-01-15 03:28:26
Glad you liked the tie -- the MBro and Sis and PSis got one too. And I made one for myself. And, I'm glad the ornaments made it there intact! Merry [late] Christmas!
-------------------------------
Carol - 2009-01-15 04:21:15
No de-lurking here.
-------------------------------
mz. em - 2009-02-07 23:28:47
No de-lurking here other than catching up on my e-mail.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group