ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-07-31 ... 7:42 p.m.

previous - next

Work and shopping

Today was supposed to be a day off for me, but Tuesday work called and asked if I could work another day. YES!! So it was today, and I worked 10-6:30. I love those hours, and I let one of the head cashiers know it. It's not so early you have to get up with the alarm clock, and I'm not at work so late that I'm left out of things. I really do like these hours! Hopefully I could have more of them, so I begged mentioned I would like more. I guess we'll see.

I have kind of had trouble figuring out the back office. They are the ones that send us money, through a tube system. We are supposed to strip the register of excessive cash and send it back. I guess I waited a bit too long today and sent them $1300 and they let me know that was unacceptable. It was really busy, and it takes a couple minutes to strip and send the money, so I just put it off until I had time.

I no sooner got off the phone with them, had a couple customers, and then got one lady who had contracted for some work and products, for the grand retail of over $2400. She paid for it in cash. Really, who walks around with that much cash??!?!?!?! As soon as I got it, I printed up a strip sheet and sent it to the office. They called again to yell at me, since they had JUST talked to me about it, but I managed to get in that it was from ONE transaction, and I sure didn't want it sitting in my register! That seemed to calm them down a bit, thankfully!

There are so many of these little things that are part of the job that you can really only learn by doing them, and being told what you did wrong. I'm hoping that I've got most of them down by now. I did talk to another cashier about how to fix that strip situation, and he suggested just printing up the paperwork, and sending it when I have time, instead of doing it all at once. I think that's a pretty good idea. I will have to try that from now on!

So other than that, the day went pretty well. I stopped at Henry's on the way home for some produce, since I was totally out of fruits and veggies except for a head of lettuce. While I was there, I met someone from the Auto Museum, Warren, who lives about two blocks from Henry's. It was funny, because I had been thinking about him while I was driving, because I knew he lived close to there. He is so cute!!!

And now I'm home, just starting to read emails and stuff, and still have to put my groceries away. But at least I will have some delicious fruits for my break tomorrow! Woot! Fruit! Heh.

previous - next

Kiss Me!

10 comments so far

sbellem - 2008-08-01 03:11:02
You sound so happy these days!
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-08-01 03:12:18
Huh. It's interesting to see how different companies do different things. At the computer store, I never was asked to take money out of my till in the middle of the day. If I had a big purchase, it just stayed in my till until the end of the day. And working in a computer store, we had a LOT of money coming through our hands. People are strange with the cash -- I've had people pull five grand out of their pockets to pay for a new computer.
-------------------------------
mpeacock - 2008-08-01 03:28:35
Gotta love the Depot!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-08-01 03:29:48
Warren???
-------------------------------
Rosie - 2008-08-01 03:52:06
In the old days, I'd be the type walking around with tons of cash. If I didn't have at least $500 on me, I felt broke! My, how the mighty have fallen! And I'm going to imitate Poolie: Warren??? Is he really cute? Poolie can tell us! And just how old is he? Are his intentions honorable? Inquiring minds want to know!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-08-01 05:43:51
In followup of Rosie, I certainly HOPE Warren is cute. Just like I HOPE his intentions aren't entirely honorable. You're due a little dishonorable attention these days *snickers* It really is amazing the difference in your diary now. Funny what it's like when you shed a few hundred unwanted pounds, a la ex-husbands!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-08-01 05:48:10
Come to think of it - it's wild to see how late you're online these days, LOL!
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-08-01 11:15:53
Of course you're late; I have to keep reminding myself you're in Pacific time now. That 6:30 finishing time is 9:30 here. *** So $1,000 is the top for the office, huh? Wouldn't they have loved it, the day one of my Brazilian customers brought in $17,000,000 (yes, that's 17 thousand), all in cash! I had a helluva time getting it into the bank.
-------------------------------
fightn4life - 2008-08-01 12:41:57
It is wonderful to read about everything going well for you...you sound so happy. There was a time I felt I failed miserably down south but time here has allowed me to see I just was not happy. That had to come within and I was searching around me. You have found the inner peace and I admire you. It feels great to be back in touch with the world and will continue to read about your new life. With love, Sandyz
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-08-01 16:14:22
I like Depot of Homes term for that much better. They call is 'bleeding' the tills where I work. I would rather strip than bleed....I think.....
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group