ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-30 ... 2:56 p.m.

previous - next

A relaxing day off!

First, a few pictures from Old Town, where Kid and Winnie, Poolie, Roomie and Child Unit and I went on Saturday. Old Town is a historical site, the first settlement in San Diego. It's very interesting and the kids actually loved it. They really liked the candy store! One of the attractions was this:

Photobucket

Yes, the cemetery. There are several people buried in it, and several people still buried outside of the cemetery, some under the sidewalk, and some under the street. It was great to have Poolagirl there as our tour guide. She showed us many things we would otherwise have missed.

We also went to a restaurant there to eat, and this was our view:

Photobucket

The food was good, the company great, and with a view like that, it couldn't get much better.

Today was another day off for me, and I spent some of my time playing Pogo (since it IS Pogo day!) and getting things finished in the house... making something to eat for work tomorrow, taking out as much garbage and recycling as I can find, and just generally getting the house back in order.

I met Poolie for lunch here:

Photobucket

Another beautiful view, it was behind the Auto Museum. We sat on the ground and had our picnic lunch that came from this lunchbox:

Photobucket

Too cool, huh? And lunch was yummithy, especially the lemon tarts and chocolate dipped strawberries for dessert. YUM!!

We talked and laughed, and spied this flower, which Poolie told me blooms only once a year:

Photobucket

Then it was back to work for Poolie, and back home for me. I had just a wonderful day!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

9 comments so far

Miss Hiss - 2008-07-30 22:32:53
What kind of flower is that? It looks like a frangipani -- Plumeria -- to me, but I can't for the life of me see how it's attached to the ground! (Also, how on earth did you fit all those tarts and strawberries into that little lunchbox? Is it like a Tardis?) Love, R xxx
-------------------------------
mpeacock - 2008-07-31 00:27:25
:)
-------------------------------
Ingrid - 2008-07-31 00:27:33
I'm really glad you survived the earthquake. Was it your first?
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-07-31 02:26:53
Go check out Pioneer Park, it was a cemetery, and the bodies are still there, they just moved all of the headstones across the park, and now people run and play there! It's a beautiful park!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-07-31 03:24:17
What wonderful scenery! I believe I sat on the veranda where you ate lunch, back some thirty years ago. Talk about your deja vu!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-07-31 04:50:53
Yes! Plumeria! We have a rogue plumeria behind the museum. Pretty neat, eh? The camera angle doesn't show that it's attached to the ground.
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-07-31 11:11:36
that lunchbox is rockin'!!! too damned cute. wait. can i say damned? is this censored by the FCC? (lol)
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2008-07-31 15:16:33
Makes me smile to know you are having such happy times!
-------------------------------
Starkitten01 - 2008-07-31 19:21:58
We were just in Old Town a few weeks back for my birthday :) Small world. I got a pretty dress at one of their shops :) I really wanted to go inside of the little school-house there, but it was closed that particular day :( I wanted to check out the Whaley house, also, but of course it was gated off for whatever they're doing to it, and there were archeologists digging up ground around back! Anyway, I didn't even know about the people buried under the sidewalks and streets, I had no idea.. I enjoyed your entry very much! <3
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group