ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2009-03-04 ... 7:08 p.m.

previous - next

Getting stuck

One comment about yesterday, the plumber DID clean my kitchen floor, just not the way I would have cleaned it, so I just scrubbed it myself. I would have been doing it soon anyway, so it wasn't that big of a deal.

As for the girl with green hair, I guess it was just the whole package.. this girl was dressed pretty strange, and I know that might be what she was after, but some times, it's just a bit too much. I guess my surprise was that she would actually come to the Depot.. it didn't seem like it would be her kind of store. My apologies to all my green-haired readers.

I was supposed to work in returns all day today, but one of the head cashiers who was supposed to be working as a cashier was begging me to let her work in returns... and it really doesn't matter to me, so I said it was ok. I went to work on the front end, and man, it was busy! I stripped about $1800 out of my register in the first two hours.

All the customers were in good moods, too... but I think in those two hours there were maybe only two or three cashiers. The store was full! I guess with the summer-like weather we've been having people are getting back into working again. That's fine with me.

I ran into a customer today who I'd waited on before. The first time I met her, she had a bunch of keys copied, for some reason, 14 sticks in my head. We have to scan each key, because there are different keys and different prices. This lady bitched me out because I scanned every key like I was supposed to, even though she thought I should just have scanned one 14 times.

Today she was in, and wouldn't let me see her credit card. Every time I reached for it, she pulled it away. I told her I needed to see it, and she yelled at me that she didn't want anyone TOUCHING her card! She used a bag on the PIN pad to pick up the pen, and then took two bags to cover the handle of the cart, even though she hadn't covered it before she got it to the register. She is a very angry woman.

Sheesh. It takes all kinds, I guess.

And I closed garden tonight at 5:30. I had called for a head cashier to come and take my cash strip about 5:10, then again at 5:20. I was off at 5:30, so I needed to get my paperwork together and have my till sent up and be in the back to clock out at 5:30.

Well that didn't work. The HC didn't come out until I called her at 5:30 to ask if I should just send my strip up with my till, which is a BIG no-no, but that's exactly what I will do next time. She really had no excuse as to why she couldn't come out, other than that she was carrying the manager's phone because they were all in a meeting.

Now if they want to have a cashier out in garden, they need to be able to support that cashier. I remember last summer not being able to get change out there, and a few other things happening, and I'm not going to allow that to happen any more. I plan on taking a walkie (radio) out there with me from now on, and broadcasting to the store when I can't get an HC out there when I need one. That way at least the ASMs know when I need help and am not getting it. I also intend on talking to Norma about it, because if there was some kind of emergency out there, the cashier would be stuck with no help.

So. Not a stellar day at work, although the weather was beautiful. And I have tomorrow off, which I really need, and the rest of the week will just fly by. At least I hope so!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

7 comments so far

Rebekah - 2009-03-05 04:43:41
I'm so happy you're surrounded y green living things (Including Key Lady) - enduring winter sucks.

when i was a teenager, we didn't have Hot Topic and all that mall stuff; we made our heavy metal clothing. at least once, i fashioned a belt from stuff in my dad's tool drawer. maybe the other Green Living Thing, the young lady, was being retro and creative? (I recently threw out pounds of chain I'd gotten at The Depot for a few bucks... too heavy for this ol' back these days)

of course, we didn't have Depots of Homes, either
-------------------------------
wordy - 2009-03-05 05:43:40
no offense taken or meant! that bag lady sounds like a winner, though. reminds me of this guy who used to frequent the bookstore i worked in. he always came in with a used (read: bedraggled) paperback, which he would slap on the counter as he loudly said "This is MY BOOK!" The last two words were always accompanied by the loudest slaps. Then he would walk around the store forever and finally come back to the register and show us all how his snake tattoo danced on his arm. good times.
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2009-03-05 14:40:46
You're already talking about how you were working at HD last summer?? Wow, does time fly! I can hardly believe it. That Angry Woman -- I don't understand those sorts of people, and I really do feel sorry for them. How awful it must be to be that miserable all the time.
-------------------------------
art - 2009-03-05 16:42:51
i am totally surprised that you get nutbag customers in there, ya wouldn't think the nutbags goto the depot of homes! sheesh! i wouldnt last, im afraid, if a custy started yelling at me, i'd blast em with my flamethrower mouth, and they would see a REAL nutbag in action!! hehehee!!
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-03-05 19:58:40
These days, I don't think it is too difficult to run into people who have little "problems" like germs and such. I think your idea on "educating" the management about not responding to your calls for cash pickup and so on is good. They don't want to pay you OT but when they won't respond to your calls, that isn't right. Like you said, what if there was an emergency and you needed help NOW!
-------------------------------
Carol - 2009-03-06 00:39:22
I have been having a VERY bad day, and I just want you and Wordy and Art to know that I am now feeling soooooo much better after reading your post and their comments. I was going to ask where Art had gotten to and now I'm glad to know that he has a flamethrower mouth and I just wish I could borrow that one of these days. Wordy, just the thought of the "snake charmer" made me laugh. Thanks to all.
-------------------------------
wordy - 2009-03-06 04:09:59
Carol, glad I could make you smile on a bad day =)
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group