ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-28 ... 10:04 p.m.

previous - next

Day 1 of orientation

Busy day today!

I had to be in Escondido this morning by 8 for orientation. It's about 30 miles away, so I left 45 minutes early. I made it with ten minutes to spare. I wasn't late, like some people. The guy who came from San Diego was 45 minutes late, and he left 30 minutes before I did! I guess being able to follow directions is part of orientation. Heh. I tried to hook up a car pooling thing with him tomorrow, but he didn't want to leave his car sitting somewhere, and he lives a ways away from me, so that didn't work out, but oh well.

Our "teacher" for orientation has been with the Depot of Home for quite a while, I'm guessing. She was a good presenter, making things interesting enough to keep everyone awake, but still getting the point across. The more I learn about this company, the more I like it. Apparently it is quite easy to work your way up or around in a store. All you have to do is be willing to learn.

She said that most times she does orientation once a week for about 85 people at a time. there were probably 30 of us there today, and she is only doing orientation about once every three weeks, so she congratulated us on being able to get a job, since the Depot obviously isn't hiring that much.

She explained that the Depot of Home builds in areas where new housing is going up. Since there isn't much new housing lately, there hasn't been much hiring. About 50 stores that had been planned haven't even been built yet. I do indeed feel lucky to have a job!

Someone finally asked if we get a discount. The answer is NO. Why? Because they advertise that their customers get the lowest prices available. If their employees get the lowest prices, then their ad isn't correct. So no discounts for us, but we do get awesome discounts in other places... for example, (I think it's Verizon) one of the cell phone companies gives 25% off a cell phone bill, just because we work at the Depot. Sprint and some of the others give between 11% and 17%, she wasn't sure which gave how much. There are many other companies that will give discounts for Depot employees. Just another reason to work there.....

And also, if you leave under good circumstances, they will be glad to hire you back at any point. Full time employees get tuition reimbursement for college. Everyone gets medical, dental, vision and prescription coverage. And everyone is given an opportunity to learn about any or all departments, and the chance to move up in wages, hours and position. Woot!

We had an hour for lunch, and still got out a half hour early. On my way home, Poolagirl called me, since I volunteered to help her move. Oh, someone please kick me when that word volunteer comes to my mouth, would you please?

I actually didn't mind helping, since Poolie helped me move, it's only fair that I do a little work for her. If you want to read about it, I guest-posted on Poolie's page. Just click her name in the previous paragraph, and you can read all about it.

We did have a few laughs during the whole thing. I have this little cow hanging on my keychain, and when you press a button on her head, she moos. Every time I bent down to pick up a box, I heard a little "moo" come from my pocket. We needed a little humor, just so we wouldn't cry. Poolie was so tired that I volunteered again (oh cripes!) to help her clean her house on Monday and Tuesday. I don't know why, it just slipped out. Just shoot me now, ok?

One more day of orientation. The Depot is not only paying me to be there, but they are paying me for mileage, too, and it's 33 miles one way... at 41 cents a mile, that adds up! Woot!

Now I need a shower. I kind of smell like garlic.... hmmm... you will understand that if you've read Poolie's page.... heh!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

Blue Opal - 2008-06-29 08:11:21
Whew... that was y'all, huh? I was downwind from you, obviously. It doesn't mix all that well with the haze of smoke from the big brush fire west of town...
-------------------------------
art - 2008-06-29 11:17:35
in a few months, when you take over the depot of home, i will know where to get a job then, if i decide to move there!! hehehe!!!
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-06-29 14:23:44
You are a wonderful friend. I'm sure when Poolie comes out of her exhausted stupor she will concur. Let's hope the both of you are done moving house for a good long while! Really glad to hear how good your new employer is. I shall do business with them with a lighter heart now that I know they take good care of their employees. ~LA
-------------------------------
Paula - 2008-06-29 15:18:49
Home Depot sounds like it's going to be a good job for you. Wait until they see how hard you work...you'll be full time and manager before you know it.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-30 02:12:35
Oh I definitely second Paula!! You are certainly going to go far at your new job because you are so willing to actually WORK! It sounds like a wonderful place to work.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group