ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-22 ... 7:04 p.m.

previous - next

A crappy day out in garden

The band that played last night at Rebecca's wasn't as good as I had hoped, but it was nice to get out and just relax with a group of people. It's a nice place to just chill out.

Today I worked out in garden. I was glad that I remembered to grab my jacket on the way out the door, because it was rainy this morning, and quite windy and cold this afternoon. Blue was the same as yesterday, and I can tell you, it is wearing a bit thin. I said something about moving the heater, and she got all huffy about it, to which I replied, "It's not bolted to the floor, it can be moved if necessary." So now she knows where I stand.

A kid was out there with a balloon, which popped. I knew it was a balloon, because I saw the kids come in with them. When it popped, Blue got all frantic and ran over to my register, wanting to know what broke, and she left her customers just standing there, when I was on that side, and had it under control. I just looked at her and told her it was a balloon, and that she needed to chill out. I don't think she's liking me too much today.

The cashier who was supposed to be out there until 8 decided that the cramps she was having were bad enough that she went home at 4:15.. which meant that I was out in garden alone until 5:45. They only brought someone out because I was going home. I was not at all happy by that time, and I think Norma and I need to have a chat about what goes on in the evening out there.

I called in to tell the HC at 5:08 (I print a slip on the computer so I know what times things happen) that I needed $1 and $5 bills. I didn't get them. I called again at 5:20 when I ran out of $5 bills, and I was told to "make do" because it would be ten minutes or so before the HC could get out there to give me any. Well.. guess what. My next customer got $9 in change, so then I had NO $1 bills, either. I called in and told the HC that I was out of change, and I was told again to "make do". HOW?? The next customer heard me say that I was out of 1s, so he gave me $22 for his $6.42 bill.... but I had no $5s either, so I couldn't give him change. He had to put it on his card. I was angry and upset that they put me in that position.

And just to set the record straight, at 4:00 I checked to see what I needed, and I had $42 in ones, $60 in 5s, and 2 $10 bills. I'm going to ask Norma how much I need in ones and fives to keep this from happening to me.. and I'm thinking I might need to have extra pennies and quarters, too. It will be hell for the back office to have to count it all every morning, but I will do what I have to. And if I start pulling all that change early enough in the day, and sending most of it back, they might just notice that and wonder what's going on.

Not to mention the fact that I always had at least 4 customers in line, and that one of the HCs walked past there on a break, which I couldn't get again because there was no one inside to give me one. That is another issue that I am going to raise with Norma. I don't mind skipping now and then, but this is getting to be a habit, called "take advantage because she won't complain".

So my day started out ok except for the weather, but then went downhill. I can see that I'm not going to enjoy garden very much this summer if I'm out there past 4PM. I'm hoping to get this resolved tomorrow, since I work outside until 8PM on Tuesday. Fun. Not.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

Cosmic - 2009-03-23 03:07:53
Wow, I am trying to catch up with everyone. I guess I picked the wrong day to catch up with you, haha!
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2009-03-23 11:34:37
I hope this week turns out better than your weekend did. That's the problem for us easygoing folk. People get too used to us being ok with everything. Periodical reminders that we're nice, not doormats, tend to needed. ;o)
-------------------------------
zucchini breath - 2009-03-23 12:55:01
Not that I am suggesting this, but... I remember being a manager/head cashier at GW, running out of change, the only manager on duty, grabbing a floor person, "watch the reg, don't let anyone get away w/o paying, be right back," then running frantically up and down the block trying to buy $1s from neighboring businesses. Ahh, good times... Cashiering is a thankless task. Lower than motel maid, even. She controls your towels. Cashiers got nothing and the customers know it
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-03-23 14:35:31
Sorry your day went to shit!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-03-23 17:53:39
Sounds like it is definitely time for a COME TO JESUS meeting. I am sure you are right; you do your work and don't complain so they take advantage of you. And missing your breaks so often isn't right.....
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group