ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-02-02 ... 6:27 p.m.

previous - next

A quick trip to work with no coffee!

I had the day off today. Actually, I had only three scheduled days to work this week, and two of them were only for 4.5 hours. I picked up two more days, so I wasn't doing too bad on the hours situation. I decided to call in this morning and see if they had hours for me. If not, I was just going to spend some time at the other place and unbox all my kitchen stuff and get some things organized.

I woke up at 6:30, but whoever answered the phone couldn't find the head cashier, so I just decided to go back to sleep and call in later. I didn't really get back to sleep, so I called again at 6:53, when I was told that someone had called in sick, and I could come in and work all day. Hooray!

I got there at 7:30! I took a shower, packed a lunch, and flew to work. Anyway I started out on the front end, and it was kind of slow. But whoever was outside in the "event" needed to come in, so I got sent out there.

The "event" is a huge part of the parking lot fenced off and filled with lawn and patio furniture, umbrellas, gazebos and that kind of thing. I didn't go out there last year, since I was too new and wouldn't have been able to be that independant.

I was out there for about two hours, and in that time I sold one umbrella and four chairs. At least they had a chair for me to sit down! I texted a bit with bluesleepy while she was in the San Jose airport. Thanks, Blue, for keeping me entertained! I actually think I might have gotten a bit of a suntan started from those two hours.

There was this guy out there whose horn on his truck kept going off, and he finally just disconnected it. I was glad, because I was getting a headache. Then I realized my headache was more likely due to having no coffee or breakfast than the stupid horn. Plus the really bright sun.

They brought me in for lunch, and it had gotten really busy inside the store. I stayed inside then, and never had less than three customers in my line all afternoon! It was unbelievably busy, and I had a pile of paperwork that I had to finish, but no time to do it.

Norma let me stay 15 minutes overtime because she really didn't want to let me go home before a couple more people came in and got set up. I told her I would gladly stay longer, but she said she thought they could handle it. Oh well. 15 minutes is better than nothing!

And Norma extended my short day on Wednesday to 8 hours, and got rid of my short day on Thursday, since she knows that's moving day. They had taken me off that day last week, but somehow I got put back on. I told her I could work, but again, no OT allowed.

I bought a few things for my new place (a fire extinguisher and a plunger) and stopped there just to check things out. I went to the local Von's (grocery) just to see what they had, and I found some things there I need for lunch the next two days. So now I'm ready...

I plan on getting some things done around here tomorrow, at least during the early part of the day, and then heading off to work from my new place. I work closing, so I don't start until 1:30. I'm not looking forward to summer, when the store is open until 10PM, then closing shift will start at 2:30. I know Norma likes to have me close because she knows I can handle returns at night. I would do it all the time if she would just give me full time, and a set schedule so I could make some plans. Well, we'll see. I hate to be too demanding, because I really like having a job!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

Rosie - 2009-02-03 04:37:32
I'll wager that something like that might be coming your way soon, someone has to do it, why not you?
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-02-03 20:02:56
it might be worth talking to her about it. It seems like they try to give you as many hours per week as they can so..... Good luck with the move...only a few more hours....
-------------------------------
For-Tart - 2009-02-03 21:18:46
Hope you enjoy the new place. I'll stop by for coffee one of these lifetimes.
-------------------------------
Paula - 2009-02-04 03:20:00
Sigh...you're out in the sun selling umbrellas and patio chairs and I'm inside freezing because I have an old drafty house and it's 7 degrees outside....come on...I know you miss it...NOT!!!
-------------------------------
Crystal Balls - 2009-02-04 03:23:28
As frustrating as it may occasionally be, you have the right idea in being grateful for your job. There are more people out of work every day :(
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group