ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-09 ... 4:11 p.m.

previous - next

Moving out of Poolie's

Woot! The toilet is installed in my apartment, and Mr Fix-It is there working on the sink, the shower doors, the kitchen sink and the gas stove. I can live with that! So tonight will be my first night in my new place. How exciting!

I am so very grateful to Poolagirl and Roomie for allowing me to live with them while my place is getting fixed up. I know I will miss them, but it's time for me to fly solo. This grasshopper has wings!

Now all I need is a job. I applied (in person!) for two, and found that the other two I wanted to apply for have to be applied for online. I went to one of the museums in Balboa Park to volunteer there (in hopes of it turning into a job) but it is closed on Mondays. Oh well.

I bought some jack fruit yesterday, and cooked that up this afternoon. It smells good, but doesn't seem like it could be eaten raw. I'm just waiting for it to cool off before I try eating any. Poolie and I went to an Asian market yesterday where we found it, among other things that were pretty interesting.. like whole eels, and squid, and live crab you could pick out of a tub. Not that I would pick any... ewwwwwww. I understand why Poolie is a vegetarian now.

We went to our favorite Mexican restaurant last night with a friend of Poolie's who is leaving town for the weekend. I will be dogsitting at her apartment, since Poolie has a very busy work weekend and won't be able to handle both jobs. That will give Mr Fix-It all weekend to put the finishing touches on my place.

So I'm just hanging out here at Poolie's, since Mr Fix-It doesn't work well with an audience. I am getting my things packed up.. I've enjoyed the time I've spent here, and it's kind of sad to be leaving, but I need to move forward. There are still a lot of things that need to be packed and organized at my house, and I'm sure that will keep me busy while I wait for all my applications to have some kind of effect.

OOoooo and I almost forgot, I got my California driver's license in the mail today! Now I really feel like I belong!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

15 comments so far

art - 2008-06-09 23:46:00
congratulations on getting the california drivers licence!!! that was FAST!!!! i know you will get a job real fast, too!!
-------------------------------
Rosalee - 2008-06-09 23:58:02
Hey! Wow, I didn't know that you could get a license in the mail. I'm really excited for you. This is a great start for a new life! I loved your cable guy story. I try to laugh at things like that, in the past I would freak out. My new motto is, "It's an adventure." You've already had several adventures in California. Keep smiling and laughing! With all my love!!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-06-10 00:29:16
Will miss you, kid! But I understand your need to have your own place.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-10 00:58:59
Congrats on the new digs!!!! What a wonderful start to your new life!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-06-10 01:39:58
Hooray for working toilets! I think I'm married to mine right now...or at least my ASS is! And Art is right, that was VERY fast for the DMV! Maybe one day they will get as good as Arizona, and actually issue them right then and there!
-------------------------------
fightn4life - 2008-06-10 01:57:37
Wow, flying solo and you sound so grounded. Wonder what is wrong with me. Wrong planet??? I am thrilled for you, I think I'd be 100% veggie too, I am almost. Meat...ugh Sandyz
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-06-10 02:22:38
I'm so happy and excited for you!! **hug**
-------------------------------
Shear - 2008-06-10 03:10:06
Beanie knows jack fruit. Heh. I love reading about your adventures and your new apartment.
-------------------------------
mpecock - 2008-06-10 03:15:19
:)
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-10 03:51:07
Ooooh, moving in is the BEST thing. Good for you!!!
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-06-10 03:59:54
SUCH great news that you are getting into your new digs! Very exciting indeed! Bummer about the museum being closed but hey, there's always tomorrow. Guess you are spose to be back there at another time eh? And good luck with those interviews. The right job will come your way! Jackfruit.....now that is one I've never heard of. Sounds.....ummm....strange! I'll be curious to hear how it ends up tasting!
-------------------------------
Holly - 2008-06-10 10:42:18
congrats on your own place. I bet it will feel nice to have a place you can call your own. Good luck on the job hunt, it will happen, especially with your skills and experience. Cheers
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-06-10 12:01:48
Wow! Such good things! The license is very cool. I am in awe of your efficiency. Your new life marches steadily forward in a way I couldn't manage in a zillion years. I get where I'm going eventually but wish I had a bit of your drive and organization and follow-through. Best wishes for a sweet life in your new place! ~LA
-------------------------------
Marna - 2008-06-10 18:08:05
You haven't lived until you have had fresh, crab, and lobster cooked of course:) I am really proud of you:):):)
-------------------------------
sis - 2008-06-10 22:50:33
Just think you could still be looking for an apartment, I think you are ahead of schedule, since you have only been out out there less than 2 weeks. I think you are doing fine. Don't stress about it. Good luck finding a job, I know that will fall into place too.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group