ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-09 ... 7:43 p.m.

previous - next

A day in the life of returns

I managed to get over 9 hours sleep last night, and so I don't at all feel the effects of the time change. It used to set me back for several days, but one good, long night of rest did it this time.

I also got up early enough that I could get a load of laundry in while I was doing my morning stuff on the computer. I was having so much fun I almost forgot about work! It sure is nice having the washer and dryer right outside my door, since I can hear it running and I know when it's done. Not having to drive to the laundromat totally cuts down the time it takes to do laundry! At least when it's only one load.

So off to work I went. I thought I would just check the schedule for the rest of the week, and make sure I was off tomorrow, like my schedule says. Nope. The HC put me on tomorrow, and gave me Saturday off. I can't complain about having Saturday off, but she asked me if she forgot to tell me about that... Oops. I said she had mentioned something about it, but she had said nothing definite. So I am totally going to make sure I check my schedule a couple times a week!

I spent the whole day in returns today. LazyBones was there the first part of the day. I know she got there early, and I'm sure she was tired, but she acted like she could barely drag herself around. She is only 20 years old! And always an excuse for not doing something. She was late yesterday, and I'm guessing she wouldn't have come in if no one had needed her bad enough to call and see why she was late. And yes, she's one of the full-timers.

She was only there with me for a couple of hours, and she LOVES taking the carts full of stuff to the departments, so at least that was getting done. Then Molly came in, and everything was ok until it came time for me to leave. I had mentioned to her that she needed to get to lunch about 5:45, but she waited until after 6 before she left. It was busy, but still, she should have gone.

Since I was off at 6:30, that meant overtime for me! Woot!! I didn't punch out until 6:51, so I will get at least 15 minutes of OT. Every 15 minutes helps!!

It has been getting busier, and we really don't have enough cashiers to fill the time slots needed. When I was supposed to go home, there was no one to come and take my place. I don't care! I like OT!!

The only problem is getting home later than expected, and when I work until 6:30, that means I'm eating supper after 7:30. Too late for me, especially when I have to work at 6:30 tomorrow morning.

Anyway, I enjoy working in returns, at least until I get a drunk or demanding customer. It's worst when they are drunk AND demanding. Then I just pass them off to the managers. They will cut them absolutely NO slack. Heh. It pays to be nice to the cashiers!

And I work all afternoon and evening on Wednesday (2-10:30) in returns. That should be fun, considering I'm there alone after 6:30. With the right HC and the right Special Services associate, we can have a blast! I'm looking forward to it....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

3 comments so far

orgami - 2009-03-10 03:33:54
Wow great for you Chaos overtime I remember at the Woodstove store back in 1985 they would send me to talk to the problem customers and I would troubleshoot the usual problems with the products and talk (GoG) gift of gab! Plants are wonderful at the soup kitchen today heard women talking about "Johnny Jump Ups" and I dont think I remember seeing these Will have to Google and have a look I never have asked Chloe what her job is like but I feel I know a bit about it from your descriptions You are a great writer too by the way I have read many many books and magazines over the years and with great flourish you give us your experiences without being too delicate or too much overburdern
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2009-03-10 11:28:18
I can't believe people go shopping when they're drunk! That's so sad...and scary. Is your manager responsible for making sure they don't drive away?
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-03-11 19:25:24
I don't understand why the younger people aren't more worried about keeping their jobs. Guess they really don't "get it" about the economy...probably think they can have parents give them money or use more credit cards. Aren't you lucky to have a Saturday off coming up...?
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group