ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-29 ... 9:38 p.m.

previous - next

Last day of orientation

Last day of orientation. Now starts my training.

The more I see about the Depot of Home, the more I like them. They will absolutely go all out for your business, and the customer is their biggest priority. I am very impressed by what I've seen so far. I'm just waiting until tomorrow when I go in and ask for schedule changes for Kid's visit. I just hope the scheduler doesn't hate me the first day!

As far as helping out their employees? They do a lot. There are many benefits, not the least of which is the Homer fund. Employees are encouraged, but not required to contribute at least $1 from each check to the Homer fund. Should an employee need financial assistance, from medical bills, tornado or fire damage to their homes, or any type of disaster, the Homer fund gives them money to help rebuild their life. The Depot cares as much about their employees as they do about the customers. And the message is, "we all stick together". This is not done as a tax write-off for the company, it is done BY employees, FOR employees.

We were only there for 6 hours today, not counting the half hour for lunch. At the end, we did a "Depot of Home" cheer, right above the store manager's office. We yelled as loud as we could, and clapped. It was noisy! We spelled out H O M E D E P O T and then, "What are we going to do??" "KICK ASS!!!!" Great teamwork spirit in that room today!

So tomorrow begins my training. They are spreading it out over two weeks, and one of the things our orientation lady said to do was to ask for more training in other departments ASAP. From what she said, people can move up quickly there but it all depends on how much training you have. I am still holding out hope in other areas, but no matter what job I get, I still plan on staying at the Depot of Home.... at least for the forseeable future. I really enjoyed these last two days.

Then I went and helped Poolagirl and Roomie load up the cars, and haul stuff to their new place. Twice. They are almost finished, so tomorrow will likely be the last boxes moved and Tuesday I'm off, so I will help them clean. I'm not sure it will take all day on Tuesday, but I'm sure they will keep me busy.

While I was at Poolie's new place today, I picked a bunch of lemons from the tree in their back yard. Yes, LEMONS. They were awesome, some were bigger than oranges. I brought them home and made lemonade, so tomorrow we can relax with something sweet yet tangy, and cold. I can't wait!

Of course, that will be after I get home from work, drop some things off at the museum, and finally make my way over to Poolie's. By then they should be ready for a break.

I'm ready for bed! It's been a long couple of days, and I've been up late, and then up early again. I do plan on sleeping in a bit on Tuesday. Woot!

It's good to be working again!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

8 comments so far

Blue Opal - 2008-06-30 05:30:17
Woohoo for a positive job to go with your positive new life! I hope it continues that way :)
-------------------------------
Erianne - 2008-06-30 06:50:05
I'm so happy for you! It sounds like the new job will be a really good fit for you.
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-06-30 10:19:55
I've been to a couple of orientations like that. It's pretty neat to get all psyched up over a new job. Best of luck, girl!!
-------------------------------
Paula - 2008-06-30 13:38:09
I'm glad your first foray back into the working world was such a good one. Sounds like a supportive employer who offers many opportunities.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-30 14:19:14
Finally! A job where you will be appreciated for all that you can and will do -- and a job that will give right back to you as much as you give to them!! EXCELLENT!! Also the thought of lemonade made from fresh lemons picked from a real lemon tree made my mouth water. Mmmm delicious!
-------------------------------
Ing - 2008-06-30 16:48:30
So so so so glad you found a great place to work! Who knew the DoH was such a positive place to be? I should shop there more often. ;)
-------------------------------
Cosmic - 2008-06-30 19:15:20
I am just tickled to death every time I read you now. Oodles and oodles more good stuff to come your way, I'm sure!
-------------------------------
awittykitty - 2008-07-01 21:42:30
Very happy for the big, positive changes in your life.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group