ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-07-28 ... 8:59 p.m.

previous - next

Returns, dinner, and printing

Some days I just hate computers. Every time I try to print something at home, I have to go through the whole "turn the printer off and back on, restart the computer, reinstall the driver" and it's getting old. Not the printer, it's brand new. Jeebus.

I managed to get a half hour of overtime today. Norma wanted me to come in about 15 minutes early, since we have a new "thing" on the computer which is supposed to make getting money easier. We are the pilot store for this program, probably because we are the biggest and if anything can go wrong, it will.

So I went in early, and it was no big deal. I'm sure there will be problems that come up here and there, but otherwise, it was pretty much as usual. And so was my day... the usual, that is.

Until about 4:00. Two men and a HUGE load of junk to return. Most of it was plumbing supplies, and entire cart of that. Some electrical, some hardware, some of just about everything. All adding up to about $1400. I was in heaven, working it all up, finding the easiest way to get it all returned and organized.

Of course, since the amount was so high, and they had no receipts, the HC didn't want to take the responsibility and passed it off to the ASM. I am not sure if I like this particular ASM or not. He has some redeeming qualities, but on the other hand, he is an ass. (Jeebus, I hope no one from work ever finds this diary!) He made my customer wait a half hour for him to come and approve the return. What great customer service, huh?

The problem for me was that I couldn't put any of the stuff away until the return was approved... if it wasn't approved, they would have to take all their stuff back, so I had to keep it all in the four carts I had organized it to. So I had all that sitting around, and other customers too. Add to that the fact that I had NO one dollar bills, and no 20s, I was not happy at all.

The one bright spot was that Mr Date came in and said hello, with a hug. He hugs everybody, so it didn't seem to odd to most people. It just seems I get better hugs than they do. Heh.

FINALLY the ASM came and approved the sale. I took a break, and when I came back, my partner went to lunch. She wasn't back yet by the time I was supposed to clock out, so I racked up another 15 minutes of OT. I think I deserved it, after all that.

Oh, and I did have one really nervous lady who brought back a $200 hammer drill without a receipt, who kept telling me her boyfriend would kill her because he gave her the receipt to save, and she lost it, and now she can't return it.... sucks to be her. Now that I think of it, I seem to remember that story from several months ago. I wonder if it's the same person... hmmmmmmm......

Oh well. Anyway.....

So after I clocked out, and was leaving, I stopped to talk to Mr Date. He wants to take me sailing. I did mention my tendency toward motion sickness, but he seems to think we can work through it. HAHAHA. I guess we'll have to wait and see. (I've gotten sick on a boat tied up at a dock!)

He wants to do things, like sailing, when we both have a day off together. Knowing the Depot of Home, it might be MONTHS before that happens again. So instead, I suggested he come to my house on MY day off before he goes to work, and I'll make him something to eat.... he seemed OK with that idea. So I might be lucky enough to see him on Friday. Guess I'll have to wait and see.

My printer has been off for about 20 minutes now, I'm hoping it will work now when I turn it back on. I might have to reboot AGAIN just so I can print out the recipes I want. Keep your fingers crossed!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

14 comments so far

wordy - 2009-07-29 05:11:13
one word - dramamine!
-------------------------------
Moosehunter - 2009-07-29 10:48:58
Now the sea sickness thing raises a question. If your javelina hunt is going to be in San Diego this year, you realise that Poolie's going to involve boats, don't you. She has access to boats and is involved in Transport heritage. And also has a wicked sense of humour...
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2009-07-29 11:56:11
When I was in retail (years ago) I went to a sales training. The instructor said something I've never forgotten. "Buyers are liars. The longer the story, the less truth there is in it." Whenever I have to return something and it takes awhile, I'm always tempted to fill the air with sounds while I'm waiting. Then I remember that and keep quiet. ;o) Have fun at your dinner date on Friday!
-------------------------------
words-4-less - 2009-07-29 12:13:37
Nancy has a new boyfriend!!!! Have fun!!!!
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2009-07-29 13:28:59
Oh, the motion sickness. Sure, Dramamine helps; even Benadryl helps. But how drowsy do you want to be on a sailboat?****Some years ago, I acquired a pair of wristbands with a "button" that pressed on the nerve that monitors nausea. They were effective -- if only I could remember what they were called!****When I started to get dizzy watching one of the carousels at the House on the Rock, I pressed my thumbs into those same points and managed to control myself till I got out of the room.
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2009-07-29 14:06:54
Yay for special hugs!
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2009-07-29 14:30:49
Here's to Mr. Date, and getting special hugs! I could certainly do with some of those myself!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-07-29 15:22:47
With enough "scope" patches behind your ears, you can do anything!
-------------------------------
DSis - 2009-07-29 15:34:45
The part about the special hugs made me smile! Good for you!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-07-29 17:33:44
Sounds like some fun might be in order for you. Good luck and hope it goes well. Interesting about Norma and Blue....guess you can watch to see if the favoritism lessens...
-------------------------------
Joan - 2009-07-29 18:31:31
Nancy & Mr. Date sitting in a tree K I SS I N G Nevermind I'm a little "off."
-------------------------------
G - 2009-07-29 23:19:34
Howdeee Pilgrim... I see your gettin' back on the horse. Well, I'll be... (YEY!) (My John Wayne accent sucks, btw)
-------------------------------
Sis - 2009-07-29 23:52:29
The wrist bands are called "Sea-Band" I think you can get them otc in any drugstore. I have used them and while I'm not sure if they help, they can't hurt! Horray for the hugs!
-------------------------------
beyondpanic.diaryland.com - 2009-07-30 01:56:41
"Buyers are liars. The longer the story, the less truth there is in it." Love it!! Hey, I bought an iron from the Depot of Home few weeks ago and the damn thing is leaking - of course, you know I can't find the damn receipt...and I immediately thought of you and said to myself, Now you know Beanie wouldn't let you return that without the G.D. receipt! hahaha
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group