ZHTML>




MOVED!! Wait for a bit!!
>
line

Latest entry
Archives
Cast
Rings
Links

Pieces of You

Photobucket

2008-12-27 ... 5:23 p.m.

previous - next

An early work day, and sunshine!!

What a day I had! I had to get up way too early to get to work by 5:30. And since they don't let the staff in until 5:25 (unless you want to be there a half hour early) I had time to stop at Rebecca's for a double hammerhead. That's a coffee with two espresso shots.

The Depot of Home doesn't actually open till 6, and I was glad for that extra time. I was working in returns, and there was a lot of stuff still there this morning. The person who closes is supposed to make sure it's all put in the departments to be put back on the shelf. All the return to vendor stuff should have been in the back room.. so I spent my first half hour getting my area cleaned up.

It was busy in returns today, but not as bad as I thought it would be. There were two of us there after 9AM, so when we had a break in the action, one of us would haul the big stuff off to other areas, like lumber or building materials, to keep the returns area from getting too congested. It makes a big difference when both of the people make an effort. SOME people don't even try.

So when the late shift came in, there wasn't a whole lot to do, other than take care of the customers. And really, that's how it should be.

I had one customer today who was kind of a creep. He brought in a drill that was more powerful than the box he brought it in with. He wanted his money back. He had a receipt from yesterday, from another store. Now... if I bought a drill that was more powerful than the one I paid for, I wouldn't complain. But he wanted his cash back.

Part of the purchase was made with store credit. He wanted that in cash, but I can't do that. The computer will not allow it, and there is no way to override it. I tried explaining that to him, and he kept telling me that it was THE LAW that I HAD to give him cash back because it was less than $10 in credit. (I believe that is true with gift cards, but store credit is something else.) However, I don't know the law, so I asked the head cashier to talk to him, since he refused to give me his license, and claimed he had no ID on him.

The head cashier got nowhere with him, and he was making a big stink about how he was holding up a party because now he was late, and to just give him the cash, and he would forget the store credit. It was over $7! Since I now had to have the transaction voided, I needed the head cashier back, but she just called the ASM.

The ASM told him we couldn't just give him cash, that there was no way to complete the transaction unless we gave him the store credit, and we needed ID for that. He claimed again he didn't have any, and that it was THE LAW that we give him cash, so the ASM suggested he call his wife and get her DL number. But he said his wife was ill, and likely not able to get up to answer the phone (although he said earlier that his wife had called to see if we would refund him the cash). Interestingly enough, the phone number he gave us didn't work.

The ASM said there was no way to give him a refund, and that she couldn't force the system to change, and he would either have to provide ID or take his drill back home. He was really angry, but she stood her ground and let him bitch, but he finally left with his drill. She turned to me and said that had it been anyone else, who had been reasonable, she would have bypassed the system but she thought something about him was just odd, and she didn't think he was honest about how he purchased the drill. I had to agree with her, there was something definitely wrong with the whole thing.

And that just made me like that particular ASM a whole lot more. I really love how the ASMs will back up the employees!

The rest of the day was pretty uneventful. I got out at 2 and went to Target to get a small space heater. I have an old one of Dad's that I'm not sure is working very efficiently. The cord gets REALLY hot when I use it, and it doesn't have a great fan on it, so I decided to spring for a $12 ceramic heater. I'm more worried about starting a fire than anything else, and I only use the heaters when I'm awake... but the old one just is kind of scary.

As long as I was at Target, I decided to get an Icee, since I haven't had one in ages. The sun was shining, and it had to be about 65, so it was a good day for one. I stopped and picked up a couple of tacos, drove to Mission Bay and just sat and looked at the water while I ate. What a way to clear your head!

Then I drove home. I took the long way around (No, Big Sister, I did NOT get lost!), and tried to stay near the water. I love seeing the boats, and I drove past the Star of India, although the sails were not up.

mmstar2

That picture was taken the first time I visited California. I think about that visit every time I see the Star.

And when I see the hills, and the palm trees, and the mountains and canyons, I really am glad to live in such a beautiful place. It's just so much better when it's not raining!

I don't work until 12:30 tomorrow, so I had almost 24 hours off between shifts. I don't have to get up early, so I am planning on going to Rebecca's and hang out there for a while tonight. Anyone want to join me?? Just give me a call!

previous - next

Kiss Me!

5 comments so far

Mary - 2008-12-28 06:29:55
And the moral of the story is? If you're nice to the people you want something from, sometimes they can make it happen. If you yell and scream and treat them like dirt, their willingness to help you goes right down to zero. Too bad so few people have that figured out.
-------------------------------
terri T - 2008-12-28 21:20:56
Have to agree with you, something about that guy and the drill isn't right.....wonder if he stole the drill from someone.... Sounds like your day went well in spite of being busy.....
-------------------------------
bluesleepy - 2008-12-29 02:22:12
See, and I don't get how he doesn't have ID on him anyhow. How is he driving around without a driver's license? I never understood people making such a ruckus over stuff like that. HE'S the one not doing the right thing, and yet he's getting upset. Makes no sense.
-------------------------------
Blue Opal - 2008-12-29 05:08:56
I just realized tonight I don't have your phone number in CA. Did you keep the same cell number or do I need to update? I'm going through and cleaning up and transferring my address book, lol. As for your "refund guy," I'm guessing he was a consummate con artist ;) And you didn't fall for it - good for you! I had a comparable situation come up last week, stopped someone cold in her tracks.
-------------------------------
Shear - 2008-12-29 06:06:37
A few weeks ago, I was watching Ghost Hunters on tv. They were on the Star of India. I thought about you and Poolie. Watch out for those ghosts!
-------------------------------

Did you miss a piece?

- - 2012-08-23
- - 2012-07-31
- - 2012-07-12
- - 2012-06-27
- - 2012-06-16

Profile
eMail
Guestbook
Diaryland Notes
Diaryland

design

Photobucket


Google Groups Beta
Subscribe to cocoabean
Email:
Visit this group