ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-12-04 ... 6:25 p.m.

previous - next

Kid is here! Woot!!

I am SO glad I did my laundry last night! It felt good to sleep in a bit today, and not have to rush around. I could just get up, read diaries and then go off to meet Big Sister.

Big Sis and I went to her local Depot of Home for some picture hangers, then out for a yummy breakfast, and then we went to get a piece of plastic for her light fixture. I got the picture in her living room rehung, and even fixed her light fixture without breaking the plastic piece! Go me!

I came back home, and did the dishes and the last few cleanup things before Kid got here, and then went off to retrieve her from the airport.

I got there, parked in the parking for terminal 2, but didn't see her plane on the arrivals screen. When I asked about it, I was told I was at the wrong terminal, and needed to take the "red bus" to the commuter terminal, since her layover was in LA. Cripes!

The bus came shortly after I got outside, and I made it to the correct area before she got off the plane. Yes, it was already there! So we went back on the red bus and rode it to terminal 2, picked up the car, and were off! Woot!

First we stopped to see Poolagirl. We all went off to get some ice cream, and had to step around this:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Yes, CARNIES!!! But no giant strawberries. It's for the December Nights thing in Balboa Park this weekend. I managed to talk the security guard into letting me drive past that all. Good thing I had my museum badge!

We also went to the giant cactus park that's across the street from some of the museums. Kid was amazed at some of them! They are huge!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Kid was getting kind of hungry so we stopped at the new restaurant that opened next door to Rebecca's coffee shop. They had delicious food! I had sweet potato tacos. Mmmmm good!

Kid and I were talking, and she mentioned that she was thinking about getting her nose pierced. I told her about a tattoo place that I knew of that I thought would probably do piercings too.

So off we went to the tattoo place. Kid changed her mind, and decided to get another tattoo! She found two designs she liked, so she is waiting and thinking it over. While I am at work tomorrow, she will be getting a tattoo!

We did a bit more driving around, and enjoyed ourselves immensely!

It was worth the ride on the red bus!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

14 comments so far

FairyGodMum - 2008-12-05 02:58:23
I pierced my nose when I was 16. No regrets... still love it! Although a tattoo.. I'm so afraid of needles. Go Figer! hehehe... Take pics of the Tat! Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FGM
-------------------------------
Miss Hiss - 2008-12-05 03:03:40
Oh, yes; I'll just BET you "stepped around" the carnies. I'm onto you, missy -- I bet you ploughed right into them and asked EVERY one if he'd show you his giant strawberry. (Also, I hope you have a wonderful time with your girl.) Love, R xxx
-------------------------------
Beyondpanic - 2008-12-05 04:15:28
Enjoy your visit with your daughter!
-------------------------------
Mary - 2008-12-05 04:16:15
So glad you get to have some quality time with Kid! I was wondering tonight if you ever hear from Dude, and how he's doing? My oldest is the same age, and it's been so interesting to me watching him grow this year. I've been wondering if Dude is maturing some too. But only if you feel like sharing.
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2008-12-05 06:58:42
For what it's worth...I can highly recommend E-Tattoo in Lemon Grove. It's a little distance for you, but I did my research and he was highly rated. They did both my nose piercing and a tattoo. The staff is both gentle and knowledgable and they are very clean there.
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-12-05 07:11:18
I agree with Miss Hiss...I think you were secretly having a marvelous time looking for the Carnie's strawberries! And I'll wager that kid has such a great time that she will want to move to SD!
-------------------------------
words-4-less - 2008-12-05 14:12:22
It looks so WARM there!! The temp on the drive to work today? 2. A big whopping 2!!! Aren't you glad you left the north?
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-12-05 15:02:42
Carnies and strawberries!!!!!! Oh my!! Let's get some pictures of those, shall we?? I know you & Kid are gonna have a wonderful time. Enjoy!!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-12-05 15:16:07
I'm gonna snap some more pictures of the carnies and stick them under your pillow. The pictures....not the carnies. Unless you WANT toothless stinky lecherous men under your pillow. That can be arranged!
-------------------------------
Rebekah - 2008-12-05 17:23:22
IF kid (who looks lovely) is going to LA, I can recommend an amazing piercer - like, he's one of the top in the nation. i'm so lucky to have met him in my travels... and i've got his number.
-------------------------------
Cosmic - 2008-12-05 20:18:04
Have a wonderful visit!! I wonder if she will want to move there afterward.
-------------------------------
Terri T - 2008-12-05 20:36:07
Boy, you and the Kid don't mess around. You got a lot done in just one day. And I think the clown shoes should go to the carnival and meet the carnies...wouldn't THAT make for an interesting picture? Have a blast and can't wait to see the tattoo Kid picks out.
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-12-06 01:36:51
Hooray! Welcome Kid! Sounds like you two are going great guns already. Hope the rest of her visit is just as fun! ~LA
-------------------------------
Shippie - 2008-12-11 21:09:53
Looks like mom has turned over my 'honey do" list to you! Glad stuff is getting done around her place-thanks!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group