ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-08-12 ... 8:33 p.m.

previous - next

Personal space and a good laugh

I guess I stayed up a bit too late last night. I was kind of zoning this morning before I started work. Guess it took a while for the coffee to kick in today.

I didn't even have any interesting customers today, except the lady who came back three times, trying to buy staples for a staple gun she was using to recover some furniture. She was a lot less enthusiastic the last time she was there.

One thing I've noticed about people here in sunny California (other than the fact that they wear flip-flops ALL YEAR LONG) is that they seem to have no concept of personal space. I can be working with a customer, and the next person in line will be right up behind them... so close that I think they must have come in together.. They just don't consider the fact that the person in front of them might not WANT them breathing down their neck..

Although, most people are friendly, and several conversations have started between total strangers while waiting in line. I guess if he's that close, it's nearly impossible not to talk to someone...

I did have a couple of interesting conversations about Blue though... with other people who brought the subject up to me. I don't bring it up, because I just don't want to be seen as a busybody, but I WILL listen. Heh.

District HR was in the store a couple weeks ago asking about "favoritism" and no one knew what was going on, although they only talked to a couple of people. I was not one of them. BUT the people they did talk to all mentioned Blue, and the fact that she carpools with Norma, and gets to start earlier than everyone else, has pretty much a set schedule, and is privy to a lot of information the rest of us aren't, just because she and Norma talk in the car.

Well, apparently the carpooling has stopped. NO MORE. Personally, I didn't care that they carpooled, because Blue had a big mouth, and I could always get some good information out of her. But Blue used to start at 5:30 to open garden, even though it didn't open until 6... and then there never is much to do, and you stand around or try to find things to do. I never did understand what Blue did between 5:30 and 6.

So now I'll have to watch to see if the schedule is changing to a later start time for Blue... Norma worked late all week, so there was no chance for them to carpool.

Speaking of Norma, she was in the break room this noon when I was on a break. I was eating a banana when she and some other girls were talking about Norma having a dog. Only the way it was said, in the the context used, the DOG was definitely inferred to be human. And male.

A few more comments were made, which almost caused me to spit banana out on everyone, or have it come out my nose like the Diet Pepsi. There were three of us back there laughing quite hard. It was when Norma talked about the dog sleeping on the bed with her that I almost lost it.

My sides don't hurt as much from moving lumber and heavy pipes around as much as they do from laughing. I need that every now and then.

And finally, my day at work was over, and it was time for home, Whopper Wednesday, and Pogo. I didn't see Mr D at work tonight, which I didn't expect, because he thought he would likely call in sick. He pulled something in his back over the weekend and was hurting at work last night. I called to see if he was ok, but he didn't answer, and hasn't called back, so I guess it's possible he went to work anyway and I just missed him. Oh well.

Pogo is calling my name...

previous - next

Kiss Me!

1 comments so far

terri t - 2009-08-13 18:29:45
veerry in-ter-esting about the comments re: Blue. Wonder if the HO is paying more attention now that complaints have been made.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group