ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-20 ... 4:07 p.m.

previous - next

Laundry and payday

Ahhhhhh I found my fan. It's a little foam fish fan, I believe my sisters got it for me for my 50th birthday. It's big enough to keep the sweat from dripping into my eyes, and small enough to take with me no matter where I am in the house. It was 92 here this afternoon, and with no A/C (yet) it gets a bit warm in the house.

My face got a bit sunburned yesterday. I really hadn't spent much time out in the sun, just here and there for a minute or so, and then I went back under the tent. I'm sure glad I didn't stand out in the sun all morning! I drank about a half gallon of water last night because I hadn't had much during the day. That helped cool me off... that, and a nice cool shower.

Today was laundry day, and all I had was a $20 bill... so I put it in the machine and got $20 worth of quarters. I know I will use them all eventually, but I was kind of laughing, thinking of paying for things with piles of quarters. But I had an appointment this morning, with a lady who is doing research, and she gave me a $20 bill! Woot! So now I have free laundry for several weeks. Heh.

I went over to the museum to pick up my check, but the lady there hadn't gotten the fax with my hours, so she just wrote up the check. And of course, there was no one there to sign said check, so I had to come back (at 1:30).

Well, I know how things go in the best of places, so I stopped at a "Job Ready" place, a temp agency, but all the workers they place do construction. I don't think I'm quite that desperate yet, but I will definitely check out the temp agencies that don't send people out for construction jobs.

By the time I got back to the museum, it was about 2:15. The check signer was in the parking lot, ready to go back to work when I drove up. Good thing I went late! I got to see poolagirl who also had a bit of a sunburn, and we chatted for a few minutes while my check was being signed. Hooray for paydays!

I'm working on finishing rooms, and the bathroom is completely finished, except for hanging things on the walls. I will wait for Mr Fix-It to put a towel bar up, and then I can decide where I want to put the decorative items. Plus, all my dishes (or most of them, at least) have been washed, and I rearranged the cupboards last night so the kitchen is almost done, too. Just needs the finishing touches.... and I even have some empty space, too! Not much, but enough for those few things that just don't have a good place to be. Things are shaping up!

I did make one mistake today, though. I went outside in bare feet. Ouch! The sidewalk was really hot, so I stood on what passes for grass around here, which was hot too.. but not as hot as the pavement! I KNOW I won't make that mistake again!

Tomorrow I think will be a planning day. It's Saturday, so I might just hang out here at home, and see what I can get finished. I do have some things I got from Mom that I haven't even looked at since I got them two years ago. Tomorrow could just be that day!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

12 comments so far

art - 2008-06-21 00:00:39
oh i hope you didnt goto labor ready! you have to be there at 5 am ready to work, and usually its just homeless folk that go there, and they pay just above minimum wage. try manpower or account temps. something more for you.
-------------------------------
Anne - 2008-06-21 00:19:39
You sound marvelous...good for you! Oh...VenteVeni at Pogo.com is me! Hope to see you when you get a minute to play, and you aren't out job wrangling.
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-21 02:04:25
If you can't step on the sidewalks there in the 90's, imagine what it's like here when the thermometer hits the range of 120. I've gotten blisters from the sidewalk, and cooking an egg on the sidewalk ISN'T an exaggeration.
-------------------------------
Marna - 2008-06-21 02:27:57
hey there have you tried indeed.com? It's awesome, you just put in the query what you want to do "customer service" and then your city and then it pops up with all kinds of stuff for you.
-------------------------------
poolie - 2008-06-21 03:13:56
Oh yes, the sun is brutal this far south!
-------------------------------
mpeacock - 2008-06-21 03:48:53
Yes, will I be able to handle the Phoenix sun after all this Belgian rain? Glad you're doing well.
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2008-06-21 13:10:28
I had forgotten that one of the best jobs I had while living in CA, I got through a temp agency. I signed up with almost every temp agency in my area. I went on a lot of interviews that didn't work out (one woman refused to even interview me, because I'd forgotten to bring a pen to fill out the paperwork) but eventually found a job where I was a good fit. Reading about you setting up your new nest, makes me want to rearrange everything in my house! Bill & I both have wanderlust. When we moved to MT, we made a commitment that all 3 of our children would graduate from the same high school. We have both lived in this house longer than any other home in our lives. Now that Shelby is beginning to look at colleges out of state, the wanderlust has hit us both hard. We've actually set the date that we plan to leave MT. Moving to a new area is so exciting and liberating (other than the actual moving part.) You get to let go of the past and have a new beginning. Good luck on your job search. With your experience, I'm amazed that ANY bakery hasn't snapped you up in a heartbeat!
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-06-21 14:20:36
Oh, I am so jealous! Your kitchen is fixed up, and it's just for you -- no one to come in and decide they want to move things... Enjoy!!
-------------------------------
Paula - 2008-06-21 14:23:19
I had fun reading about your week today. Seems like even though you haven't found full time work yet you are keeping yourself busy and earning a few bucks. I hope all works out for you at Home Depot this Sunday.
-------------------------------
Megan - 2008-06-21 15:26:41
92 degrees and NO air conditioning? Gad! I can't imagine.
-------------------------------
scotvalkyrie - 2008-06-21 17:43:38
You know the full-time job I have now (the one where I get to watch movies and knit most of the day) I got through a temp agency! Sometimes there's a wonderful job in all the temp nonsense -- it's a great way to get your foot in the door!
-------------------------------
mz. em - 2008-07-25 03:31:01
Oh to have an organized kitchen. I'm envious. I need to go through mine and get rid of all the stuff that is just clutter. mz. em P.S. This is a late comment since I forgot about this e-mail and had not been checking it.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group