ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-05-12 ... 4:38 p.m.

previous - next

A returns kind of day, and work news

So I went to work this morning at 6, expecting to be in garden. I wasn't. I was sent to returns! When Norma told me to go there, I asked her who was taking Liz's spot, now that she was promoted to head cashier. She said that it was "under discussion" because Brian (a cashier who has been there 3 months longer than me who also wants full time) would be one of the two people scheduled there... ME being the other. But Brian doesn't like the 5:30 AM shift, which I said I would work, if it meant being in returns every day. Woot!

I'm not sure I will be scheduled there full time, and they certainly aren't changing my status for it, but I wouldn't mind it, because returns seems to be the stepping stone into being a head cashier. Missy, the other new HC has worked a LOT of her hours in returns. I'm not sure why returns is so integral, but it is. So I am glad to take the hours working it.

Besides, there is a lot to learn in that store, and returns is a good place to learn a lot. I know better what goes in what department, and more about its placement in the store because of being in returns. And I am able to make decisions for myself there which is part of what I have to learn to do to be a HC. So.. cool.

It was busy in returns, and since a lot of people lately have been spending cash or using debit cards rather than charging things, I ended up giving out a lot of cash. I start the day with $500, and I got increases of $500 three more times before the end of the day. I had probably $300 left at the end. It was actually pretty fun!

A man came in and stopped at the door and looked at me, and said, "Beanie, turn around!" I just kind of looked at him, wondering what was up. He wanted to see my shirt, which he thought was really pretty! It's a red flowered shirt and it's really comfortable. He came and felt the fabric on the sleeve, and said he wished he had a shirt like it. I told him he couldn't have mine! Hee!!

I did hear Norma telling the HR person to schedule me for the early returns shifts, but they want to split them up between me and someone else. I told the HR person I would work as many of them as they wanted me to, so she didn't need to be stingy with them. I guess we'll see how many I have when the next schedule goes up.

I got to sleep a little earlier last night, and felt pretty good this morning. I heard doors and the gate slamming a couple times, so I know my neighbor was home at times. He's out on his porch now talking on the phone, saying that he had someone over and they had been arguing, but I never heard anything. He seems to argue a lot. At least he's keeping it to himself late at night.

Anyway, it was nice to come home this afternoon and not fall asleep! I work late tomorrow, so I will have some time to have breakfast at home. I will definitely have to invest in a thermos or something if I'm going to be working that early that often. I'm excited about that! Especially since it seems to be the way to get either full time or promoted. And of the three of us who want full time, I am the only one who enjoys working in returns. Yay!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

Sis - 2009-05-13 01:15:39
Good luck! Maybe the others can't handle the early hours!
-------------------------------
im2qt2kr - 2009-05-13 05:33:50
Your willingness to work any hours and any department will pay off. Despite having more time in at the store, YOU have the background experience of working in a store and management skills. Just remember, cream rises to the top, and you my friend, are the cream of the crop!
-------------------------------
LA - 2009-05-13 12:07:49
Excellent! As you said, returns is the right place to learn to make the judgment calls that management wants you to do to prep for HC. Great news, hon! ~LA
-------------------------------
Sandyz - 2009-05-13 12:52:19
Oh...I hope you get the job you so desire. :) Love reading about your work days. Hope your Mothers Day was a good one. Sandyz
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2009-05-13 14:27:21
Stay the course, matey!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-05-13 16:15:48
Good luck....I am sure that because you are so willing to work early hours and do whatever, whenever, that you will be a serious contender for the job. Besides they already know you are good with customer service and thorough in whatever you do....
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group