ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-11-24 ... 10:59 p.m.

previous - next

Working hard in returns

Oooo I scored today on freecycle and I picked up 17 cans of Friskie's cat food for free! And it was only a few blocks from my house, too. Why do I need cat food? For the cats at work. I'm not sure who pays for the cat food, but there's no reason not to get it free if we can! Plus, no one ever buys them canned stuff, so this will be a real treat for them. Just in time for Thanksgiving.

I did my grocery shopping for the week this morning. I went to Albertsons, who advertises that if there's three or more people in a line they will open up another register. Hah! They will not! They didn't for me, so I had to use the self checkout. That's not a problem for me, since I know how to use it, but it still is kind of a pain. And I really wanted paper bags, but there's only plastic at the self check out area.

I hung around the house for a bit, and had to work 1:30 to 10. Yes, the closing shift, which I have twice this week. I was in returns though, so that made it a little better. Although the guy that was working there with me... well, let's just say I was working, I wasn't too sure what he did.

One of the girls at the special services desk commented to me about how slow he is, which is true. And not only is he slow, but he tends to wander the store. He will just leave his register, and be gone for a half hour, then come back and say he needs his break.

By the time I got back from lunch and he left for the day, returns was in a horrible mess! It took me probably an hour in between customers to get all the little things that were just lying around either RTVd or put in the department's carts so they could be restocked in the store. Cripes!

Oh well, it only served to make Norma happy that I was getting things done there. She commented that she didn't have to worry that returns would be looking shabby in the morning. I made absolutely sure it was in good shape when I left.

I even got a few more hours for next week, so even though I have to work two of the mornings when Kid is here, I will still have 36 hours for the week. That's a good thing, with Christmas coming up, and having to buy my son's textbooks for next semester. He's not thrilled about next semester, because he has labs three days a week and then discussions the other two, so he will have to drive to school 5 days a week, and that cuts down his available time to work. He's spazzing about money right now. I suggested he just do his best and it will work out. I'm keeping my fingers crossed it will.

Not much else. I'm pretty tired right about now but at least I have tomorrow off. My turkey is thawing in the fridge, and should be ready to cook by Thursday morning! Woot!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

Carolyn - 2008-11-25 11:44:52
You have cats at work? At the Depot of Home? Somehow I missed that. Are they in the garden area?
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-11-25 16:23:43
sounds like where i work! we have a cat that gets fed regularly (shhh! one of the ATCs contributes to this) and we have SEVERAL techs who roam the building doing virtually nothing. arrgh! anyway, good for you on the free kitty food. also, hope you have a nice T-day!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2008-11-25 17:54:36
It's sad that, when so many people would kill to have a job, some people don't appreciate having a steady job and than when being paid to do it, owe it to the company to do their best. If they'd step aside, people like you could really use their hours AND be a help, not a hinderance, to the company.
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-11-25 18:11:47
Sounds as if the cats are more reliable than some of the employees.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-11-25 19:16:56
Nice that you are treating the Depot of Home cats to a couple of tasty moist meals. I just returned from the K-mart we have left in our area. 4 lights indicating the lanes were open for customers but 3 of the cashiers were talking and wandering around the front of the store. One girl worked her cashier station. What's wrong with this picture. I think the lady who used to be in charge of the cashiers and really kept them in line is retiring and they are taking advantage...I even had to remind my cashier that she owed me $6 after she closed her drawer. Not good...
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group