ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-13 ... 3:49 p.m.

previous - next

When it rains, it pours

It's pouring job opportunities here! I got two calls today, one from Home Despot Depot and the other from a market research firm. Incidentally and amusingly enough, these were two of the last applications I filled out; one in person, the other online. So apparently everything I filled out before that was worthless. At least for now.

I have an interview tomorrow at ten at the Depot, and the market research firm starts training Tuesday for the phone center. It pays a whopping $8 per hour, but I guess beggars can't be choosers. It all kind of depends on what the hours are at Home Depot and IF I get the job. Yay!!!

In other news, I unpacked a few more boxes, put all the pictures and things that need hanging in one box and one spot, so that it will be ready to go when the apartment is.

Mr Fix-It got all the rest of the blinds up last night, and hooked up the drains on the kitchen and bathroom sinks, although he didn't turn the water on in the kitchen. I'm not sure why, but I'll give him a call later tonight. It could just be that he had it turned off when the drains weren't hooked up, and he didn't want me turning the water on.

I still am missing some things, but there are still boxes that are not unpacked. I have to wash most of my dishes before I can use them, since they came from the china cabinet. Those dishes had been in there for 10 years without being used, so you can imagine what they are like. Ew. Then once I get them out to be washed, I can rearrange the cupboards so they are in some semblance of order.

I would like to get most of the stuff done now while I'm not working, but the living room will be the biggest challenge, mostly because the only furniture in it is a TV stand and TV, and a rocking chair and a lawn chair. Yup, kind of bare. I don't really need a couch yet, and I have chairs in the kitchen, and one in front of the computer, so people do have places to sit. But end tables? None. I'm sure I can find some... things are shaping up in spite of it. Besides, if I can snag a job at Home Depot, I can maybe get some stuff there at a discount! Ooooooo!!!!

The dog sitting continues. This has been good for me, reminding me that I really need to get back into walking. I haven't done much since I left Wisconsin, although my neighborhood is not the best for it. There is a huge hill (17% grade) that I have to go down and up... I think that would likely be all the exercise I would need for one day. I noticed today there is a path paved on one side of the road, behind the metal barrier that keeps the cars on the road.. I'm just worried about what's in the brush on the other side of the path. I might just check it out some day.

But my dog friend likes to get up at 5:30. Funny how I used to get up even earlier than that on a daily basis, and now I can barely see at 5:30. I had to bring my coffee press here, because Gabi's mom doesn't drink coffee. I need coffee!!!

So think good thoughts for me tomorrow... and send me your javelinahunt registration! Shy or not, you are welcome, and you will have a great time! Woot!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

15 comments so far

Shear - 2008-06-13 23:34:49
good thoughts coming your way
-------------------------------
Rowie - 2008-06-13 23:54:33
You're always in my thoughts. I'll surely send them your way. I'm glad to hear that you have the coffee situation under control, that could be devistating!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-06-14 00:16:36
i cannot imagine starting the day without coffee!!! aggggggg!!!! the wheels of progress turn slowly!!! ((((((((HUGS))))))))))
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-06-14 00:42:56
No coffee??? Wow. It's lovely to have a French press, though -- very portable and convenient!! Good luck with your interviews!
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-06-14 02:31:16
Congrats on your job/jobs--enjoy your last few days of leisure!
-------------------------------
StarKitten01 - 2008-06-14 02:34:14
You have no idea how proud I am of you, and I certainly hope one of your job opportunities turns into something concrete! Cannot wait to hear how this all turns out :-) GOOD LUCK! <3 Starkitten01
-------------------------------
Sis - 2008-06-14 02:56:46
Good luck with your interview. At this point if you get a job you can always keep your eyes and ears open for something that is meant for you. Did you get a chance to put an ap in at the hospital? We're thinking about you and wishing you the best. We are still getting lots of rain back in Wi.Summer still hasn't started. Bummer!
-------------------------------
princesscee - 2008-06-14 05:38:33
Ooo.. Good luck, you'll do awesome!
-------------------------------
Amanda - 2008-06-14 05:43:59
Good luck with the interview!!! No coffee? How does that person breathe? I must have my coffee.
-------------------------------
kim - 2008-06-14 08:23:07
sending all those good luck charms to ya!!! i'm sure you'll do great! i was secretly hoping you'd get the job at souplantation so i could meet you for lunch! (that's one of my fav spots when i go home) but home depot would be AWESOME! (think store discounts, fix-it connections and clientele! *wink*)
-------------------------------
the purple chai - 2008-06-14 11:51:48
If there's an Ikea near you, and there must be, you can get inexpensive parsons tables for like $10, and have at least some kind of end table that you can always use somewhere. Also, for a temporary comfy chair, I always like those canvas camp-type chairs they sell everywhere. You can even get a recliner, and they're also cheap you can always use them outside later.
-------------------------------
Paula - 2008-06-14 14:08:20
I've been catching up with your week this morning...Wow..you're a real californian now...an address and a drivers license. Hope one of them job op's pays out for you.
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-06-14 20:04:35
Good luck with either or both of the jobs...hope you get an offer. Sounds like you are making more progress in getting settled in and things are truly falling into place.
-------------------------------
Blaze - 2008-06-14 23:33:15
Sent the password (it's a yahoo address). Good luck on those jobs!
-------------------------------
Jen - 2008-06-17 20:37:39
Glad that everything seems to be working out so well for you! I wholeheartedly second the IKEA nomination for furniture (and lots of cool, cheap accessories, kitchenware, office supplies, etc). Its one of my favorite places, even though the closest one is 6 hrs. away! Also check out craigslist.com.. there's always someone giving stuff away for cheap or free!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group