ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-29 ... 10:40 p.m.

previous - next

Mostly packed up to go!

I didn't work until 1:30 today, so that gave me plenty of time to play some Pogo and get some more packing done. I brought home two boxes from work yesterday and now I only have two small boxes left unpacked, but there isn't that much more to do. Most of the kitchen cupboards are empty... I only have a few dishes and all the utensils to pack, which really, won't take that long. I'm just about ready to go. Sunday when I get my key, I will take a few boxes over, unpack them, and bring them back, and that should just about do it. Plus I'm taking the majority of my closet over and just leaving a few clothes that I need. I plan on taking my laptop along and seeing if there is a network to tap into. Heh.

The movers won't be real happy about the weight of some of the boxes though. I did get the small bricks from my bookshelf in two small boxes, but 13 bricks weigh pretty much. Well, they should have a hand cart. I refuse to move anything that's really heavy myself, which is why I hired movers. Duh.

They called me yesterday to see what kind of big things I have, and really, the bed, dresser, couch and a big shelving unit is all I have for big stuff. It should go pretty fast, since either it's a piece of furniture, or if not, it's in a box. Moving goes much easier that way!

I even figured out what to do about my taxes this year. It�s a pain moving from state to state, plus my taxes aren�t easy to begin with.. so I just called the accountant for the store, who did all the taxes last year, and knows what�s up with everything, and he said he could do them! Woot! I�m only waiting for one more thing to come, and then I can copy everything and send it off to him. That�s a relief!

It must be a sign of the times that people are bringing in the crappiest shit they can find and asking for a refund on it. One lady admitted to me that she just cleaned out her garage and brought everything to the Depot to return it. She was sure she bought it all here... although most of it wasn't ours. It looked like it sat in her garage for years!

And another lady brought in a window blind that was dirty, old and had hair stuck to the bottom. "I know I bought it here, and it doesn't work!" Instead of trying to figure out what kind of blind it was, I just told her that without any of the packaging, or a receipt, she was out of luck.

That's not to say everyone is bringing in loads of crap, but contractors who have to complete inventory by the end of January are really trying to get rid of stuff. And inventory is money sitting around doing nothing.

We also seemed to get a lot of dead plants today. The Depot of Home guarantees plants for a year, with a receipt... so we get a lot of them back. But some people bring back plants that just aren't dead. Several plants looked pretty good to me, and I took them back, but then sent them to the garden area to go back out for sale.

My favorite special services person was working tonight, and she is fun to work with, so I had a good time. The last hour was a lot of walking around the store, taking carts back, and then filling buckets (don't ask) to use up the time till 10 when I could punch out and leave. Yes, tired tonight. I realized I haven't had a day off since last Thursday, so that's 8 days in a row. No wonder my feet hurt!

I didn't manage to get any extra hours for next week, but I think I'll wait until Saturday, or else call in and check on Monday. I'm guessing there will be hours to pick up, and I just need to be patient.

What I really need is to go to bed.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

2 comments so far

yankeechick - 2009-01-30 13:44:24
Packing and moving is such a pain, even when for a good reason. I'm glad you are making such quick work of it. Sounds like it will go smoothly :) I still haven't been trained to work returns and hopefully I can avoid it. I don't think I'd like it much....
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-30 20:58:55
I can understand why contractors would be returning stuff due to inventory and wanting to cut their taxes but I am shocked...yes...shocked...that some people would bring in junk from their garage or stuff they don't want anymore and expect to get any kind of credit back. I wouldn't have the nerve.... Good luck on the move, I hope it goes fast and easy and you enjoy the new place.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group