ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-12-07 ... 3:22 p.m.

previous - next

The rest of last night, and a drive

Kid and I stayed at Rebecca's last night until the band took their break, and then we left. They were ok, not great, so it wasn't like we really wanted to stay. Plus there were some young (age 10) girls in there squealing and it got to be a bit annoying...

We walked around a bit more. It was a beautiful night, so we enjoyed it. There were lots of bands playing, not just Zoo-2:

Photobucket

There was the San Diego Mandolin Orchestra:

Photobucket

They reminded me a lot of the community band on the old Andy Griffith show. Heh.

Then there was this band playing out on the street:

Photobucket

They were a jazz band, and quite good. I enjoyed listening to them play.

By then, all the shops had their stuff out, and were open. Kid and I both walked through the shops and wondered how much stuff was being shoplifted. I know it's a horrible thought, but I guess that's what happens when you work in a store. This is what the streets looked like:

Photobucket

Yes, crowded. I was very careful to watch where I was stepping. The sidewalks are uneven and it would have been easy to trip or twist an ankle. Sheesh! I feel old, having to watch where I'm stepping so carefully!

And there was another display that was pretty....

Photobucket

Too bad the chain link fence was in the way. I couldn't take the picture from the other side of the street because it was way too busy. Kid and I came home about 9:30. That's the latest we've been up since she got here! I actually stayed up until about midnight, but Kid was sleeping by about 10. Wild, aren't we??

Today we had breakfast, and then I took her for a ride through the mountains. She has seen the Rockies, but these are pretty impressive. It was a fun trip, just over 2 1/2 hours there and back. I love looking at the rocks, and it's too bad there aren't many places to pull over and stop. I could sit there all day.

We got back to town and did some grocery shopping, since my fridge was almost empty. I think I had 2 eggs, a stick of butter and about a cup of milk, along with some water and a bag of coconut. Yeah, that would be some interesting meals.

So we have just been hanging around this afternoon, and are going to Souplantation for supper. Yum!!

Kid can't believe how much she is sleeping. I can. She doesn't get that much sleep at home, although she tells me she is usually in bed by 10. Vacations are for rest and relaxation. Destressing is hard work, and she is doing a lot of that. I will send her back home, and by Christmas she will be wired up again. She is already planning a trip back in May, with a bunch of her friends. I will have my house full!! It will be a lot of fun though, and I'm looking forward to it!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

9 comments so far

purple chai - 2008-12-08 00:37:06
If you ever come across a musician named Jefferson Jay, it's my nephew. I know San Diego is quite large so he may be active in another part of the city, but I know he organizes and performs in a lot of concerts there.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-12-08 00:43:49
A mandolin orchestra?! How cool!!!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-12-08 00:45:38
the xmas tree pic is the best!! i, too think about how many shoplifters our LP has caught!! and believe me they catchem!
-------------------------------
Diane - 2008-12-08 10:31:23
It sounds wonderful. I love San Diego but never experienced it during Christmas. I just remember the zoo and that was something else.
-------------------------------
cardiogirl - 2008-12-08 11:32:11
I love that imagery: "They reminded me a lot of the community band on the old Andy Griffith show." And I like the artsy quality of the Xmas trees through the chain link fence. It would probably look really cool in black and white. Every photo looks cool and artsy in b&w, don't you think?
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-12-08 15:42:22
Those mountains are majestic all right. I just love them!
-------------------------------
Terri t - 2008-12-08 16:32:26
It's wonderful that the Kid has a place to go to destress. I remember a trip to visit our relatives in Colorado. I slept from Indiana to their house with only breaks for food and bathrooms...and sleeping in a motel one night. Hope you both continue to enjoy your time together.
-------------------------------
stepfordtart - 2008-12-08 17:23:48
Coconut custard? Ever resourceful, me!
-------------------------------
boxx9000 - 2008-12-09 02:25:10
I heard some plane crashed in San Diego today. Was that anywhere near you?
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group