ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-08 ... 4:53 p.m.

previous - next

Bookshelves are together!

It was nice to sleep until I woke up today, instead of the alarm waking me up, or waking up five minutes before the alarm. I even woke up early enough that I could have made it to work on time if I'd had to work today... that's a good thing to know!

And I could just laze around since I had nothing pressing to do. Another plus for a day off! So I took my time getting myself together, and then decided to put my bookcase together, even if I didn't put the books on it. It all seems pretty dry, but the can of polyurethane said to wait 24 hours for light use, 48 for regular use, so I might just wait to put the books on it. It's been 24 hours since I put the last coat on....

Anyway, here it is, naked... errr... without books.

Photobucket

There are two blocks on top of each other in the corner, they are each four inches tall.. so the corner is a little over two feet tall. There should be enough room for my books...

And bluesleepy suggested putting a comfy chair near that corner, so it's kind of like a little reading nook. What a great idea! I just love the way it turned out, and hopefully the boards will be strong enough to hold the books... if not, I know where I can get some more bricks, and boards, if I need them. Woot!

My only project for the day was to get a decent pair of shoes to wear at work. Crocs are not allowed (I asked) and sometimes I just don't want to wear my clunky boots, although I might during the winter, depending on how cold it gets in the store. So I went to a store where I knew they sold wide width shoes. But all their shoes were over $100 a pair!

I was kind of thinking I might just have to bite the bullet and pay that much when I came across a DSW shoe store. I got a nice, comfortable pair for $45. They are Saucony, and I've worn that brand before. They have a good arch support in them, and there aren't many shoes that are that comfy right away. And I loved the price!

I also signed up for their frequent buyer program since it was free. I will get a $10 coupon in the mail, and more coupons every time I spend a certain amount. I have to check that out, but even to get a $10 coupon on my next purchase was worth the couple minutes it took to fill out the coupon.

Then back home to drag my rocking chair outside, since it kind of smells like *ahem* my old house.. smoky and like cats.. I'm hoping I can fix the smell, or I will have to dump the chair and get a different one. Since it's the only living room chair I have other than one of those "fold up in the bag" type of chairs, I pretty much need it. So it can air out for a couple days.

I checked out all the grocery ads for my shopping expedition tomorrow afternoon. Or maybe I'll wait until Thursday. It's nice to take it one day at a time, and not have pressing needs.. as long as I have milk, cereal, bagels and coffee, I am good. I have plenty of other food so I can go for a while without shopping. But Henry's always has great fruit for a really good price. Yummy! Smoothies!!!

Ooo I just can't wait to get the bookshelves filled up. I think I'll work on the kitchen a bit more to distract myself. Heh. That's almost done, too, if Mr Fix-It would just finish the floor....... he will have to come soon, or I'll be calling him! I hope to have everything finished by the time Kid comes on the 21st for her visit! Woot!! I just know she will love California!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

Blue Opal - 2008-07-09 00:37:43
I like your bookcases - they're a good size and yeah, will definitely be the start of a nice, cozy reading nook. As for the rocking chair, airing it out will help but it'll probably take months before all the smell ebbs - if it ever does. Here's hoping before much longer you'll be making enough to afford to buy a new chair :)
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-07-09 00:56:24
Oh! Now that you mention about the weight, you might have to support the middle of each shelf with more bricks. But that'd be an easy fix. They turned out so wonderfully, though. And congrats on comfy AND inexpensive shoes!!
-------------------------------
art - 2008-07-09 01:09:00
try fabreeze for the chair and let it sit outside for a week or so, the odor should go away by then!! that bookshelf looks swell!!!
-------------------------------
Fifi - 2008-07-09 01:19:06
Beanie, I am so proud of you! You must love your new life soo much! Yay! You are a Good Example! XOFifi
-------------------------------
sduckie - 2008-07-09 03:09:13
Someone just told me that "Simple Solution" is the best for getting out smells, particularly animal smells- you can get it at the pet store. How nice your reading nook will be with a chair, maybe a little side table for a cup of tea!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-07-09 05:19:09
Great bookcases!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-07-09 11:29:38
Your bookcases are tr�s chic! (well, more like rustic, but way cool!)
-------------------------------
purple chai - 2008-07-09 12:15:06
Bookcase looks great. I'm going to DSW today with two $10 coupons, it's definitely worth it to sign up with them. (And to the doctor with a question about little pills, too.)
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2008-07-09 15:04:10
Nice book cases! If you know you'll have a few days without rain, try covering your chair in baking soda for at least 24 hours, then vacuum it all off - it might take a few tries, but it usually works, then you could try some commercial spray like Febreze or outst.
-------------------------------
Joan - 2008-07-09 15:57:24
The bookcase is very cool. You might need bookends for the top shelf. Or you could space books up there along with some knick knacks. Knick Knacks...ha ... that looks funny typed out. Or is it nick nacks...no I don't think so. Okay, I'm going now.
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group