ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-08-14 ... 7:07 p.m.

previous - next

Returns hell

Today was returns hell day, although for the most part, I rather enjoyed it. My day started out smoothly enough. I didn't do much of anything until about 8, when our greeter came in to relieve me. It took him forever to get his till, so it was almost my lunch time before I got my first break.

That was ok by me, since I got to take my lunch a bit later. But in between my break and lunch, a man came in with a drill and a light fixture. HE was one of the people who made today what it was.

He told me he had the drill for 6 months, and it didn't work. He wanted me to exchange it for a new one for him. And of course, he had no receipt, not to mention a box or anything else. The drill looked like it had been well used in the previous 6 months. I told him our warranty was only for 3 months, and he had to take it to the Depot of Tools, which would repair it for him. He REALLY didn't like that idea.

The light fixture he told me he had for 8 months, and we don't currently sell the circular bulb for it, so he wanted a new fixture. I radioed electrical to come to returns, to see what was up with that, and turned around to see Liz, the HC right behind me. I explained both situations to her, and she ALSO told the man that we couldn't do anything for him on the drill. He got really angry, and insisted on an exchange.

Someone from hardware just happened to be there, who told him NO, that we haven't carried that drill for 2 years, so it couldn't possibly be only 6 months old, and we can't exchange it since we don't have any. The guy was really mad then! By that time, the electrician was there, who told the man we haven't carried that particular fixture since he started FOUR YEARS ago.

It was interesting to see how quickly the man changed his story about how long he'd had both of the items. I kind of think he was just trying to bully me, but instead, he ended up dealing with the only female ASM in the store, who totally refused him on the drill, but let him pick out a new light fixture that was similar. I had to go to lunch by that time, so I missed the conclusion of it.

Anyway, in between things, a lady brought back a light fixture that was broken. I exchanged it for a new one, and about ten minutes later, she was back with the new one, which also had a crack in it. This time, she looked at her third fixture before she left the store, and it was ok. She left happy, or so I thought.

After lunch, she came back with a vanity that she installed in her bathroom, and realized it had been installed before. I don't think that was the problem as much as the fact that one of the wood panels on the front was made with two different shades of wood. She asked for a discount on the new one, which I gave her, just because she was actually NICE to me, and it was kind of our fault for selling a previously installed vanity, and to make up for the pain of having to return the lights in the morning.

Incidentally, we are selling off all our lights (not sure which ones) and not replacing them... I think they are too much trouble to stock and return, and it might just be one of the least profitable items in the store. More on that later...

It was really busy in the afternoon, or what was my "after lunch" time and guess who came back? The lady with the light fixtures and vanity... the vanity was too small and they needed to repair the floor, so her workman was going to look for a new vanity. The discount I gave them was now irrelevant, since she returned the vanity. She left, and I told her workman that I was the only one who understood the whole situation, and that I would only be there for 30 more minutes. If he wanted a discount, he needed to come back to ME.

He did. He was my last customer, and made it just under the wire. I gave him a $30 discount for all the trouble they went through today. At least one of my customers left happy!

Add to all that, a fellow cashier who was away from returns more than she was there, a computer that needed to be rebooted, and a pinpad that didn't work. Hell, I say, HELL. But I left with a smile on my face... mostly because I was off at 2, and I could walk out of the mess. Heh.

It was a mess, too. None of the department people would come to pick up the stuff we were returning, and it was getting a bit congested in our little area. One of the HCs noticed, and started hauling shit back to the aisles. She's one HC that NO ONE messes with, and when she says, "Jump" everyone asks her "how high?" I was glad she was there!

On my way out, I bought another hummingbird feeder, to try to keep my alpha bird from chasing all the others away. Since I hung it up, I haven't seen many birds. I don't think the others have noticed the new feeder yet, so I'll give it a couple of days and see what happens.

I dozed for about an hour after I got home. Once I sat down, I just couldn't keep my eyes open. I had to make the decision of whether I should just go to bed, or try to stay awake enough until a reasonable hour. After all, it was only 4PM. I thought that might just be a bit early to go to sleep for the night. Besides, I would likely have woke up at midnight and not been able to get back to sleep.

At least I only have one more day of work, and then I can relax on Sunday... well, after I do the laundry and grocery shopping.... I'm sure I'll find time to chill!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

Sis - 2009-08-15 03:19:27
If you don't get any more hummingbirds, you can always return it to the Depot because it "doesn't work" But hopefully they'll find it!
-------------------------------
beyondpanic - 2009-08-15 03:41:35
I just love the return stories - especially when they start screaming. I get screamed at at least once a day - but I'm on the phone, so my job is probably easier.
-------------------------------
princesscee - 2009-08-15 03:42:13
No lights? As in bulbs, or fixtures? The fixtures and ceiling fans area is one of my fave browsing spots in the Depot. :) Of course, browsing and buying are two different things...
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2009-08-15 14:03:50
My son Jeffrey was a chronic returner. He almost always had buyer's remorse. He returned things so often at our local Wal-Mart that they just laughed when he came in.
-------------------------------
Holly - 2009-08-15 17:00:56
We get that at work too. People will call up with expired products (most have a shelf life of 18-24 months, and we only accept returns within 12 months of original purchase date) and expect a refund, because they never used the product, or they will return an empty bottle. Sorry Charlie. I only return things if they are defective, too small (and still have all the original tags) or I don't need it and it is still in original packaging. (unless it is some penny ante item, than I just suck it up and deal). Some people just astound me
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2009-08-15 18:35:02
That DID sound like a day from Hell.....but at least you got off work early enough to have some ME TIME at home before starting all over again.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group