ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-08-09 ... 8:39 p.m.

previous - next

Something new!!

This morning, early, I went downtown. I noticed a homeless man dancing on the sidewalk, just bebopping along.... obviously to the tune of his own drummer. The reason I was there was to pick up this:

Photobucket

Not a great picture, I know, and there is another speaker. I got it from Freecycle. It was totally free! I really wanted it because I have a bunch of LPs (remember those?) and no way to listen to them. Of course, the one thing I can't get to work is the turntable. I've emailed the guy who gave it to me, and hopefully he can give me a clue on what I've done wrong. Only one of the speakers is working right now, but I'm sure that's just the way I hooked it up. It's been a while since I've assembled a stereo!

Today was crazy driver day here in San Diego, or maybe someone was just in a rush. For all this person's indecision, and lane switching, and other shenanigans (neener) on the highway, he arrived at the Sports arena just about the same time I did. I watched him, driving ahead of me, and I made sure to stay behind him because I sure couldn't tell what he was doing!

I spent my entire morning working on the stereo, and the rest of the day at work. I will be very happy when the kids all go back to school and cut their hours, and then have to work all the evening and weekend hours, leaving week day days for me. I'm kind of getting tired of working every weekend, but I will put up with it for now. I don't think that will last much longer.

I managed to get out in the garden area for about an hour tonight, but since it was dead out there, and busy inside, they brought me back in. Things seem to be going well, I don't have much problem with figuring things out lately. Guess I've learn a bit in the past 5 weeks. And I'm being scheduled for 40 hours now, not just 32 and then adding a day on, but actually on the schedule for 40. Woot! It will be interesting to see what my paychecks will be when I'm working that many hours.

Not much else going on here. I'll finish putzing with the stereo tomorrow and see if I can figure out what my problem is. Errr where I went wrong hooking it up. I haven't even tried out the 5-disc CD player yet. Woot! Something to look forward to!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

6 comments so far

Orgami - 2008-08-10 04:27:14
the turntable I remember the romance of the needle the careful placing the satisfying hiss and pop the richness of serenading flooding from the speakers had forgotten who you were was wondering who Coco bean was I like the new name sounds light and lively groovy even Was listening to CCR lately wow what a cool band!! something about a jungle what great old rock! "the old man down the road" so glad to hear you are doing well so very glad
-------------------------------
Rattus Regina - 2008-08-10 05:02:08
Yay for speakers! Whooo!
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-08-10 06:22:09
Isn't freecycle WONDERFUL? You can score the most amazing things!
-------------------------------
mpeacock - 2008-08-10 14:16:26
A recoed player, oh the memories :)
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-08-10 15:05:37
My real mom had a set-up very much like that!! I keep wanting to get a phonograph, but Kurt refuses. They have them on sale at BJ's, brand-spankin' new. Of course, I don't NEED one, which is Kurt's point...
-------------------------------
Terri T - 2008-08-10 22:18:23
Maybe you have to balance a penny on the needle arm to weigh it down...remember doing that?
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group