ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-09-23 ... 8:36 p.m.

previous - next

A day in returns, most of the day anyway!

I was going to get to the ATM this morning before work and fill up my car with gas, because it was down to $3.59 at my local station, but I decided to just hang out here at home before work. I just felt lazy this morning, and wasted so much time that I barely was ready to go when it was time to leave. Oops!

I spent the majority of my time today in returns. It's actually not as scary as I expected, and any time there is a problem with something, it is assumed we will call one of the head cashiers, so I really don't feel like I'm bothering them with something stupid.

Returns is fast paced; the customers just don't stop coming. And we have to open EVERYTHING. People have filled paint cans with sand (for the weight) and tried to return it. So we have an opener right there, and a mallet to reclose the cans. I don't understand why people have to be so damn dishonest.

And today, one of the LP (loss protection) guys was standing in front of my register, talking into his phone and kind of hiding... saying "I don't see him, where did he go?" so I just kept my eye on him. Pretty soon he just booked it out of the store, with the other LP guy behind him, going after an old man with an oxygen tank. Seems the guy was stuffing things into the cover of the tank and not paying for them. It's pretty suspicious when someone with a Depot bag walks out the front door instead of the ones by the register.

After lunch, I got sent out to garden. One of the other girls, who was supposed to be in returns with me had been sent out there right after we both started (at 11). I'll call her Sport. Sport has been there 6 months, I've been there 3. She and I are both trying to get full time hours, so we are rivals in a way, but we are friendly rivals.

She has been pushing people to sign up for a Depot credit card. This card can only be used at the Depot, but you get $50 off your first purchase. So someone comes through her line with $70 worth of stuff and she's asking them if they want a card. She's gotten me doing the same thing, but she's got several more people signed up than I have. I told her she needs to take a couple weeks off to let me get caught up. Heh.

So we both ended up in garden for a while, which was fun. She's very energetic and creative. Norma came out while we were out there, and we were talking about hours. Tuesdays are spent mostly in meetings for the managers and department heads, and Norma said that no one "yelled" at her for adding on hours, so she should be able to add on more for both of us next week.

She also told us that one of the part time cashiers quit. Sport and I looked at each other, and said, "We'll split his hours!" So there are a few more! Woot!!!

Then after our last breaks, Norma took Sport back to returns, and I closed up the garden department. I was glad to get out and go home. I bought a plastic runner for my little hallway so I don't wear out the carpeting so fast, and got some cash to put gas in my car.

By the time I got to my local gas station, the price had gone down to $3.53, so I managed to get $30 worth in my car. Now I'm good for a week and a half, or thereabouts, depending on how much extra errands I do. At least the price is somewhat reasonable....

I said somewhat, OK? I still think it's awful to have to pay over $2 for a gallon of gas, but I'm thinking those days are gone. Oh well.

The evening goes pretty quickly when you don't get home till 8!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

Poolie - 2008-09-24 04:38:14
Was fun chatting with you!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-09-24 04:49:06
The days seem shorter when you get home later, but you're not nearly as tired (or at least I wasn't.)
-------------------------------
beauty4ashs - 2008-09-24 06:11:01
Yes, I'm okay, really. More pissed off than anything else. Some people have absolutely ATROCIOUS timing. Which is probably good, because I got mad instead of scared at the time.
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2008-09-24 06:14:44
I use to buy the "Oops" paints (ones people brought back, changed their mind about the color, etc...) regularly there to use for various home projects. Of course, with these there's no return. I got home and discovered someone had used approx. 1/2 of it, filled it back up with water, and returned it. Pretty rotten.
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-09-24 10:35:43
At least you guys are smart enough to wait until offering the $50 off card is viable for the customer. It irks me to no end when the Target cashiers ask me if I want to save 10% off my purchase when I have less than $10 or $20!! Um, yeah. I wanna run my credit so that I may apply for a card I don't need and to save me a buck or two. Sheesh!
-------------------------------
Joan - 2008-09-24 18:51:35
Some people are such cheaters...a couple of weeks ago I bought some ink for our HP printer at work, and when I opened it, there were two AA batteries neatly wrapped in cardboard. No ink. I guess someone had bought some ink, kept it and returned the box to the store..and it wasn't checked. How do they sleep at night? It's beyond me.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-09-24 19:20:41
It's really a statement about our society when people go out of their way to cheat....they spend much more time creating the lie than if they had done the right thing to begin with. I can imagine the horror stories will only get worse now that the holidays will be coming and the economy is getting worse. Gas in our area was at $3.78 this morning....down from $3.99 last week
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group