ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-02-05 ... 5:39 p.m.

previous - next

Moving is over!!!

Well the moving is done. Mostly. As of this writing, there are still a few cacti at the old house, and a couple things left in the fridge/freezer. I still have to go over there and finish cleaning, but both bedrooms are vacuumed, and half the living room. The bathroom is totally cleaned, and I�m just passing time here waiting for the cable guy.

The movers came about 8:20, and it took them an hour to load stuff up, and a little less to unload. But with double traveling time they ended up charging me for 2.25 hours. With a tip, it ended up being just about what I figured I would spend. Believe me, watching them struggle with my couch made it worth EVERY penny. My back is worth much more than that!

So I have my bed made, my clothes arranged in the closet, and my bookshelves set up and filled with books. I have a big shelving unit that I put in the bedroom until I get the living room arranged. I�m not sure where will be its final destination, so for now, it�s in the bedroom.

This brought back memories. When the ex and the kids and I moved to the �burbs, Kid was 4 and Dude was about 1. We moved from a three bedroom apartment to a three bedroom house. We lived very near a park, which was the elementary school playground. We also had movers move everything, which was really, really nice. They loved the fact that I didn�t pack most of my stuff in garbage bags. Heh.

Anyway, the house was filled with boxes, since we were kind of stuffed into that little apartment. We moved on a Saturday, and spent the first day getting the bedrooms situated and acclimating a bit to the neighborhood. I know we went out to eat, because nothing had been unpacked in the kitchen.

So on Monday, when the ex went back to work, and I was home all day with the kids, I spent the day emptying boxes that were in the living room, and I had the living and dining rooms all set; no boxes anywhere, all the furniture arranged, and everything put away, which included putting my books on the built-in bookshelf that was in the living room. Putting the books away got rid of the majority of the boxes, and only took an hour or so.

Plus I had two kids to entertain and feed. We went to check out the park, and walk a little around the neighborhood just so they could burn off some energy. We went grocery shopping and stopped at a Baskin-Robbins for a little treat. We ALL took a nap!

I was pretty proud of myself, for having two rooms looking so nice, and thought that the ex would be happy that he could just come home and relax, have a nice dinner in the dining room at the table, and have two rooms he could chill in with NO boxes to look at.

Instead, he came home and was angry that I had filled the bookcase with books, since he didn�t want them there. (He wanted me to �get rid� of them, he didn�t care where). I mean, if you have several hundred paperbacks, and a whole wall of bookshelves, what ELSE would you put there?? His statement to me was �The kids will always remember moving here, and how selfish you were that you put your BOOKS away first, and didn�t even bother to put the silverware in the drawer!�

The silverware was on the counter in the kitchen. I picked it up in the tray, tossed it in the drawer, and said, �There, now it�s put away. Is that better?? And the kids are too young to be concerned about the silverware, and I doubt they will even remember it.�

Of course, he had spent a couple of hours in the local pub before he came home, so I guess I should have expected that. I had to laugh today though, while I was putting my books away and thinking about just how selfish I am being. Yes, I selfishly moved away to live my own life, and I selfishly moved and packed and did all the work, like I did when we moved to the �burbs, and to Cowtown, and amazingly enough, there is no one here to yell at me about it!

And I asked Kid one day if she remembered moving, and she said no. She vaguely remembered the kids who used to live above us in the apartment, but most of her memories are of us already in that house. Dude was only 1, so I�m sure he doesn�t remember moving.

Ahhh good, the cable guy is here. Be back later!


All rightie then! The cable guy came and hooked up the TV and computer so I am good to go! After he left, I went back to my old place to pick up all the rest of my junk and finish vacuuming and scrub the kitchen floor. Not a fun job, but I'm done.

I stopped for Chinese food on my way home because I was starving, and it was on the way. Now I'm full, and really really tired. It's been a long day, and I didn't have a whole lot of sleep last night (cause I worked till 10, got to sleep at midnight, and up at 6:30). So I'm just going to figure out why my speakers on the computer aren't plugged in, and then relax for the rest of the night. Yeah, pooped!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

20 comments so far

Rosie - 2009-02-06 02:17:39
Hooray for the new place! I can't wait to come over and visit you there, you horribly selfish woman! I can't believe that the ex would have bitched about you putting your books in the book case! And not having gotten around to putting away the silverware. If it had been me in that situation, I'd have likely sung him this song...

Were you born an asshole?

Or did you work at it your whole life?

Either way it worked out fine

'cause you're an asshole tonight.

You are so lucky to be free of him!
-------------------------------
gbw - 2009-02-06 02:30:10
Enjoy the new place and be happy with the books on the shelf and the silverware on the counter... Men, a bunch of jerks (most of them, anyway)
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2009-02-06 02:33:35
Hooray for you!! It must be such a good feeling to have that over. Relax and enjoy :)
-------------------------------
Carol - 2009-02-06 02:55:10
I LOVE the fact that you tossed the silverware in the drawer. I think I would have thrown a knife at him first!! Oh yeah, I did do that to the first one. Glad you'll be able to get some rest.
-------------------------------
Starkitten01 - 2009-02-06 03:00:00
It will never cease to amaze me how F***ed men can be. You are SO much better off - and I'm willing to bet happier!- on your own with no one around to give you crap over things that never should have been an issue in the first place! You didn't deserve that. You had *every* right to have those books in the bookshelf! I am so excited for you with your new place! Thinking of you! <3*hugs*
-------------------------------
Miss Hiss - 2009-02-06 03:07:23
See, what you should have done was got the silverware and thrown it all at him -- pointy sides first -- and told him to learn some fucking manners. And that he'd better pick up the silverware, wash it and put it away -- neatly -- when he'd pulled it out of his head and/or vital organs. And that he'd better not bleed all over the floor or you'd do it again. (And that he'd better build you even more bookshelves, RIGHT NOW.) Love, R xxx
-------------------------------
wordy - 2009-02-06 03:09:13
Freedom, baby! Happiness is only having the asshole you were born with and not an extra one to live with!
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-02-06 03:38:35
Congrats on the move! You sure were fast and efficient. I hope you love the place.
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2009-02-06 07:57:19
Like my Momma use to say, when I would whine about wanting a boyfriend like all the other girls, Honey, there are worse things than being alone! Your X proves that fact.
-------------------------------
Patty - 2009-02-06 11:18:49
My ex was just like that. Never a compliment, only a complaint. You're doing a great job, and you should be proud of yourself. You sure floor us!!
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2009-02-06 12:15:10
Drunks are like that. They take their faults and project them onto others. I'm amazed at everything you accomplished in one day. I hope you love your new place.
-------------------------------
margie - 2009-02-06 14:07:53
Once again, I want to tell you the admiration I have for you to be bold and strong enough to get rid of the x and move on to happiness. You bring a smile to my face.
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2009-02-06 14:21:43
YAY for you - and consider yourself patted on the back! So glad you are in a much happier place. Happy new home!
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2009-02-06 14:32:19
Thanks for reminding me. My husband never understood about books either, but his take would have been entirely different. He would put the "silverwares" away himself. He would carry out the boxes. Then he would ask about supper. He drank about two beers a *year*.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-02-06 15:19:50
Books and stereos ALWAYS go up first! Didn't he know the rules?
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2009-02-06 15:23:31
Seriously, what's more important than books??? And besides, it's a quick way to make at least something look orderly, and get rid of TONS of boxes at the same time. I say books are a priority, and it's not like your kids would STARVE if you hadn't unpacked the silverware yet! Geez!!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-02-06 18:09:08
people like that always have to find fault..if it hadn't been the books; it would have been why wasn't the entire house unpacked and put away....you are so much better off and now you have your new cozy place to get used to. Hope you have time to enjoy it this weekend or whenever your next time off work comes along.
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-02-07 00:09:19
How sad to be so excited about all you did during the dayto have a crab come home and spoil your work!
-------------------------------
Wyndspirit - 2009-02-07 01:41:50
I'm so excited for you! And movers are so much worth every single penny!!! As for books... I don't even want to THINK about moving the thousands of mine!
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2009-02-07 01:42:44
How GREAT is it that you don't have to deal with his assholery anymore!! Yes, that IS a word!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group