ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-17 ... 5:45 p.m.

previous - next

Time to be moving on!

Well folks, it looks like the Beanie show is going on the road again. Not a very long road, just to Louisiana. Street, that is. I am finding this apartment a bit too expensive for me, and although I can pay the rent and the bills, that's about it. I'm tired of not having an extra $20 to spend now and then, so I have declared that I am moving.

It all started with my looking at some of the ads on Craig's list, and in the San Diego Reader. There are lots of places for a lot less than I am paying, and in nice areas of San Diego.

I mentioned this to Poolie (who got a totally weird look on her face when I announced "I'm moving" until I told her I wasn't moving back to Wisconsin!) and Poolie found a listing for a cute little cottage in North Park... little being the operative word here. VERY little. Cute, sure, but when my couch won't fit in the door, I don't think it's the place for me. Besides, there was nowhere to put any of my plants and we just can't have that.

I looked at that cottage this morning. From there, I came back home and looked in the Reader and called a few numbers, and one of them was a property management place, who gave me a bunch of addresses in my price range to look at. They all have lockboxes on the doors, and the numbers were all the same, so I went to look at them.

I found one I really liked, on Oregon Street. Big, on the first level, locked common courtyard, and looked very clean. I decided out of all of them, I liked that one the best. I couldn't find the lock box on one of the other properties, so I just skipped that one. The rest were either not the right location, too small, or not really what I wanted.

I took a break and had coffee with Poolie, who was also taking a break between jobs. We sat in the sun and drank our coffees and just enjoyed having time to spend together. At least I enjoyed it!

I called the property company, and the lady said that I would need to fill out an application and bring pay stubs to prove that I earn 2.5 times the rent. Which I don't. Kid is paying me back for the car loan I gave her, so we had her fax a statement in to that effect and I paid my $30 for a credit check. (My credit score is an 802, which is pretty high, and the lady said that in 5 years she's only seen one other that was over 800!)

It's first come, first served, and I got there about a minute before someone else who came for the same property. Good thing I have a lead foot! Anyway, she asked if I saw the property on Louisiana Street, which I hadn't. I explained about the lock box, and she had me go back to check after I left the office, cause she didn't like the thought that there was no lock box there.

I did go back to check, and realized that I had been at XX25, when I was really looking for XX52!! I got the key out of the lock box, and went into the apartment, and.. awesome! Not only is it bigger, but there is a built-in bookshelf, it's NEXT to the laundry facilities (which are free) and just around the side of the building is my OFF STREET parking spot! That might even save me money on my car insurance! And definitely will save me money on laundry! Woot!!

So I called her back, let her know that I did indeed see and prefer that place, and I'm hoping to hear from her Monday or Tuesday. She said with that credit score, it's likely I'm in! Yay!!

She also asked how I managed that high of a score, and I told her that Mom and Dad taught us well. And that's really the reason. So thanks to Mom and Dad!

I know she plans on calling my landlord, so I'm reasonably certain he knows I'm moving. I will give him 30 days notice like I'm supposed to, and I plan on sending it certified mail, or even just handing it to him myself, so he can't say he didn't get it. (Although, I really doubt he would. He seems like an honorable man for the most part.)

I was going to make myself a nice supper, but I got home too late, and I really feel like celebrating. I think I'll treat myself to food at Rebecca's while I wait for Tom Baird to start playing his guitar. It's just too bad I have to work at 6:30 tomorrow.... but it won't be the first day I'll be tired at work!

So everyone keep their fingers crossed that I get the place on Louisiana. A little praying might not hurt, either.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

30 comments so far

Natalie - 2009-01-18 02:16:58
Good luck!!!!
-------------------------------
Miss Hiss - 2009-01-18 02:46:45
How exciting! It sounds perfect. I'm sending you all my best "You're in!" thoughts, Miss Nancypants. Love, R xxx
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-01-18 02:48:42
Louisiana or bust!
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2009-01-18 03:00:58
That sounds awesome! Here's hoping it works out perfectly for you! **hugs**
-------------------------------
Sis - 2009-01-18 03:03:37
We'll keep our fingers crossed, sounds exciting. Keep us "posted"!!
-------------------------------
DSis - 2009-01-18 03:23:37
Good luck on the new place!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-01-18 03:32:44
The Louisiana place sounds great, and I know that Oregon Street is also a wonderful neighborhood...since my Alma Mater is on that street! Either way, best of luck on getting what is best for you!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-01-18 04:02:16
Wow, that sounds awesome!! I sure hope you get that nice, new place -- and the cheaper rent will really make things easier on you. I've got my fingers crossed!
-------------------------------
kim - 2009-01-18 04:39:48
Fingers crossed! It sounds perfect!
-------------------------------
Carol - 2009-01-18 04:45:09
Cool beans!
-------------------------------
Cosmic - 2009-01-18 04:53:55
Fingers crossed.
-------------------------------
Wyndspirit - 2009-01-18 07:25:05
Yes, good luck!!!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2009-01-18 08:44:55
Louisianna??? Now your gonna have to practice your southern accent... southern california that is! Fur shur dude.....
-------------------------------
nccountry - 2009-01-18 14:25:37
Good Luck!
-------------------------------
purple chai - 2009-01-18 14:29:34
Sounds great! Good luck!
-------------------------------
Patty - 2009-01-18 15:14:33
Fingers are crossed for you - good luck!
-------------------------------
Ruth from SC - 2009-01-18 16:21:51
That's so exciting......I love moving!! It's like a whole fresh slate to work with in decorating. My guess is that the place will definitely be yours!
-------------------------------
art - 2009-01-18 17:21:41
top of the chart credit score, you cant go wrong there! free laundry AND built in book case!!! you a shoo-in!
-------------------------------
momonroof - 2009-01-18 17:44:54
I want to move! I'll move vicariously through you. What color shall we paint the new digs? I'm thinking a nice purple...
-------------------------------
Wyndspirit - 2009-01-18 19:42:38
Oh, and thanks for letting me know the scheduling insanity is apparently typical retail, and the pet store doesn't have a grudge against me! I wish they would write ME in for more hours, but corporate comes down on management if they mess with the schedule too much. (Why they care, I have no clue.) I only get hours if somebody calls in or wants time off.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-18 19:51:34
I am wishing you all kinds of good luck. Sounds like the prop. management lady is very happy with what she knows already. Hope you get this new place...it sounds great. Good luck.
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2009-01-18 20:25:27
Fingers crossed!
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-01-18 20:52:40
Congrats on your new place wherever it is--will it be closer to work??
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2009-01-18 22:23:18
OOOOO! Thinking good thoughts for you - can't wait to hear when you'll move in!
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-01-18 22:32:26
All the best, sweetie!!! ~LA
-------------------------------
Holly - 2009-01-18 23:31:11
All my best wishes. Hope everything works out for the best. 802!! I'm very impressed. I won't scare you with my credit rating.
-------------------------------
Bornearly - 2009-01-19 00:46:05
Good luck, Beanie! There's a good vibe around this place... all my woo-woo says you'll be moving there. :)
-------------------------------
margie - 2009-01-19 14:43:43
Oh, I'm so hoping you get the place on Louisiana. 'Course, I'm a little partial. I was raised in Louisiana, the state. :)
-------------------------------
Char - 2009-01-19 17:41:05
Good luck with your move. Wow, that has the be the shortest stay anyone has ever had.
-------------------------------
mz. em - 2009-02-11 22:49:31
I wish you good luck. I'm sure as I read my posts, I shall find out if you've moved or not.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group