ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-10-05 ... 7:02 p.m.

previous - next

A long eight hours at work

All righty then. My day certainly did not turn out the way I expected. I was supposed to work 10-2, and then 4:30-8:30. When I checked today's schedule at work, they only had me down for 10-2. Norma worked this morning, so I went to work intending to ask if she still wanted me to work 4:30-8:30.

In between, I had planned to meet Poolie for coffee. We were going to do more plotting and planning for the Javelinahunt and I was really looking forward to it. So I was a bit bummed when Norma asked me to work 10-6:30. I grudgingly said yes, because I hate to turn down any hours when I'm so insistent on getting as many as I can.

But I would much rather have been drinking coffee with Poolagirl.

I hadn't packed a lunch, so I had to use my morning break to run over to the grocery store next door and get something to eat. Plus I would have worn different shoes if I'd known... but oh well. It turned out to be a pretty interesting day anyway.

I worked in garden with the kid who was hired a while ago and is a pain in the butt. I'm not sure I gave him a name, but he is the one who was hired to be a full-time greeter, and is a friend of one of the managers. I wrote about him before, and about thinking that he wouldn't last long. He about hung himself at work today.

He checked out a couple who had a LOT of big plants, and spent a couple of hundred dollars. I wasn't paying much attention to what he was doing or saying, since I was busy with my own customers. But the cashier kid was having trouble with some gift cards, so I helped him with that. As the customer left, he was telling the kid that "You have a lot to learn about customer service" and he said a few other things about the kid on his way out the door.

I ducked out my door and suggested to the man that he use the website listed on the bottom of the receipt to tell the Depot of Home exactly what kind of service he got, and why he felt the way he did. About 10 minutes later the customer came back in to talk to me, and told me he was overcharged. I called the head cashier, and she suggested he go to special services, and I wrote a note on his receipt to kind of ease his way into a refund. He was really angry!

So the kid will get a bad comment. Heh. Then, when one of the other cashiers was on a break, and I had about 4 people in my line, but he had none on his side, he closed his doors and took off his apron. I asked him where he was going, and he said "lunch". I told him he had to wait until the other cashier came back from her lunch, because there was no reason for him to leave then, and it would only be a few minutes. GRRRRRR. So instead of doing anything, he just stood there, until I told him to open his register back up and start checking out customers!

What a moron! I was about ready to wring his fat neck. He stood there for a couple more minutes until his manager friend brought out another cashier, and then they left. He was gone for lunch for at least 45 minutes, and he had at least that long of a morning break.

After lunch, Jason came out to take the kid inside, because by then I had complained to the head cashier about him trying to leave me alone while it was busy. I wasn't going to let that slide. While he was getting his till out of the register, he dropped a check a customer had written. I could have cooked his goose pretty well if I had just thrown the check in the garbage but I guess I'm just not that mean. I picked it up and handed it to Jason, and told him that Moron Boy dropped it. I hope he was sufficiently embarrassed to have dropped the check.

The rest of the day went ok, and one of the other ladies wants to redo my hair.. I just laughed and told her to go for it. I'm sick of it being long, and my roots are definitely showing, but since I pull it back most of the time no one can really tell... but I am ready to get it cut, that's for sure! She also gave me one of her days for the week when I only have 2 scheduled, so now I have 3. It might not be too hard to get up to 5 now...

I am glad to be home early, but still, I would have loved to have that break for coffee in the middle of my day.....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

Blue Opal - 2008-10-06 03:06:38
Grrr... Hopefully the kid gets busted and you get his hours. Yeesh.
-------------------------------
DSis - 2008-10-06 03:24:56
Send me a picture when you get your hair cut. I went shorter a couple of years ago [collar length] and love it!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-10-06 11:43:19
It just seems to me that the kids of that generation want things handed to them--- they don't appreciate what it means to have an opportunity to earn a paycheck, etc. i'm glad you made that comment to the customer. and, i also hope you get all the hours you want. oh, and yeah.. post before and after pics of your hair for us!!!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-10-06 13:27:05
moron boy will get his for sure. but i wonder, is manager friend covering up for him?
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-10-06 14:44:21
Haircut! Oh wow! How exciting! I am ALWAYS up for experimenting with hair (as you well know). When? I wanna come!
-------------------------------
Paula - 2008-10-07 01:37:52
Hi Nancy....I'm looking forward to a picture of that new hairdo.
-------------------------------
FairyGodMum - 2008-10-09 11:19:32
That kid ain't goin no where, especially since he's a friend of a manager. As a former manager, I've seen them hang on to idiots until they just stop showing up for work. I bet his mom got him that job and he resents having to work. BTW... where's that pic of the New Do? Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group