ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-17 ... 4:35 p.m.

previous - next

A surprise call

Nice to sleep in my own bed once again. I washed up this morning instead of showering, because I didn't think the shower was ready. I was right. Mr Fix-It came this afternoon and was kind of glad I hadn't used it, since he still had work to do on the shower doors and the caulk. He's been here for a couple hours now, and still is in the bathroom, so I'm not sure what's going on now.

My first project for this morning was making a list of what I need to make this place the way I want it to be. It's a small list, with the exception of a couch; I don't get many visitors, so I'm in no rush. I made up my list while I had breakfast, and then thought I would roll over to the museum and finish up my project from yesterday. Hah!

Once I told my boss I was done with that part of things, he asked me to wait a few minutes, and he would write up a little blurb for me, and I could start calling people whose e-mails we don't have. OK. It only took him a few minutes. I read it over several times, made a few changes on it, and then started making calls. Three hours later, my eyes were starting to blur from reading the tiny print on the database, so I called it quits. I got about half way through the list, although the last five pages have NO email addresses. Bossman said he would take it home and call some people tonight.

Yeah, that was a good thing. Earning money instead of spending it! After I got home, I went grocery shopping. I needed a lot of stuff, since the only groceries I've gotten so far are just what I need for that day, or for a couple days. So I needed lettuce, fruit... things like that. I even bought ice cream! I REALLY needed that! It's pretty warm here in the late afternoon...

Much as I really don't want to, I am going to go to the market research place tonight and be trained. It's a job I can do in the evenings, and even though it's part time and about minimum wage, it's a job. One never knows when things like this can expand into full time, and decent money. Besides, what else would I be doing? Playing Pogo? So off to earn more money it is.

I have to say, it sure is nice to get up in the morning and not have to race right off to work.. and not have to get up at a horribly early hour to be able to have breakfast first. I really need to get a new carafe for my coffee pot though.... maybe I can manage that tomorrow. Ahh tomorrow.. tomorrow is another day!

But the best thing of all happened today, out of the blue. My son called me, to tell me he registered for the fall semester of classes at UW-M. Woot! We talked for about ten minutes. Ten minutes of chatting! That's more than we talked when I lived there. Hee!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

13 comments so far

DSis - 2008-06-18 00:31:44
That's so cool that Dude called. Glad he's taken the first step to college.
-------------------------------
Anne - 2008-06-18 01:09:00
Hey girl...I'm slacking at the comment, sorry... BUT LOOK AT YOU GOOOOOO! You sound so much better already. I know there are people you must miss, and things that are not familiar, but you seem so happy. And that makes me very glad for you! Happy Hump Day!
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2008-06-18 01:20:53
Cool! Dude called! I'm glad things are moving into place for him too. I'm keeping the good thoughts and prayers going for you to find the right job.
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-06-18 02:48:37
sounds like Dude might even maybe miss you! You'll be good at any job you get--yes, you must enjoy being able to sleep in!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-18 05:30:20
Wow - so all it took for the dude to wake up and smell the coffee was for you to break the coffee pot ;) Okay, okay - so all it took was you breaking the coffee pot 1800 miles away. Picky picky :-p
-------------------------------
Aristocratic Red - 2008-06-18 07:00:23
I'm so glad you got to talk to your son. YAY! :)
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-06-18 09:19:49
You go! Sorry I missed you yesterday!
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2008-06-18 11:02:27
That's great that Dude called you! I'm reading you every day, but I read in the mornings and have been getting up at your old hours because of work. That early in the morning I can't think of anything to write. I do well to drink my coffee without spilling it all over myself. Good luck with your job search.
-------------------------------
Katy - 2008-06-18 16:35:18
I'm glad to here that you're doing well in CA. I will be reading regularly!
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-06-18 18:59:51
It's nice to know that you are making progress every day. Settling in is good, making new habits is great, and working at something different is wonderful. Hope you get an offer for a full-time job with benefits soon.
-------------------------------
Megan - 2008-06-18 21:14:36
Sleeping in your own bed. Does it get any better?
-------------------------------
Carol - 2008-06-18 21:28:57
So glad to hear about Dude, both for him doing the right thing and for him then calling you. Way to go. I've been with out the computer for about a week and hoped that your apartment would be all finished by now. Maybe next week, glad you're working and sound so good.
-------------------------------
Carrie - 2008-06-19 13:35:04
What, no more surfer boys?? :*(
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group