ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-01-05 ... 6:38 p.m.

previous - next

Working in messy returns

I worked all day in returns today. I'm used to being there later in the day and closing, and it's not usually as hectic. It got to be a pretty big mess with things not getting to the departments to put away because.... they have cut labor to the bone and there is no one to come and get the stuff! I was there alone most of the day, so I couldn't leave to take stuff and dump it off in the departments.

I was sure watching for an employee with a bucket full of stuff going out the door, but I don't think they had anyone to spare. That was a good thing for me. And the reason they use employees for this little test is because most of the theft is from the employees... with big lunchboxes walking out with things, or figuring that one employee will never question another. Plus, you don't want to show any customers just how easy it is to steal.

I don't like the way they do it, but there isn't much I can do about it but make sure to keep my eyes open and not get caught on it. The problem yesterday with Blue was that she got too vocal with Jason about it, and it was in front of customers. I'm glad she had today off, it gave her time to cool down a bit, although if I'm guessing right, she's still pretty angry about it. I guess time will tell.

So they sent the kid (I know I've mentioned him before, he was hired to be a full-time greeter) over to do my lunch break in returns. I came back after a half hour, and he split right away. He came back about 15 minutes later though, when a customer came back to complain to Jason (who was helping me clean things up) that the kid had messed up his return. It took Jason AND Norma about 10 minutes to figure out what he did and correct it. I was just laughing to myself. I'm just hoping he will have enough rope soon to hang himself. Heh.

In other news, I've been taking my alternate route to work, and it's lovely! Not only is the highway dead, even at 9AM, I can see ocean and ships and planes for a good portion of my ride. Well, at least when it's light out. But the harbor is pretty at night, too. So YAY!!

Tomorrow is my day off. I'm really looking forward to that!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

Poolie - 2009-01-06 04:02:23
You must have discovered Pacific Highway!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2009-01-06 04:04:42
Dang... I'd love to be able to drive to work alongside the ocean...
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-01-06 04:08:57
What a beautiful ride you must have!! Enjoy your day off tomorrow.
-------------------------------
Cosmic - 2009-01-06 05:07:59
Have a lovely day off!
-------------------------------
Fifi - 2009-01-06 11:10:00
Do you know Beanie, that we call your store "The Home Despot"? In a friendly way, of course! XOFifi
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-06 16:52:57
Seems kind of sad that they expect the employees to catch another one and tell on them. Not that I condone stealing from your employer...and I know it goes on big time...but that doesn't seem to create much cooperation and friendship among the troops if all of them are watching each other for doing the bad stuff.... But that's why I am not in management!!! Hope you continue to dazzle them with your good work ethics and continue to get the 40 hours you need each week. I was in a store yesterday and overheard an employee calling the office to say she had a bunch of stuff to put away that wasn't in her dept. and did they want her to leave her dept. to return the items or what? Sounds like the stores are all going to the bare bones in employment...it's no wonder with the economy where it is right now.
-------------------------------
Joan - 2009-01-06 20:04:34
You are right up there with Balboa, he discovered the Pacific Ocean too!!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group