ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-12-15 ... 3:14 p.m.

previous - next

The rain in South Park

I think I'll post now. I might just spend the rest of the day in bed where it's warm.

I am most grateful to the powers that be that I'm not working today. Not only because it's nice to have a day off, but because it's been raining all day. And as most Californians know, when it rains, the traffic sucks. I went to do my laundry early this morning, and on the way home, at 8:45, the radio announcer said there were 15 accidents! People just don't understand how slippery rain can be.

I did have lunch with Poolie though, and that was fun. It's always fun to lunch with Poolie. Then I helped her clean out a grate that had gotten clogged with leaves, and was threatening to overflow into the museum door. Yeah. Fun.

I came home to... no power. The electricity went off because of the rain. So... there isn't much I can do with no power, so I got three of my windows covered with plastic. It does keep the drafts out, but with the dampness outside, it remains a bit chilly inside yet. I need to make supper in the oven and that should help warm up the house a bit.

I can't turn my furnace on because the pilot light hasn't been lit yet for the season. That's ok, Mr. Fix-It told me it really only heats up the living room, and since I don't sleep in there, I think I can make do with the space heaters I have. Yes, I know they can be dangerous, but none of them are plugged in unless I'm using them, and I don't leave them on when I'm not home or awake. I'm thinking at least the bedroom will stay warm during the day if I keep the door closed. The sun shines in the window all morning, and should heat up the room nicely.

I'm having trouble with the kitchen window though, the tape doesn't want to stick to the wall on three of the sides. So that one might have to stay open for a while, until I figure something out.

And the rain. OMG the rain. It's rolling down the streets like it's a flood. The canyon behind my house has a raging torrent through it. White water rafting anyone?

At least I don't have to shovel rain. It's still wayyyy better than snow!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

11 comments so far

zucchini breath - 2008-12-15 23:44:11
I whole-heartedly agree with you, rain is better than snow. However, at 7:30am when I was standing by the side of the road waiting to put the child on a schoolbus, I was very glad that it was snowing and NOT raining and I am going to need an umbrella, I think. :)
-------------------------------
gbw - 2008-12-15 23:55:05
The oil filled radiator style space heaters are a lot more safe and very efficient.... a thought. I hope the flood ebbs soon.
-------------------------------
Bornearly - 2008-12-16 00:54:37
I always had trouble with the two-sided tape that came with the window plastic. My window frames have glossy paint on them and I thought the tape didn't want to stick to the gloss. Good luck!
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-12-16 01:17:19
The kitchen window frame might be greasy even if it looks clean. Give it a good scrub and try again. Hope you're staying warm and dry. ~LA
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-12-16 01:31:56
I am a bit bemused by the plasticking of the windows! Most Californians simply don't do it! I'm sure that it probably does save heating expenses... but...ummm... to quote an old saying, "It simply isn't Done!"

It's rather as if by putting plastic on the windows, you are admitting that San Diego's weather is less than perfect, which, as we all know, America's Finest City cannot be flawed!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-12-16 03:50:19
I think space heaters nowadays are far safer than they were. The air that comes out of our space heaters isn't that hot, not hot enough to set a blaze. And of course, if you are smart and you don't leave them near your drapes, you'll be safe from a fire. My impression is that most space heater fires are started by old space heaters whose cord has frayed, or heaters with too many extension cords, or heaters that have turned over and caught the carpet on fire. My one heater even shuts off if it's tilted too far.
-------------------------------
cosmic - 2008-12-16 04:10:13
If you mean what I thnk you mean by FOS, he isn't anymore!! haha
-------------------------------
fairygodmum - 2008-12-16 09:12:22
It's been hailing here on and off all day. Snowing at Mt. Diablo and in Sierra's. You lucky Southern California folks who only have WARM RAIN... it's FREEZING up here! And the wind is burrr... cold snap for the next few dayz. Take your plants inside! What's plasticing windows? Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum
-------------------------------
Joan - 2008-12-16 16:48:30
I woke up to -32C this morning...man, its colder than a ho's heart. The plows finally cleaned the feeder streets, so we don't have to drive in those god forsaken ice ruts anymore. grumblingggg to myself.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-12-16 20:19:59
If all else fails on the taping of the windows...try duct tape and then nail those suckers!!!! LOL Hope you stayed warm and dry....it sounded miserable when you described it.
-------------------------------
fightn4life - 2008-12-16 22:32:22
I agree the rain is better than snow. Today is the first major snow of the year. I went for a walk and couldn't help but smile...it is just so pretty. I still like rain better than snow...I think... Sandyz
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group