ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-10-07 ... 8:07 p.m.

previous - next

A much better day, and more pictures

I went for a walk this morning before work, but I decided to change my route. I thought today I would walk on the sidewalk, and instead of walking IN Juniper canyon, I would cross it on the street.

On the way, I saw some pretty flowers

Photobucket

and some Halloween things

Photobucket

The street takes me down a hill, and then back up one to cross the canyon. In no way does it go to the bottom of the canyon, there are steep hills on the side where one can get down to the bottom if that is what you want, like this lady who was walking her dog.

Photobucket

This is from the top of the hill on my side of the canyon. You can't really see the street until it comes up the other side

Photobucket

There are picky things along the way..

Photobucket

And a huge yucca plant that is as tall as I am!

Photobucket

This is from the top of the hill on the other side. See those two little bitty cars waaaay over just above the middle? That's about where I stood to take the other picture!

Photobucket

I just want to say, walking up and down that hill just kicked my butt! It was a much better workout than going down into the canyon, and I didn't have to pay as much attention to where my feet were. I walked all the way to Rebecca's coffee shop and back. I can check the mileage with my car, and that's a plus too. It took me just under an hour.

I came home, took a shower and got ready for work. What a surprise when I got there and I wasn't restricted from the time clock! And there on the daily log from yesterday was my half hour of overtime. Woot!! Nice to start the work day out with a pleasant surprise.

Then I was sent to returns. I am liking it more and more! It's a lot more relaxed than being on the line cashiering, and I must admit, I love watching the people coming in and out of the door. There is a big push on for us returns people to greet everyone who walks in. Sometimes it's hard, especially when you're already talking to another customer, and they want you to stop and say hello to whoever walks in. Well, we try, but sometimes it's just rude to do that.

So my partner there was working, and I was taking a cart out the front door. A man walked in, and I said, "Hello, Sir" like I do to everyone (well, at least the men haha) when I realized he was the store manager. He asked how I was doing, and I said, "Good, how are you?" to which he replied he was doing fine. Then he stopped to say thank you to me, for greeting him the way I did. Of course, I said he was welcome, and we both went on our way.

Dang! I got a high-five from Norma in the breakroom for that, and TWO virtual pats on the back from two of the assistant managers. Woot!! Apparently it was a good start to everyone's day! Heh. Way to make some brownie points there!

When I took my break, Norma and her next in command were working on next week's schedule (where I still had 24 hours, cause I got 8 from someone else) and I mentioned that I would take more hours, since there is a "cashier olympics" going on. It's cashier appreciation month at the Depot of Home. I agreed to come in for the contests if it would get me more hours, so not only did I get those, but I got enough hours to get up to 40! Hooray!! The next week is TOMBSTONE!!! so I need 40 the week before and the week after to make sure I can pay the rent.

AND... I didn't spill my soup when I put it in the microwave like I did yesterday.

I worked most of the afternoon with a young man, we can call him Steve. He told me of all the people who were working in returns today, he liked working with me the best, because I didn't avoid work like the other two. Dang. I almost started crying! He's been there a few years, so I know he has influence with Norma... heh. But I told him I like the customer service aspect of businesses, and that's why I like returns, because I can see so many more customers. Yay!

It's so nice to leave work with a smile on your face, especially when the smile isn't just because you are leaving work. What a change from yesterday!

When I started driving off, I realized just how much traffic there was. Thankfully, it was going the other way.. people were coming to see Neil Diamond at the arena across the street from the Depot. The cars were backed up for about a half mile onto the freeway, which is about a mile from the arena. I could only hope that Poolagirl and Big Sister were already safely ensconced (neener) in their seats with extra underwear for throwing.

And to make my day even better, I had a nice long chat with Cosmic, one of my first buddies on Dland. We are all sad she can't make it to Tombstone, but there's always next year!

Time to post this, and find a book for reading in bed.....

previous - next

Kiss Me!

13 comments so far

Blue Opal - 2008-10-08 05:11:03
Woohoo for a better day! I hope tomorrow is good too. :)
-------------------------------
Erianne - 2008-10-08 07:12:06
Good days are so much better for you...glad you had one!
-------------------------------
Shear - 2008-10-08 10:38:18
Girl! I'd be breathless trying to walk up and down those hills! Beautiful scenery. You'll never grow tired of looking at that. Glad you had a great day at work, too. Dontcha love good days like that?
-------------------------------
michele - 2008-10-08 11:27:04
i am so excited when you post photos... it's almost as if i'm right there with you. what gorgeous scenery, too. and the skelton in the dirt...that literally made me laugh out loud right here at my desk!!!
-------------------------------
l\'empress - 2008-10-08 12:38:05
So glad you had a good day. It helps make up for the icky ones.
-------------------------------
margie - 2008-10-08 13:05:06
Glad your day was better. Thanks for sharing the photos. Beautiful scenery.
-------------------------------
art - 2008-10-08 14:18:37
wow! ill leave the steep hill walking to you! i could not do that!! good stuff on the job front!! woot!
-------------------------------
Requiel - 2008-10-08 14:27:37
That is so cool! All of it...the walk, the beautiful pics, getting your overtime pay, getting props at work. You are so awesome.
-------------------------------
Poolie - 2008-10-08 14:44:38
You walked that hill???? You are amazing! Actually, getting INTO the concert was a snap cuz we entered from the other direction. It took us 45 minutes to get out of the parking lot!
-------------------------------
Joan - 2008-10-08 15:42:29
What a difference a day makes!! Good for you. You sure have beautiful scenery there.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2008-10-08 20:28:11
Glad you got the extra time on your timecard especially since you were so busy working; you did't realize it was time to leave. Way to go on all the good stuff at work too. Glad you got 40 hours for next week. Looking forward to meeting you soon.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-10-09 01:09:24
That's a HUGE hill, my friend! But what lovely scenery to walk through. I'm so glad you didn't get in trouble for the OT, and that you made a great impression on the store manager. Way to go, my friend!!!
-------------------------------
DSis - 2008-10-12 02:52:14
Good job on the greeting�one never knows who is around a corner or who an unassuming customer might know.

It is so good to hear you like to work in returns -- I always feel so guilty causing more work by returning stuff. Nice to hear someone enjoys it. Gotta run to Walmart to return some stuff now!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group