ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-06-21 ... 6:07 p.m.

previous - next

A stay at home day

Today was a stay at home day. I only left the house to put something in my car, and to water what's left of the grass, and the cacti that are out there. Mostly mine, I noticed some of them were looking kind of puny.

When I got up this morning, my goal was to completely finish one room. Since I can't do much in the rest of the house, that one room was my bedroom. I knew I would have to rearrange, because of the position of the outlets in the room. So... here is my room!

Photobucket

My bed used to be under these windows:

Photobucket

but that only gave me one outlet that was near the head of the bed. So having a lamp and an alarm clock plugged in was the most I could do. Plus, the light switch on the wall controlled an outlet on the other end of the room. So, the bed is now opposite the windows:

Photobucket

I'm sure I won't get the sun in my eyes any more in the morning, and maybe it won't be as chilly in the winter, not being up against the outside wall. The fourth wall of my room has my closet, and it takes up most of that wall..

Photobucket

I know there aren't any doors on it, I kind of like it that way. I might just tell Mr Fix-It not to bother installing any doors there, and I'm sure that wouldn't be a problem for him.

The walls are kind of bare, but I don't have anything to hang pictures with, so they will be bare for now. But, WOOT!! It's done! And other than towel bars (and fish), the bathroom is pretty much finished, too.

And the bonus: I emptied four boxes by finishing up my room. It does give one a sense of accomplishment!

One of the things I pulled out of a box was a lock-box type of thing that Mom had stuff in for me. I haven't looked at it since I got it, almost two years ago. I just moved it along. The reason it was so heavy was that there were about a half-ton of pennies in there. Mom and Dad started penny books for me, and collected pennies, sorted by year... and collected... and collected. Hence (neener) the half-ton of pennies. I added my own stock of pennies to them and I plan on taking them to the bank. No, I didn't look through them. I saved the ones from my birth year, and a little can of some really old ones, and the steel ones, and dumped the rest into a box. Hopefully I can carry them into the bank. Heh.

I also happened upon a stash of dollar coins that I had forgotten about... like thirty of them. They are not old ones, but current ones, so I won't feel bad if I spend them. Gee, the things you find when cleaning! Made it sort of a profitable day!

It's been pretty warm here, most days it's 90 or more by 11AM. Right now in my bedroom it's 91. (I found a thermometer, too!) There is a nice cool breeze coming in the bedroom windows, so it's really not too bad. At least right now, I was sweating quite profusely (neener) earlier while I was moving the furniture around. I've been drinking water all day, emptying a bottle and refilling it, putting it in the fridge and taking another out. I think I've drank almost a half gallon by now.

And the kitchen? It's kind of a disaster area. There are dirty dishes in the sink (OMG!!) but the best part about it is that no one is yelling at me to clean it up. It's a little piece of heaven...

So the rest of the house has to wait for furniture.. I am getting a couch relatively soon, my only problem is where to put it. I need to have Mr Fix-It bring the cable in so I can figure out where to put my TV... then I will know where to put the couch for optimum viewing pleasure... hee hee. So far in the living room I have a chair, the TV and a stand for it. As you can tell, I don't watch much TV.

I needed a little noise in here today while I was working, so I put some CDs in the computer to play... I found out after that there is a LOT of music on my computer, things the kids put on to burn CDs with. I have probably 15 hours or more of music. Another good find today! Whee!

Time for a little Pogo.. I didn't do much of that today at all. Ohhh withdrawals!!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

16 comments so far

DSis - 2008-06-22 02:19:04
Glad to hear you are able to start "settling in." It is a good feeling to get at least one room done. Way to go!
-------------------------------
wordwhore - 2008-06-22 02:39:09
it's nice to see that you're still daily but now without the chaos =)
-------------------------------
art - 2008-06-22 02:39:16
now that makes perfect sense putting the bed where you got it now!!! thats the way it should be!! and i agree you dont need doors for the closet!!! seems like you is settling in nicely!! woot!
-------------------------------
Diane - 2008-06-22 02:51:07
I have to agree with wordwhore. Initially I thought you were making a mistake but you've never sounded happier and more at peace. I'm glad I was wrong. You remind me of me when I was finally adjusted to being single except you've done it much faster than I did. You were really ready!
-------------------------------
fightn4life - 2008-06-22 03:19:10
Hey, I have that lamp. :) Mom got it for me and it is beside my bed, how cool is that. :) Enjoy your new place it's looking good, Sandyz
-------------------------------
Mary - 2008-06-22 03:32:20
Chilly in the winter? In San Diego? After you moved from Wisconsin? Excuse me while I go collapse with laughter!!!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-06-22 03:48:55
Love you quilt! And the location of the bed makes perfect sense, all things considered :) You're getting there!
-------------------------------
poolie - 2008-06-22 04:52:51
It is sure starting to look like home! A far cry from when I last saw the place!
-------------------------------
sduckie - 2008-06-22 04:53:40
How pretty! It all looks very light and sunshiney, much different than Wisconsin, now?
-------------------------------
requiel - 2008-06-22 05:53:04
Ooo, I love your quilt too! It looks like fun going through all that stuff.
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2008-06-22 10:17:25
91 INSIDE the house???? Yikes!! I would be a puddle! Glad to see you getting stuff accomplished and more settled. That is so awesome **hug**. Lovely quilt....did your Mom make it?
-------------------------------
Marna - 2008-06-22 16:41:52
How come no AC? I love your quilt:):) You are really in your own place, how awesome is that. I have that book, and am reading it now:)
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-06-22 16:47:16
thanks for sharing the pictures of the bedroom. I like the quilt too! I think I would want doors on the closet because you can put more stuff inside and then shut the door and the room looks neat. Sounds like you continue to make lots of progress.....Just how long is it going to take Mr. Fix-it to get the jobs done? I think putting in the a/c should be a priority for sure. Good luck with the continuing job hunt.
-------------------------------
Rowie - 2008-06-22 19:41:51
The place looks fantastic! It's new, fresh and all yours. It takes time finding things to fill the rooms and wall space. Personally, I'm on a five year plan. Way to go!
-------------------------------
Aristocratic Red - 2008-06-22 20:52:48
Your room looks awesome, and so clean, little jealous, I have to say. I just hope that Mr. Fix-It gets on the ball so you can start feeling more at home!
-------------------------------
psis - 2008-06-23 00:21:48
Your bedroom looks really nice--I'm glad to see your bedroom lamp made the trip with you. Your quilt looks great--We have major mosquitos up here now
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group