ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-11-26 ... 10:52 p.m.

previous - next

10 shopping rules

I worked the closing shift at the Depot of Home today, and I must say, I really enjoyed it. It quiets down the last hour the store is open, and it was really quiet tonight because it started raining. Plus the last hour after the store is closed is pretty peaceful, with no customers and I can get my area cleaned up and looking spiffy for the next day.

I just wish I could do something about the mice that I see zipping by...

Anyway, I was thinking about some of the things customers do that are just strange. Most could be cured by a dose of common sense, but that can be in short supply some days.

1. If you are writing a check, PLEASE don't wait until everything is rung up, and then take your checkbook out. If you have to wait in line, use that time to at least fill in what you can.. the store name, the date, your signature. People behind you don't want to wait that long!

2. This involves the PIN pads, the thing you swipe your card through. Pay attention to what it says, and when it asks "Is the amount OK?" don't stand and look at it like it's in a foreign language. OK, so for some of our customers it IS a foreign language, but those aren't the ones who can't figure out the machine!

3. If you are using a debit card, DON'T walk away from it until the cashier hands you your receipt. An unscrupulous cashier can answer YES when it asks if you want cash back and take your cash if you've already left. I wouldn't do that, but there are people who would.

4. DON'T BANG ON THE PIN PAD!!!! It's an electronic device, and the buttons are on a TOUCH screen. You only need to TOUCH it with the pen, you don't need to pound on it. And people wonder why they don't work....

5. Don't bother telling me how many of something you have, I will recount it. This goes for returns, too. I often recount to find that the customer has more (or less) than they told me. I'm never sure if they are cheating or not....

6. When you can see the screen, and the only choice on it is STORE CREDIT, don't insist I give you cash, because I can't. I can only do what the computer will let me. I don't care if you are leaving the country tomorrow, and want $2.50 in cash instead of store credit. I called my manager, but you ran out the door instead of talking to her. Makes me wonder if you stole the boxes you were trying to return... since the only reason I had to give you store credit was because you didn't have a receipt!

7. The cashier doesn't make the rules. She is the one who has to tell you what they are. Don't bitch at her (or him) and insist on seeing a manager, and then be all sweet as pie when the manager comes, and do exactly what they tell you to do, which is exactly what the cashier told you. It makes the cashier want to throw that ball peen hammer at your head as you go out the door.

8. Don't wait until the cashier gets everything rung up, and has taken your cash and is handing you your change to ask her if she can put it on your credit card. You should have thought of that before! And no, she can't return everything and ring it up again so you can do that. There are 6 people in line behind you who are in a big hurry. Isn't everyone?

9. If you ARE in a big hurry, don't just come into the store for one thing, and expect that people will let you skip in line because you were supposed to be at the doctor's office five minutes ago. Plan ahead, and give yourself extra time. I'm sure your doctor will appreciate it, too.

10. Last but not least, PLEASE don't talk on your cell phone throughout your transaction. You aren't paying attention to what you are buying, and trust me, the people in line behind you don't want to hear you bitching at whoever it is you are talking to... although sometimes it can be great entertainment for the rest of us!

Have a great Thanksgiving everyone, and be kind to the cashiers in your life!

Woot!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

11 comments so far

Shippie - 2008-11-27 08:16:18
Happy Turkey Day to you. Say hi to my crew and give them all big hugs for me. And have fun playing Dictionary....lol....oh just you wait! You will have sooooo much fun!
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-11-27 10:50:13
1) Happy Thanksgiving 2) The only time I inform the cashier how many I have of something are my multiple gallons of water. I typically buy 12 to 14 gallons at a time, and I think it's easier to give them one gallon to ring and then quanity the rest. 3) when i used to write checks, i *TRIED* to save the cashier time by filling out as much of the check as possible including that little "t-box" thingy where you put the DL#, check number, etc. etc. but a lot of cashiers would cross it out and re-write it. sheesh! otherwise, i follow all the other rules like a good little customer. *wink*
-------------------------------
Shear - 2008-11-27 12:48:56
Happy Thanksgiving! Hug the stuffing out of Poolie, Roomie and Mia Farrow for me. Wait! Do NOT hug the stuffing out of them. That would not be nice. Give them all a gentle hug for me. That's better.
-------------------------------
Carolyn - 2008-11-27 13:18:39
This entry was hysterical. I think you should print it and hang it by your register! Happy first Thanksgiving in your new life!
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-11-27 14:05:23
See you in a few!
-------------------------------
Bornearly - 2008-11-27 14:05:58
The Depot of Home is LUCKY to have you. Have a wonderful, joyful Thanksgiving and thank YOU for reminding us what it means to enjoy your work. xo
-------------------------------
Kathy - 2008-11-27 14:18:07
Ah, retail. Isn't it great? My brother works at L0wes and has some similar stories.
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-11-27 15:27:33
Happy Thanksgiving!! And I could write a very similar list!! And I think I will! hee hee.
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-11-27 15:36:00
#5. When I have several of something, I *ask* the cashier "do I have ten of those?" I'm checking myself as well as him/her. #10. AMEN Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-11-27 20:22:11
I sometimes tell the cashier "I should have XX of those" only because I want to know if I counted wrong. And I never blame the cashier if I did - I'm more likely to thank him/her for giving me the right number. Happy Thanksgiving!
-------------------------------
iidlyyyckma - 2008-11-27 22:05:40
Happy Thanksgiving! And I will tell you how many items I have because you are capable of making a mistake:):) Yes?
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group