ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-02-09 ... 6:34 p.m.

previous - next

A really rainy day!

Gee I really hate getting up before 6:30. But I had to be at work at 6, so I couldn't stay in bed. I would really have loved to!

I went out the door with my lunch and purse and keys, and decided to come back in and grab my jacket. I was so glad I did! I worked out in garden today, and not only was it cool, but it was pouring rain! It's actually been raining every day since Thursday (it started Thursday afternoon).

But today the rain was unbelievable. The sky was grey and the cloud cover was pretty solid. I had the big patio heater on for a while in garden, and I was standing underneath it. I realized after a while that really wasn't a good idea.. It wasn't until my head started to hurt that I put my hand on top of my head, and realized that my hair was really REALLY hot! So I had to stand a bit further away. Oops. Just glad I didn't burn my hair!

Anyway, the lady I was supposed to be working with called in sick, and I kept waiting for someone to come out and give me a break. Not that I needed one, because in my first four hours I maybe had all of 12 customers.

I eventually called inside and told them that I had to go to lunch before 11 (Depot law.. you may not work more than 5 hours without a half hour break) so Norma brought Blue out to relieve me. I mentioned that I hadn't had a break, and it was because they all thought my partner had come in, and that I took my break.

Seems she called in, talked to one of the ASMs, and he never passed the message along. Didn't matter to me, it was BORING out there, and I was fine without having someone else.

So after I had lunch, Blue and I were out there, and the wind picked up and the rain started pounding down... it was actually getting scary out there. Norma came out and walked us both in, because one of the office ladies came out and told us we had to cover the computers in between customers to avoid frying one, since the rain was blowing in on them. Yeah, just what I want to do.

I dropped my till in returns, and then worked as a greeter for the next half hour. While that was fun for a while, I sure wouldn't want to do it 40 hours a week! Then I took my afternoon break (again, not like I really needed one!) and then I got sent to returns.

That was when my good mood went sour. It was a mess when I got there, because Jason was working alone, and it's hard to clean things up when you have a constant stream of customers. One of the customers had an attitude... I don't know what it was, but I took an instant dislike to him. And of course, I had to get managers approval for his returns, because he didn't have any receipts.

Plus I asked for an increase in money, because I had no $20 bills, and you go through tons of them in returns. I had to call 3 times to get them, because the head cashiers would forget that I needed them. By the time I got them, I only had 15 minutes left to work, but by then, I only had a couple of $5 bills left. Sheesh!

And... to top it all off, I have Sunday off. Maybe. Apparently I am now scheduled to work on Sunday, even though I already have 40 hours to work. No, they won't pay me for 8 hours of OT.. due to not getting my schedule change, they didn't know I picked up an extra shift on Friday, and so gave me Sunday. I was looking forward to having 3 Sundays in a row off (4 actually, since I have a 2 day weekend next weekend!!) so I'm not sure at all when I am working this week. I guess I'll find out tomorrow.

So I was really glad when it was my time to leave work. I got my stuff, walked over to Ralph's for soy sauce and then went to the museum. I had to turn in my key to my landlord, who hasn't been over to see my place yet, but he should be going this week. Hopefully he will rent it soon and rebate me a little rent.

I stopped up to see Poolie, and we had a nice little chat for about 15 minutes. I wanted to set a day for lunch, but with this schedule mess, I'm not even real sure it's a possibility this week. Now that really sucks! Hopefully we can get together for more than 15 minutes one of these days.

By the time I got home it was after 4. I chopped up some veggies, heated up my wok, and had stir-fry and rice. YUM!!! I guess bluesleepy isn't the only one who can make good Chinese food! Hee!! I even have enough for lunch tomorrow, and I put two containers in the freezer (minus the rice).

So now I'm feeling kind of sleepy, full and warm since I got my jammies on. This apartment is a lot warmer than my last one, which is a good thing now, I'll have to see what it's like in summer! I've decided to finish the boxes on Wednesday and Thursday morning.. again, depending on when I work.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

11 comments so far

Rosie - 2009-02-10 03:36:55
Could y'all stop sending your rain this way? We've got high winds and rain and all sorts of nasty stuff! Then again, February is San Diego's rainy season! Hope you get the days off you want!
-------------------------------
zucchini breath - 2009-02-10 03:59:53
Yay for vege stir-fry!
-------------------------------
michele - 2009-02-10 12:10:01
i can't believe that they don't give you OT for working more than 40hrs! that's a huge bummer. i also am bummed for that you had such nasty weather to contend with.
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2009-02-10 14:27:42
Wow, you really put in a very hard day of work...every day! I just sit on my ever-widening ass and talk to people on the phone all day. The only way I know what the weather is is by getting up and walking past all of the cubicles to the windows - which are covered with blinds!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-02-10 15:22:21
Yesterday was a real howler, indeed!
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-02-10 15:23:25
A semi-cruddy work day and a great dinner. Not too shabby. Glad your new place is cozy! ~LA
-------------------------------
Joan - 2009-02-10 17:49:28
Sorry you had such a sh*tty day. Some days are just beyond repair. There is always tomorrow:) Need to see some pics of your new digs.
-------------------------------
Terri T - 2009-02-10 18:07:15
seems like they would give you Sunday off because of the overtime rule....doesn't seem right to make you work and not pay for OT. But I am glad you were cozy and warm in your new place and enjoyed your time off.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-02-10 18:45:26
Oh I am so glad you didn't set your hair on fire! But hey, I was up at 6am this morning too -- but only momentarily. Kurt got up that early because he's got duty today, and I was so confused that he was up that I got up too. So now I'm tired. Your Chinese stir fry sounds good! Can I come over for supper??
-------------------------------
psis - 2009-02-10 22:52:32
Your new place's temp will not fluctuate as much as your previous place because you have adjacent neighbors whereas your previous place stood alone expose to all the environment--good to hear that you like the manager. Looks like a nice place!
-------------------------------
Crystal Balls - 2009-02-11 04:49:05
If Sunday falls within your work week (vs the start of a NEW week,) it's Federal law that you be paid overtime. But if the Depot of Home is like most businesses I know the work week starts on Sunday. Oh well. It's been rainy and cold and icky here too. Guess we'll be getting another wave coming over from you soon.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group