ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-10-20 ... 8:28 p.m.

previous - next

Cashier olympics, and catching a thief

I had quite an awesome day on Sunday at work. I worked inside, and it was pretty busy, so the day went really fast. We close at 8 on Sundays, and I was the last cashier open, so while everyone else was getting things ready for the cashier olympics thingie, I was still working.

The management bought pizza, breadsticks, candy and cookies (and soda and water) for our olympic banquet. We had done the olympic things during the week, so there wasn't really anything left to do. October is cashier appreciation month, so this is management's way of thanking us.

I was VERY surprised to find out that I tied for third place in the olympics!! I get to go to the district olympic meet now, and see how that works. I got a little paperweight plaque thingie and a pin for my apron that says "cashier of the month". Woot!!

And as an extra "bonus" for the day, a customer gave me his Obama pin when I commented on it. I don't think I'm supposed to wear it at work, so I will just have to wear it to Tombstone.

I am slowly getting things done in preparation for Tombstone. I have to make a trip to the bank, and pack, but otherwise, my house is clean, my laundry is done, and I am ready to roll! ONE more day of work! What a wonderful feeling!

Today at work I was out in the garden area. It was pretty cool out there. I could have worn a long-sleeved shirt, but the one I had on was fine. I wasn't really cold, but I wouldn't say I was warm, either. It was cold enough outside that you could tell how warm the store was when you went back in. Tomorrow I will look for a warmer shirt.

I started today at 11:30. I had a customer fairly early who just made me nervous. He had a contract from the special services department for 40 bags of stones. He wanted to take 12 out, and I was supposed to just keep track of these bags, and he was going to come and go and take them a few at a time.

I KNOW that isn't the way things are done. I called Special Services, and they said he had to take the bags to their desk. He got mad, and yelled at me that he wanted to talk to a manager, so I sent him inside and called a manager to meet him at Special Services. It wasn't long, and he was back outside with a sheet saying that he was taking 12 bags. OK.

He came back later to get more. He bought a set of wrenches or something, and when he went out the door, the security alarm beeped. I know I checked to see if the wrenches were "magnetized" so I stopped him and made him come back in to see if that was what set off the alarm. It wasn't.

He had a calculator in between the sheets of the Special Services papers that he brought back in with him. I asked him if he had the receipt for the calculator, and he said it was in his truck. You see, he was going to return it because the package had been opened. And he wondered why it didn't set off the alarm when he entered the store with it at the main door.

I found a couple problems with his explanation. First, the returns desk is at the front door. Had he entered with it to return it, he should have done it then. I believe it didn't beep when he went in because he didn't carry it in.. I think he picked it up in the store and was trying to steal it. Besides the fact that the receipt WASN'T in his truck, so he said he must have left it at home.

I was supposed to go to lunch. One of the other cashiers told him it would be at special services waiting for him to come back and pick it up when he brought in his receipt, since he had to go back there to get the rest of his bags of stones, which he didn't pick up today.

Score one for me. Heh.

I'm waiting to see if he comes in tomorrow for his bags of stones, and tries to get his calculator back. I really doubt he has a receipt.

One of the security guys came out to garden about 7:30 and asked when I was closing. He said he doesn't like having us out there so late, since the open door is a liability, and with it dark so early, he is worried that the garden area would get robbed. I told him that thought has already crossed my mind (which is just another reason I like being in returns better!). I closed up about 15 minutes later, so he was happy then.

And so was I cause I got to come home! Woot!! Time for a little snack, and then a good book in my nice cozy bed. It's chilly out tonight, so no open windows for me, at least in the bedroom!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

12 comments so far

Rosie - 2008-10-21 04:13:39
Jiminy! You've barely been there for three months and already you got third place!!?? WOW!
As for the Obama button, sadly, not many people here have one to be able to snag it!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2008-10-21 04:28:33
WOW! You cut your hair and look what all happens! Getting awards, catching criminals, next thing you know you'll be leaping tall buildings in a single bound. You go California Girl!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-10-21 10:48:11
WOW!!!! You go with yo' baaaad self, girlfriend! *snap* Third place in the Cashier Olympics. Nice! You are just cruisin' on up that career ladder!
-------------------------------
Erianne - 2008-10-21 11:12:41
Congrats on third place AND catching a bad guy!
-------------------------------
Shear - 2008-10-21 11:44:27
Yay for 3rd place!
-------------------------------
words-4-less - 2008-10-21 12:15:24
I tried to get an Obama button online, but once I entered all my info, it said it would take six weeks to arrive. Yeah, just in time for AFTER the elections!!!! LOL
-------------------------------
DSis - 2008-10-21 12:17:07
Congratulations on 3rd place. Have a great time in Tombstone�you deserve it!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-10-21 14:52:45
You rock! We leave in 24 hours! OMG!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-10-21 17:15:21
Congratulations on third place! That's AWESOME! And now you're catching thiefs to boot. I told you HD wouldn't know what hit them when you started working there! ;o)
-------------------------------
Sis - 2008-10-21 23:56:07
Way to go on third place. I'm sure your previous store experience makes you aware of how devious people can be. Have fun in Tombstone!
-------------------------------
kim - 2008-10-22 10:10:35
Congrats!! Way to go, girlfriend! Enjoy your time at Tombstone. Maybe someday I can go?????
-------------------------------
requiel - 2008-10-22 21:27:51
That is beyond awesome. Congrats! Way to go for being so alert and suspicious of that guy. Well done!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group